We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful resort and comfortable stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Borgo Pantano
Ranked #1 of 75 Hotels in Syracuse
Certificate of Excellence
Cherry Hill, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful resort and comfortable stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

We arrived here and stayed three nights for part of our exploration of Sicily! We arrived via train, and our previous hotel had already phoned ahead so Borgo had a taxi waiting for us holding a sheet with our name on it. The hotel is a bit out of the way in that you do need a ride in and out of the city, so for us it was 20 euro each way, or Borgo also has a shuttle that runs at specific times that costs 5 euro a person, each way.

Other the slight inconvenience of travel, the resort itself is lovely with modern, clean, spacious rooms and large beds, and we loved that there were even bathrobes for us to wear. We were also impressed with the breakfast buffet, which was the largest we'd seen the whole trip, with an assortment of drinks, eggs and bacon, meats, bread, and homemade pastries, and fresh fruit even! We loved it.

The pool is very large and was especially uncrowded since we went in late October, but was very clean, and there is plenty of lawn furniture to lounge on during nicer days.There's also a small game room near the lobby which has a foosball table, ping pong table, Wii console, and some games. As my husband and I are very much children at heart, we spent a lot of time in this room as well waiting for dinner.

The concierge was more than helpful the entire time, and offered many suggestions when we asked our questions in good English. The onsite restaurant is definitely a good option with a large variety considering the cost to go into the city instead.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms have two floors - the first floor being a living room area, and the bedroom is up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Diana T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
borgo_pantanosr, Direttore at Hotel Borgo Pantano, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
dear diana many thanks for the nice words for us it is very important that our guests have a beautiful memory of our hotel. We are very careful to all your needs and we try to do our best. We hope to see again in the future
Cari saluti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,078 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    942
    123
    10
    1
    2
See reviews for
304
584
6
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hailsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

The rave reviews and award for this hotel is well deserved.

The rooms are set round a spacious courtyard with plenty of seating.The grounds are very pretty and peaceful and well maintained. The pool was immaculate with plenty of loungers and more novel day beds sofas and a hamock. At night the subtle lighting gives the whole area a very romantic coutyard

All of the staff are unfailingly efficient, freindly and cheerful, this shows in the quality of what is on offer. We would echo what has been written by other reviewers about the quality of the service

We were impressed with the choice on offer for breakfast; a good choice of cheese and cured meats, tomatoes, olives, bruscheta and other Italian savories, numerous cakes and fruit options. Dinner is top quality and the range of specials changes each day. It is a little pricy compaed with the area but worth it. The bread and olive oil beat 90% of bread offerings in hotels and restaurants.

We stayed in a comfort room which was a good size and nicely decorated in a simple but quirky style. However there were no draws in our room, the only storage was a cupboard.

The location is worth a mention as it might not suit everyone. It is in the middle of a rural area about 10 mins drive from Siracusa which could prove a problem for non drivers or anyone who wants to avoid the joys and challenges of urban driving in Sicily. There are signs to the hotel from most directions but in the dark they are not obvious. The following directions might help.
coming from the north on the E45 do not turn of at Siracusa Nord wait for the sign to Siracusa, it wont tell you that it is the s124 but follow it in for 1- 2mins until you get to the first traffic lights and turn left. The road is not the best but you will know that you are on the right road if you go under two bridges. The hotel is signed at the first roundabout you come to and it takes you to another roundabout again the way to the hotel is signed. The last streatch is quite long but keep going, you will have to go over two river bridges lined with armco and past a sign for dog village. Or just get a sat nav.

Room Tip: The comfort rooms are fine but the more expensive rooms look realy special.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Zappaphile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
borgopantano, Direttore at Hotel Borgo Pantano, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Dear Zappaphile,
We could never thank you enough for writing your review! It's really important for us, to know your opinion and know how your stay went with us. Reading the nice things you've written it only keeps up the good spirit to continue our good job.
We are happy you've appreciated our breakfast, lounge area around the pool , ...

Greetings from Syracuse, Borgo Pantano!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

Once arrived at hotel Borgo Pantano the staff were exceptionally welcoming. Especially reception where we found them very helpful from start to finish with our trip. This was a 30th birthday trip for my husband. Hotel cleaning ness was outstanding 10 out of 10. Pool area lovely with plenty of seating lounging facilities. Along with the lovely Alberto who was again very polite and welcoming. I certaintly recommend this hotel for the area of sicily and will be visiting again in the near future,.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
borgopantano, Direttore at Hotel Borgo Pantano, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Dear Maria K,
Thank you for your lovely review! All of our staff members, especially the staff at the Reception sends you a lot of greetings.
We will all be happy to welcome you again at Borgo Pantano!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

The best find during our week on the island. The whole team was helpful and happy. Garden, rooms and pool excellent. Spent more time relaxing here than planned but a great base to explore S.East Sicily.

Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Simon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
borgopantano, Direttore at Hotel Borgo Pantano, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Dear Simon T,

Our Happy and Friendly Smiling Staff thanks you for your nice words you've written!
We are happy you found us and choose us to make your holiday complete!

Greetings....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

This hotel is in the middle of nowhere - but worth finding and seeing the entire place. The rooms are great - the restaurant is fantastic. The chef even made a special dessert for us by us just asking. It is a very chic area once inside the gates. The pool area is very elegant - there are beds with curtains spread around the property for lazy days of just sitting around. The breakfast was one of the best on our trip to Sicily. We were there to attend a party in Modica but wanted to stay in Siracusa to see the sights in the old city. I am an architectural fan and love to see ruins and old buildings. Not an easy place to find at night and you will feel like you must surely be lost - but just hang in there and you will make it. The staff is excellent and will take care of any requests.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

A superb hotel with very friendly and attentive staff; a beautiful pool area; a large, quiet and clean bedroom with a very comfortable bed; and possibly the best breakfasts we have ever eaten in in any hotel we have ever stayed in!

We stayed in four different hotels during our Sicily holiday and this was without doubt the best hotel and we wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank h0ps1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
borgopantano, Direttore at Hotel Borgo Pantano, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Dear h0ps1,

THANK YOU and THANK YOU again for your review! Each one of us is really happy that you had a great time here at Borgo Pantano!
Best whishes and lot's of greetings from all of us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Slough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

I would recommend this hotel to anyone. Although location-wise, it's in the middle of nowhere, essentially. So you have to eat in the restaurant which is great: unpretentious, well cooked and presented Sicilian fare. Very genuine service. The people who run/ work in this hotel, love it and have a very personal interest in your enjoyment.

Also the best swimming pool, with lots of available sunbeds, etc. so no panic in the morning, poolside staff also top notch.

So why 4* not 5? (Minor stuff that I'm feeling guilty about raising). Rooms a little plasticy. Door key set off this annoying buzz. Check-in and check-out could have been a little smoother/ less functional (a hotel this size does not have to pretend to belong to a chain such as the Hilton).

Room Tip: Under no circumstances try to find this hotel with the aid of a SatNav. When you get within 2-3km f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Syracuse
4.3 mi away
Algila Ortigia Charme Hotel
4.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Minareto
Grand Hotel Minareto
#9 of 75 in Syracuse
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,151 reviews
56.8 mi away
Hotel Villa Ducale
Hotel Villa Ducale
#1 of 88 in Taormina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Charme Hotel Henry's House
3.6 mi away
Hotel Principe di Fitalia Wellness & SPa
4.8 mi away
Hotel Parco delle Fontane
Hotel Parco delle Fontane
#5 of 75 in Syracuse
4.5 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Borgo Pantano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Borgo Pantano

Property: Hotel Borgo Pantano
Address: Traversa Fontana Mortella, 13 int. 4, 96100 , Syracuse, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Syracuse > Syracuse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Syracuse
#1 Family Hotel in Syracuse
#1 Luxury Hotel in Syracuse
#2 Romantic Hotel in Syracuse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Borgo Pantano 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the Hotel Borgo Pantano, a 4 star hotel is just 7 miles from the center and the beaches of Syracuse, Italy. An ideal compromise between the countryside, sea and city of art, surrounded by nature, within the nature reserve “Cyane and Saline.” The Hotel Borgo Pantano is located on the site of an ancient farmhouse dating back to 1861, originally a farm property, full of orange trees, lemons, olives, has been completely refurbished in 2009. The challenging architectural recovery was personally supervised by the owners , who are committed to ensure that the charm of the structure remained intact, in full respect of its authenticity. The Hotel is spread over an area of 30,000 square meters, with the outstanding scenic pool, the charming Sicilian citrus grove and the large park with relaxation areas and reading, which guarantee every guest a pleasant privacy. Hotel Borgo Pantano offers many services A modern wellness center with sauna, whirlpool, emotional shower with aroma therapy and color therapy, plus a lovely sitting area to enjoy excellent teas. The hotel is also equipped with a bar, a splendid panoramic pool designed with a special entrance to “beach effect”; elegant restaurant with typical Sicilian cuisine, elegantly furnished rooms with different styles, rooms and suites with bath iacuzzi inotre all rooms are equipped with safe, minibar, LCD TV and free wi-if free. And even outside the hotel is surrounded by a spacious and beautifully landscaped garden planted with playground for the little ones, a multilingual reception, a multilingual library, an indoor games room with table tennis – table football – Nintendo Wii , discover more » ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, Priceline, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Borgo Pantano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Borgo Pantano Sicily/Syracuse, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing