We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok, but a bit disappointed ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Eta Beta Bed & Breadfast
Ranked #59 of 74 Hotels in Syracuse
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Ok, but a bit disappointed ”
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

My lady and I stayed here for 6 nights in July and were rather eager to experience this B&B since the reviews were good.

People spoke about very good breakfast and warm hospitality. The first night we stayed in a smaller room, since there were still people in the larger room (we think? It was not really explained why, but ok). The larger room had a balcony which was very nice on the south. A double bed which was rather poor for our backs. The room was very spacious though which is always pleasant.

The shower cabin was really in need of a renewal, One of the doors was hanging lose and every morning it was a hassle to get it to close (it actually came off once and fell while I was in the shower). Small detail I guess but really, when you're on vacation and stay somewhere 6 nights it's not something you want.

The internet was horrible. We've mentioned this to the owner and then showed me that the router was all the way in his apartment (clearly did not have the strength) to reach our room. I don't need Internet every second of the day while traveling, but in order to arrange your trips and transportation, it really is a necessity that it functions properly. The owner did provide us with a discount at the end of our stay to compromise, which was the right move.

The breakfast was in our opinion rather plain and too sweet for our taste. Lots of cookies and two slices of bread every day. No variation in the entire 6 days that we were there. For the money that we paid, we did hope for a bit more quality and variation to start our day.

Something I really have to mention is that the energy and hospitality from the female host was terrible. I've tried several times to have a talk with her, but more than good morning we sadly didn't receive. My lady and I both expected a bit more interaction. Like: "where are you from, can I give you tips for your stay, how was your day etc." there was just a constant silence and it really was not pleasant to be around her. (Sorry to say).

Overall, it was a B&B that was average, not horrible but definitely not something we would like to have again. It's a good place to stay 1-2 nights, for sure.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Rogier E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
etabetaSiracusa, Proprietario at Eta Beta Bed & Breadfast, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Google Translation
Non riesco a comprendere le critiche del cliente. Ha dormito su reti e materassi ortopedici e dice di essere stato scomodo. Ha avuto colazione con prodotti salati (formaggio, prosciutto, mortadella etc) comprati solo per lui, essendo il ns. breakfast con prodotti dolci e dice di non essere soddisfatto. Ha fatto la doccia in una cabina doccia nuova e dice che e' vecchia. Ogni giorno gli e' stato chiesto se desiderava informazioni sulla citta' o se aveva altre necessita' e dice di essere stato trascurato. Ha avuto problemi con la il wifi e gli ho fatto usare il mio pc. In ultimo al momento di pagare mi ha detto di essere in difficolta' economiche e GLI HO ABBONATO L'ULTIMO GIORNO DI SOGGIORNO. Se ne e' andato ringraziando e dicendo di essere stato benissimo.
Cliente estremamente disordinato che ha macchiato lenzuola e copriletto e che ha lasciato la stanza in stato disastroso. Inutile ogni commento!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    13
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
2
27
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Good location of this B&B. Main attractions of Syracuse not far away. Breakfast was fantastic Italian style and very tasty with fresh Italian coffee. The hosts were not always around for our questioning but otherwise it was a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laurie4468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2013

Very good service, the friendly & helpful staff and the amazing breakfast all make it a excellent place to stay. It's just brilliant. The location is the perfect center between the old city and the historical site, and very near to the train and bus station. So wherever you want to be, you´ll be there in no time. The rooms are super tidy, the bathroom is super clean . The beds are large and you will like the good airconditioning system, the room was cool even though there was high temperature outside. Maurizio'his breakfast is legend. He surprised us every morning with something new! He prefers to work with organic food and serves his home made food

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank devisj64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Bloomfield, MI
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

This B & B is a great value in a good location. Clean, convenient and situated 15 minutes from Ortigia in a pleasant upscale shopping area. The rooms are clean, the air conditioning works well, the parking is easy and inexpensive and the service is friendly. Note that this is on the third floor and street numbers in Italy are a little different. It helps to know a few words of Italian.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kathychiara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catania, Italy
1 review
Reviewed 7 May 2011

It's the service, it's the friendlyness, it's the helpfulness, it's the amazing breakfast, it's the arriving at night and joining in with a birthday of friends. It's just brilliant.

The placing is the perfect center between the old city and the archeological site, and a stone throw away from the train and bus station. So wherever you want to be, you´ll be there in no time.

The rooms are super tidy, the bathroom is super clean (both done every day). The beds slept beautifully, and because of a good airconditioning system, the room was cool even though the high temperatures outside.

Maurizio's english is good enough to converse easily, and his breakfast is legend. Not a morning that he did not surprise us with something new! He prefers to work with organic food and serves his home made marmelade.... BRILLIANT.

Do not doubt, his price is a bargain!! just go there.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank F_J_Kirschner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Syracuse hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Mediterraneo
Hotel Mediterraneo
#47 of 74 in Syracuse
201 reviews
2.9 mi away
Agriturismo Villa Cristina
Agriturismo Villa Cristina
#46 of 74 in Syracuse
108 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Le Muse
Hotel Le Muse
#50 of 74 in Syracuse
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Residence Arco Antico
Residence Arco Antico
#31 of 74 in Syracuse
123 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Archimede Ortigia
Hotel Archimede Ortigia
#53 of 74 in Syracuse
106 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Como
Hotel Como
#49 of 74 in Syracuse
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eta Beta Bed & Breadfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eta Beta Bed & Breadfast

Property: Eta Beta Bed & Breadfast
Address: Corso Gelone 63, 96100, Syracuse, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Syracuse > Syracuse
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 74 Hotels in Syracuse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Eta Beta Bed & Breadfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eta Beta Bed & Breadfast Sicily/Syracuse, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing