We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Free on Monday!!!”
Review of Castello Maniace

Castello Maniace
Ranked #21 of 121 things to do in Syracuse
Attraction details
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Free on Monday!!!”
Reviewed 6 June 2013

We went on the off chance that it was open on a Monday, which technically it wasn't, however the gates were broken so people just strolled in. No-one came to shoo us all out, and none of the visitors vandallised the place. So we went for free and were drawn into the huge spaces and sense of history. Great.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank luccaphile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    145
    184
    75
    31
    25
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“not what I was expecting inside”
Reviewed 5 June 2013

Despite being armed with guide books for Siracusa area; I couldn't find too much info and there was very little signage available inside - unless you bought the book presumably?- seems to have been converted at some point into a convent/monastery? Fabulous cloister like columns inside one building and one large canvass - John the Baptist? I think but again no sinfo sign. Unable to access the higher points of the castle - areas roped off and scaffolding around. Interesting but more info required I think.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank lbwww
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Pity there is so little information available”
Reviewed 24 May 2013

We went there by sheer co-incidence, an elderly German lady literally picked-us -up in the street, asked if we were English, had we seen Castello Maniace, were we over 65.? We answered, yes, no and yes, over 65 with proof, get in free. She marched us there and escorted us around and could tell us the history of the Castello and showed us a 'secret' wall which had reproductions of ancient pictures and maps of the Castle, this was hidden in a sort of tunel/ passageway which was used to store motor bikes. She said it was a great pity that there was no guide or information available to visitors there, we agree! It's a fabulous resource which is totally neglected. Worth a visit

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank snannysnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Worthwhile”
Reviewed 27 April 2013

Interesting historical site at the tip of Ortigia.
Great views across the bay from the turrets.
Read about the site before entering as there are not pamphlets at the ticket office.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank lliivv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
70 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Stunning”
Reviewed 18 April 2013

You can understand why this was built here. Stunning setting, wonderful views all around and, considering its history which includes an accidental explosion, good state of repair.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Catherine E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Castello Maniace also viewed

Syracuse, Province of Syracuse
 
Syracuse, Province of Syracuse
Syracuse, Province of Syracuse
 

Been to Castello Maniace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing