We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent haven to explore eastern side of island”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Borgo Pantano
Ranked #1 of 75 Hotels in Syracuse
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Excellent hotel with impeccable staff, extensive grounds and delicious food. Makes a good base to drive to Noto, Etna, Taormina and of course Syracuse and Catania.

The hotel is in isolated grounds well away from busy tourist locations. it makes a calm and peaceful haven after travelling in the earlier part of the day, and is well equipped with large pool, gym, and snacks/meals by the pool, and dinner in the restaurant. Roads from the motorway and Syracuse to the hotel are "interesting", so we decided to take half-board rather than tackle driving them at night.

The restaurant serves an Italian menu with special items every day, You can take fewer courses but the food is excellent so you will be tempted! The evening restaurant is fairly formal with table cloths, and smart waiters, though not stuffy. Most people chose to be smart. We were in the early season so ate indoors, but there is a terrace for hotter times.

Breakfast is extensive and covers most tastes and styles.

Rooms are very comfortable but there is not much storage space if you are staying longer than a couple of days. Good hot shower.

Room Tip: We had a junior suite which was very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A_Hotel_Visitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,215)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

221 - 227 of 1,215 reviews

Reviewed 12 May 2014 via mobile

One of the best hotels I've ever stayed in. It's like paradise on earth and the staff were top notch. Breakfast is not to be missed and is served on a beautiful terrace. The pool area, lounge area etc were brilliant and so relaxing. This simply is one of the best hotels around.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank slipshaney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

A genuine paradise away from the hustle of the tourist hot spots.

Quality of the hotel and the staff is 5 star and our stay could not have been any nicer. Food is fantastic and the breakfast is the best I have had in Italy.

Easy drive to the local areas so don't let the remote position put you off.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Craig S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

As the reviews on here will tell you, this is a lovely small hotel set in beautiful grounds a little way from Siracusa. The rooms are well equipped and very comfortable and the breakfast is second to none - if I had one request it would be for more storage space in the room, but that is a minor issue. The grounds and pool are wonderful and the plentiful supply of sunbeds, loungers, beds, chairs and sofas mean that, even when the hotel is full, there is no shortage of places available and people still have lots of space. The food served by the hotel is excellent, the main reason for eating out is visiting places or a change of scenery, but that is just my opinion.
We are here with a 22 month old and not only is there a normal playground, there is also a toddler version in the orchard in the form of swing, slide and see-saw - some of which were brought out when the staff saw her. That brings us on to the hotel's biggest asset - the staff. All are friendly, warm, helpful and welcoming. A real credit to the hotel.
We don't normally return to places but I can see us coming back here.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YorkshireMat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Out on the edge of town set on an old plantation. This family run business is perfect from the desk, the breakfast, the management to the maids. It seems that some people just come here for a rest and never leave the hotel to go sightseeing. We chatted with the owner at breakfast...she is there often.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank photographer200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

This hotel was amazing. A variety of room styles for every taste. The pool area is huge and can accommodate tons of people from hammocks, pillows on the ground, pavilions with curtains, lounging chairs, etc. Had a wonderful massage in the Spa. Food in hotel was good too.

Room Tip: If you want hip Euro style, be sure to ask for it. Some rooms opened out onto the courtyard with ta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tejasmom1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

In an idyllic and sunny spot outside Syracuse you find hotel Borgo Pantano, a converted farm. This hotel manages to be luxurious and pristine yet charming and personal all at once. Like the other reviews say, you need a car to fully enjoy your stay here, but you will probably want a car to explore the nearby towns of Noto, Modica and Ragusa anyway. Once you arrive at the gate, you will be blown away, and the pleasant surprises just keep coming. The rooms are large, airconditioned and tastefully decorated. The garden area is extensive and breathtaking. The pool area is immaculate. Every detail is well thought through and tastefully executed, like the candles outside when you return from a nice dinner in Ortigia. The owner, Giusi, is the sweetest woman you will ever meet, and she does an amazing job of running this hotel. I very much enjoyed our chats when coming up to eat a breakfast on the roof each morning. Most nights I slept like a baby. One night there was a big wedding celebration that lasted well into the night, so it was quite noisy and they occupied the pool area, but otherwise it was quiet and serene. I really loved this hotel, and hope you will too.

Room Tip: We loved room 116, but I'm sure they are all good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank January_Travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Syracuse
4.3 mi away
Algila Ortigia Charme Hotel
56.9 mi away
VOI Grand Hotel Mazzaro Sea Palace
3.6 mi away
Hotel Principe di Fitalia Wellness & SPA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Antico Hotel Roma 1880
Antico Hotel Roma 1880
#3 of 75 in Syracuse
619 reviews
56.8 mi away
Hotel Villa Ducale
Hotel Villa Ducale
#1 of 87 in Taormina
2,102 reviews
4.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Minareto
Grand Hotel Minareto
#9 of 75 in Syracuse
1,314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Borgo Pantano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Borgo Pantano

Address: Traversa Fontana Mortella, 13 int. 4, 96100, Syracuse, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Syracuse > Syracuse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Syracuse
#1 Luxury Hotel in Syracuse
#1 Spa Hotel in Syracuse
#2 Romantic Hotel in Syracuse
Price Range: £116 - £326 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Borgo Pantano 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the Hotel Borgo Pantano, a 4 star hotel is just 7 miles from the center and the beaches of Syracuse, Italy. An ideal compromise between the countryside, sea and city of art, surrounded by nature, within the nature reserve “Cyane and Saline.” The Hotel Borgo Pantano is located on the site of an ancient farmhouse dating back to 1861, originally a farm property, full of orange trees, lemons, olives, has been completely refurbished in 2009. The challenging architectural recovery was personally supervised by the owners , who are committed to ensure that the charm of the structure remained intact, in full respect of its authenticity. The Hotel is spread over an area of 30,000 square meters, with the outstanding scenic pool, the charming Sicilian citrus grove and the large park with relaxation areas and reading, which guarantee every guest a pleasant privacy. Hotel Borgo Pantano offers many services A modern wellness center with sauna, whirlpool, emotional shower with aroma therapy and color therapy, plus a lovely sitting area to enjoy excellent teas. The hotel is also equipped with a bar, a splendid panoramic pool designed with a special entrance to “beach effect”; elegant restaurant with typical Sicilian cuisine, elegantly furnished rooms with different styles, rooms and suites with bath iacuzzi inotre all rooms are equipped with safe, minibar, LCD TV and free wi-if free. And even outside the hotel is surrounded by a spacious and beautifully landscaped garden planted with playground for the little ones, a multilingual reception, a multilingual library, an indoor games room with table tennis – table football – Nintendo Wii , discover more » ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Borgo Pantano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Borgo Pantano Sicily/Syracuse, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing