We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Jolly Aretusa Palace Hotel
Ranked #67 of 75 Hotels in Syracuse
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Staff was very nice, but the rooms were small, tattered, outdated, and poorly ventilated. And they charged for wi-if that didn't work. It's centrally situated in walking distance from Archeological Park and Ortigia. Definitely more of a 3 star.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
1  Thank crubegonza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (336)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 336 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2014

The location is not bad.
The quantity and the quality of the dinner was very bad.
The breakfast was very poor.
There is no internet axes from midnight till 7 in the morning!!!!!
The room was small and the only positive was the wooden working area.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
1  Thank Arsenikos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jollyaretusa j, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Jolly Aretusa Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking this opportunity to review Jolly Aretusa Palace Hotel Siracusa and providing us with feedback concerning your stay.

We are sorry you were not able to enjoy during your stay with us.

We are very pleased that you will be returning to the hotel and look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back in the future and would encourage you to contact us if you have any further issues or comments and for sure our staff will be happy to resolve every your problem.

Yours Sincerely,

Donato
Web Marketing Executive
marketing@jollyaretusapalacehotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Stayed here just for 1 night as part of a tour group, room was reasonably sized and comfortable, air con worked, food was better than average continental buffet breakfast..hotel was modern , clean and close to busy centre.

Evening meal was an excellent risotto..so no complaints

A fifteen minute walk away is Ortigia, the old town, effectively an island but other than walking over the road bridges you could not tell

But the atmosphere in the Cathederal Square was wonderful in the early evening, traffic free, the bells ringing , people sat on benches chatting

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elaine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Stayed one night as part of a tour group.
The room was generous in size for a single room.
Hotel is close to the Ortigia and Neapolis and within easy walking distance from both.
The only criticism I have was the poor breakfast and dreadful coffee they had in the morning.
Other than that, as a one night stop on a tour, found it to be acceptable.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rob G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

A very simple hotel but the staff is nice and it's clean. Very central and with parking and that's the main reason I stay there. Rooms can be upgraded a little. Pity they removed their coffee shop as it was the main attraction of the hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms are almost all identical. Not spacious at all and light is very poor especially in the bathroo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Azelbst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

We recently spent 2 nights here, on a bed and breakfast basis. Seems the reception area etc has been spruced up since recent reviews as it was bright and clean. Staff reasonably helpful. Room was clean and pleasant but very small. Location very good, Ortigia and Neapolis easy walking distance. Breakfast average, had 1 dinner which was good. Restaurant staff friendly. Wi-Fi only in lobby, 1 hour free, then € 5 for 3 hours. We had free parking space in front of hotel, but there were not many available.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Margaret P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

We've been in Sicily for a week in May 2013. Slept 2 nights in this hotel. We were a group of 24 very good friends, travelling the world now for more that 10 years. The deal was halfboard.
The hotel location is quite good in the city center however no parking there. Central A/C very poor quality and cannot be controlled from the rooms. No phones in the rooms. No Wi-Fi in the rooms - only in the lobby and cost very much. Food quite bad, and the staff very unfriendly, especially the dining hall staff.
I would never suggest this hotel to anybody.

Room Tip: Avoid this hotel!.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gcarmi1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Syracuse hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Mercure Siracusa Prometeo
0.6 mi away
Hotel Posta
Hotel Posta
#34 of 75 in Syracuse
410 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Mediterraneo
Hotel Mediterraneo
#49 of 75 in Syracuse
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
UNA Hotel One
UNA Hotel One
#12 of 75 in Syracuse
1,061 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Panorama
Hotel Panorama
#66 of 75 in Syracuse
193 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Le Muse
Hotel Le Muse
#50 of 75 in Syracuse
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jolly Aretusa Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jolly Aretusa Palace Hotel

Address: Corso Gelone 45, 96100, Syracuse, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Syracuse > Syracuse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Luxury Hotel in Syracuse
Price Range: £47 - £730 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Jolly Aretusa Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 'Jolly Aretusa Palace Hotel', is a "4 Stars", situated to Syracuse center. The 114 rooms, have been projected and furnish for guaranteeing the comfort of the guests in the respect of an absolute privacy. The elegance of the comforting environments, the courtesy of the service, always impeccable, the safety of a professional assistance, they do the ideal place for business guests, that will find here a favorable environment to the planning and the management of their appointments, or for the families or Touristic and Religious Groups, that for the enviable strategic position exploiting in the center of the city of Syracuse, they can do the point of departure for the most famous destinations, that are a few steps from the hotel: Greel Theatre, Sanctuary of the Madonna of the tears, Ear of Dionysus, Arethusa Fountain, Papyrus Museum, Island of Ortigia etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Jolly Aretusa Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jolly Hotel Syracuse
Jolly Aretusa Palace Hotel Sicily/Syracuse, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing