We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay away!!!”
Review of Hotel Sbarcadero

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Sbarcadero
Ranked #45 of 75 Hotels in Syracuse
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 May 2013

This hotel is a real scam!!! Never a 3 stars hotel.
The hotel is located directly on a dirty parking space. In front there is the port of the old and obsolete fishing boats, not the view presented in the hotel management's pictures. Nothing picturesque there, trust me! Some men dressed in shabby clothes who look like some beggars were drinking at the hotel's "restaurant"... Therefore we didn't want to have breakfast there the next morning.
We received an UNDERGROUND ROOM, 1 m below the ground!! The room didn't have any window. The only natural light came from the door's glass and the "view" was the wall of the building in front or the feet of the people passing by the inner "patio".
The minibar contained 1 bottle of sparkling water and 1 bottle of still water. That's it!
The area surrounding the hotel is a suspicious neighborhood.

There is no point in staying at this hotel (for the reasons above + the distance to Ortygia) when you pay the same price for a room at a real 3 star hotel right in Ortygia. We changed the hotel after the first night and found a wonderful hotel at the same price. I'm gonna review it as well on tripadvisor.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Wip_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (280)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 280 reviews

Reviewed 12 May 2013

Good points:
1. The young women and men staff at reception were unfailingly friendly, polite and helpful.
2. The room we occupied was spacious, light and fairly comfortable, with a decent size bathroom. But we were initially offered a dark smaller room overlooking the busy crossroads corner (arguably the least attractive room in the hotel), despite the fact that we were due to spend seven nights here.
3. Good free wi-fi
4. Reasonably good air-conditioning.
5. It was quiet at night, apart from when the restaurant next door played loud thumping music at one of their events.

Bad points:
1. The hotel does overlook the small old port, but there is a car park between the hotel and the port. The hotel is actually situated in the car park.
2. The room (one of the older rooms at the front) suffered from severe damp and needs attention.
3. There was no shelf in the bathroom on which to put things, like shampoo.
4. The shower tray tended to overflow into the bathroom. I reported this but nothing was done. Eventually we opened and cleaned the trap ourselves after a spectacular flood.
5. The safe fell off the wall after four days when we tried to open it. Fortunately no-one was hurt.
6. The bathroom was cleaned daily, but the room was not swept for three days, until I asked for the floor to be cleaned of dust and crumbs, some of which predated our arrival.
7. The breakfasts were terrible. Variably on different days: no butter, stale bread, no bread, cool stewed coffee, a grumpy young woman in charge who made a lot of noise washing up plates when I said there were none to use. One day we where informed that there were problems with the person who did the breakfast, but no-one else took charge, so no bread, yogurt, ham, cheese, etc.
8. Despite the description of breakfast described being served on the roof terrace overlooking he sea, it was instead served in a stuffy noisy dining room with insufficient staff to clear or clean the tables for the many guests.
9. We were provided with cheap white plastic picnic cups in the room, instead of proper glasses. When I asked if we could borrow two glasses from the breakfast room, the owner refused.
10. We had to keep asking for toilet paper, as it was not replenished when the room was cleaned.
11. The hotel is situated in a very run-down part of Siracusa, with a 20 minute walk to Ortygia.

Our overall experiences was one of unnecessary meanness and lack of care, apart from the helpful people at reception.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank VivLewin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2013

I have been reading the other reviews of this hotel, and I am a bit surprised that it's rated so highly.
The location is probably OK if you need to park a car (as parking on the island of Ortigia is very difficult). The hotel looks fresh and new, and the reception area fronts on to the harbour.
All the rooms are behind reception and have no view at all. The room we were given did not even have any windows. It also had a ripped bedspread.
We walked on to the island and found a hotel which gave us a room with a brilliant sea-view for not much more than the (non-refundable) amount we paid to Sbarcadero.
To be fair to Sbarcadero, they did offer us an alternative room, but by that time we had decided to stay elsewhere.

Room Tip: Check whether you have any outside view at all....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank PhilTandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2013

. This hotel was nice, rooms were clean and they got this charcterist which each room got a different colour which I appreciated a lot this idea. Hotel staff are nice. I recommend this hotel if you want to visit ortigia or relax for week.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

I visited Syracusa for 4 days for work and I was suggested to stay at Hotel Sbarcadero.To be honest I didn't expect as a small hotel offer you so many comforts.
I found the Hotel really nice and clean. All the Hotel was renovated I was really impressed from the staff that was really outstanding and helpful to advice place to go like tourists attractions
The hotel is located just in front of the seaside, where you find equipped, free and really beautiful beaches.
The hotel area is very quite and safe. It has a very strategic location because you have everything around from shops, restaurants and just 10 minutes walking to reach Ortigia, the historical centre of Syracusa and a typical market where you can enjoy fresh fish that I never see before!!!! Really Amazing...
We left our car at the HOTEL free parking, just in front of it.
The room was spacious and clean and has all the comforts that you need it.
I am sure next time I will visit Syracusa, I will stay at this Hotel that I really recommend! The money you spend is really worthy

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elisabeth l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2013 via mobile

Hotel is located at the harbour, so you share your breakfast with the local fisherman. The hotel itself consists of renovated fishermans houses, nicely decorated with fresh colours. Very quant! The rooms are spateous and clean, with a very nice shower. It takes about 15 minutes to walk to the city center. But some other sites like Neopolis are close by. As are some of the best seafood restaurants.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Smallenburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2013

HIGHLY RECOMMEND BOUTIQUE FIVE STARS FOR 2 OR 3 STAR PRICES (at least off season).

this is a newly recently (1 year) renovated charming hotel at the old fishing port on siracusa. the view of the port is lovely, though there isn't much of a view from the rooms, don't let this deter you do have great rooftop sitting and view access and its a fantastic place to stay. the hotel is a 2 floor easily accessible (no lift but only a few wide open steps) boutique style hotel with different colored rooms that have a bit of a different feel to each one, with beautifully tiled matching bathrooms. my room had a modified loft, bed was comfortable, tv just fine, small fridge in the room, and good lighting, and lovely windows, that when open, with white chiffon curtains that flow in the breeze. there is a small alcove courtyard, and a lovely roof terrace. the rooms are VERY VERY spacious and impeccably clean. it was very peaceful and quiet but i can't speak for when the hotel is full.

the walk to ortigia (centro storico) is a nice stroll, only about 10-15 minutes (with good shops, restaurants, and bars) and if need be, you can even take a local bus. the hotel is within an opposite direction short stroll to the catacombs and a little bit of longer walk, still easily manageable, to the archaeological park i am assuming open during "on season." yes, the area is a bit desolate in the evenings, especially in winter, however, i will also choose off the beat and path because i loathe congested tourists traps.

the staff is one of the friendliest and accommodating i've met in italy and i've been here almost 2 months and on 2 other occasions. the general manager graciously even offered and gave me an unsolicited lift to the bus station which i thought was super kind of him. the restaurant has good service and great affordable food. its a lovely little trattoria style cafe, tables both inside and out.

i usually like to try different hotels but if i came back to siracusa i would stay here without doubt. and siracusa i would come back to. it is a VERY clean city (and is only a 20 minute drive to a beautiful beach resort area terrauzza and plemmirio) especially compared to catania and messina (two cities i would choose not to return to)

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EUwunderluster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Syracuse hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Posta
Hotel Posta
#32 of 75 in Syracuse
416 reviews
0.6 mi away
Residence Arco Antico
Residence Arco Antico
#30 of 75 in Syracuse
132 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Teocrito
Hotel Teocrito
#17 of 75 in Syracuse
430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Mediterraneo
Hotel Mediterraneo
#49 of 75 in Syracuse
209 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Mercure Siracusa Prometeo
2.2 mi away
Hotel Relax
Hotel Relax
#38 of 75 in Syracuse
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sbarcadero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sbarcadero

Address: Riva Porto Lachio 25, 96100, Syracuse, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Syracuse > Syracuse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Syracuse
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Syracuse
Price Range: £32 - £78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sbarcadero 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the seafront in the historic center of Siracusa, the hotel is situated in a restored original fishing village. All rooms have air conditioning, Wi-Fi and satellite TV, and are characterized by a traditional Sicilian sea. Transport by boat is offered for free during the summer and take you from Sbarcadero Ortigia. The private beach is just 50 meters. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, HostelWorld, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Sbarcadero reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sbarcadero Sicily/Syracuse, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing