We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect lunch!”

Sicilian Demo Cooking
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Seattle
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Perfect lunch!”
Reviewed 9 April 2013 via mobile

After a trip through the market with Fiora who purchased all the fresh ingredients for lunch, we walked two blocks to her home in Ortigia. We were a group of four and everyone was able to pitch in to help with the preparations in her private kitchen:
Fried ravioli filled with tuma cheese and anchovies, cooked ravioli filled with ricotta in a butter/sage sauce, roasted red peppers, deep-fried artichokes, swordfish rolantini, and cannoli. All served with local Sicilian wine.
Over-the-top yummy and more than we could possibly eat. It was a lovely way to experience authentic sicilian cooking. Fiora is a wonderful hostess and a marvelous cook.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank lliivv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    3
    0
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Highlight of our trip!”
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Our cooking class with Fiora was a real highlight of our trip to Sicily! After discussing what we liked and wanted to make, we started at the local market, which is fantastic - each stand has more beautiful produce than the next. All the vendors know Fiora, and they would give us tastes or show us different things, and she explained how various ingredients are used in Sicilian cooking. We were making pesce spada involtini (stuffed swordfish rolled up and baked with lemon) and she picked between several different swordfish and had the fishmonger cut her very thin slices for our dish. We then went back to her apartment and made a fantastic lunch including handmade ravioli (totally from scratch), the swordfish, sliced roasted peppers and various antipasti to start, as well as prosecco, white and red wines, and cannoli for dessert! We now have a much better appreciation for Sicilian cuisine and want to try making these dishes at home. Mille grazie, Fiora!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank NorCal94612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton - Le - Willows
1 review
“Great day. Best of our trip”
Reviewed 3 January 2013 via mobile

We had a great day with Fiore. She made us feel really at home and showed us some true Sicilian cooking techniques. Fantastic. Recommended.

Helpful?
Thank matt8195
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“The Best Part of Our Trip”
Reviewed 30 October 2012

Fiora is an amazing host, tour guide and chef. From the market tour (she seemed to know EVERYONE) to her lovely home/kitchen, we felt like special guests. She quizzed us before starting as to our likes and dislikes, then designed a menu around our responses. Since returning home, we have recreated several of the dishes, impressing our friends!

Fiora made us feel like good friends. We will always remember Ortigia as a wonderful adventure thanks to her.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank cynbruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Delicious-issimo”
Reviewed 30 October 2012

Fiora collected my daughter and me from our b and b. As we walked to the market, she asked what we would like to eat. We shopped and she explained what and why and how - we filmed a personal serenade at a fish stall, as you do!!!! - and then went back to her house to cook. She made it seem so easy although the real test will be if we can do it without her.... Home made ravioli, pumpkin with a sweet savoury sauce, skewers of thin sliced veal wrapped around super stuffing and oven cooked, cannoli. It was yummy, and she is an easy host.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank r c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sicilian Demo Cooking also viewed

Syracuse, Province of Syracuse
Taormina, Province of Messina
 

Been to Sicilian Demo Cooking? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing