We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best archeological museum we have visited”

Museo Archeologico Regionale P. Orsi
Experience for Yourself
More Info
US$96.37*
and up
Archaeological Museum Paolo Orsi in Syracuse
Ranked #8 of 119 things to do in Syracuse
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This is the most extensive archaeological museum in Sicily, with its wide collection of fossils and figures of Ancient Siracusa including the famous statue "Venus Anadiomene," in which Venus rises from the sea.
Level Contributor
172 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“The best archeological museum we have visited”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Absolutely amazing collection of treasures going back to paleolithic artifacts taken from multiple archeological digs all over the area. The building is very modern and the exhibits are displayed very well with English placards in addition to the Italian. We spent several hours in there and really there is no way to really study everything in there without multiple visits. Highly recommended.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Pisendel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

690 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    356
    215
    65
    35
    19
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montana
Level Contributor
102 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“A Must See.”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

This is a beautiful, comprehensive museum of the archaeology of Syracuse and the region. It is also a very comfortable building. There is a lot to see and you should plan to spend an entire day. The admission ticket also gets you into the Greek theater several blocks away which will take several hours so budget your time carefully.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Peregrine15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
istanbul
Level Contributor
98 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“unbelievable”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

If you visit to siracusa, you have to go to the Archaeological Museum of the Siracusa. Some of the section was closed and some section electricity part were broken and some cart, map and board button wasnt work for that reason first we surprised, when we were finished the museum tour our opinion about museum were changed, we had seen many beautifull objects and statu from different cultur, especially from eagean islands, Crete and Grece and some parts from Roman Empire

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank fusun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Key Biscayne, Florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“I like museums, just not this one”
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

If you want to learn a lot about Sicilian history, geology, culture, this museum should have been the place to go. Sorry but unless you are a student of the science, most of it is not labeled well and of course it's in Italian , mostly. Give it a miss.

There is a great lunch place uphill toward the Greek Theater, I Love Salate, which has simple meals like roast chicken with steamed veg. No cheese, no garlic, just fresh and good.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank handyman74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester England
Level Contributor
63 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“A bit traditional for short attention spans!”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

My son (21 -into ancient history) really enjoyed this place. I'm afraid my 14 year old daughter (Autistic with a learning difficulty) and myself got a little bored with looking at the broken pots. Doubtless very important. Fortunately the place shuts very promptly at 1pm and we sat outside and had a little picnic.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Davidbailey260365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Museo Archeologico Regionale P. Orsi also viewed

Syracuse, Province of Syracuse
Syracuse, Province of Syracuse
 
Syracuse, Province of Syracuse
 

Been to Museo Archeologico Regionale P. Orsi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing