We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Nice Place to Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Domus Mariae

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Domus Mariae
Ranked #16 of 75 Hotels in Syracuse
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
499 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
“Very Nice Place to Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

We had a very large room (211) that was quiet and comfortable. It was a triple with 2 larger beds and one small bed. The room was nicely decorated and had a large bathroom with a tub (not a shower). We were able to watch CNN on the TV. It is located on the island, which was near to sights and restaurants. It was the best hotel during my visit to Sicily.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim_atl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    171
    96
    28
    5
    4
See reviews for
34
173
6
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
malta
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

This was our favorite place to stay our entire trip. The beds are amazing, so comfortable & for a twin room the beds are spacious, nearer double bed size. The room was spacious, tastatefully decorated & the linen was such nice quality, a pleasure to sleep on. The location was superb. The staff so friendly.

Room Tip: Twin rooms are huge with sofa,s large beds, lots of room & nice balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank knightsinmalta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilling East, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014 via mobile

We had a lovely few nights here. We had a problem with our room on arrival which was sorted immediately. Very professional and friendly staff. Rooms cleaned to a high standard. The showers are a bit outdated and our street side room was noisy which is the only reason it's not getting 5 stars. We used the pool a couple of times which was great after a long days sight seeing with the kids. You need to book the pool in advance and its worth it.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank LegardL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2014

We had a wonderful ocean view room. Hotel is extremely well located, very clean and great staff. David and Cinzia were really great. We did not see the other rooms that do not have an ocean view, but seems like there could not be a better place.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rspiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Decatur, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2014

The Albergo Domus Mariae was the best hotel we stayed in for our three-week trip including fine hotels and B&Bs in Venice, Florence, Rome, and Naples. We were there for my wife's birthday. I called ahead and talked to the manager Cinzia. She was absolutely wonderful! She arranged to have flowers waiting for my wife in our room upon arrival. She also made special reservations for dinner at "the best seafood restaurant in Syracuse." She made sure that the owner was waiting for us with special service and a romantic table. I can't say enough about the service at the hotel from Cinzia and her staff. We will definitely go back soon!

Room Tip: Definitely ask for one of the rooms overlooking the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank McPreston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013

We stayed at Albergo Domus Marae for 4 nights and it was most enjoyable. Our room was excellent with a comfortable bed, and a small balcony. All the staff were very pleasant. On arrival we were greeted by Cinzia, she is a real dynamo, with perfect English, sense of humour and a good knowledge of local restaurants.
The breakfast was very good even though the staff did not understand Scrambled Eggs! it was always omelette.
Parking was fine, but I guess it could be a problem in high season. A very well placed former convent on the island of Ortigia which has a chapel attached to it. If you are tall, then mind your head when going up or down the stairs to the guest rooms!

Room Tip: The A/C unit is on top of the hotel and some people complained A/C noise. The second floor was fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alanweymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013

Our stay could be only one night, but we long to return. The room was spacious and very comfortable, the breakfast just across the road superb, and the staff were most helpful - friendly without being obtrusive. We have already recommended it to friends as a place to relax and a centre for exploring the delightful island of Ortygia.

Martin and Alison, UK

Room Tip: Some rooms face the sea, others, a shade cheaper, face a quiet street and are just as comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
domusdirettrice, Direttore at Domus Mariae, responded to this review, 30 November 2013
Dear Martin and Alison,
5 points make us happy and proud. Thank you!
Thank you to shared your experience with other travellers.
We are glad that you stayed well and that you suggested our hotel to your friends.
We are just few steps away from Piazza Duomo, so it's easy and with a gourgeous sea view.

We hope to welcome you next time.
Kind regards
Sister Rosamaria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Syracuse hotels
0.0 mi away
Algila Ortigia Charme Hotel
0.0 mi away
Domus Mariae Benessere
Domus Mariae Benessere
#21 of 75 in Syracuse
4.5 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
0.5 mi away
Charme Hotel Henry's House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Royal Maniace Hotel
Royal Maniace Hotel
#14 of 75 in Syracuse
4.5 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Ortigia
Grand Hotel Ortigia
#13 of 75 in Syracuse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
0.2 mi away
Antico Hotel Roma 1880
Antico Hotel Roma 1880
#4 of 75 in Syracuse
4.5 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Domus Mariae? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domus Mariae

Property: Domus Mariae
Address: Via Vittorio Veneto 76, 96100, Syracuse, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Syracuse > Syracuse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Syracuse
#13 Family Hotel in Syracuse
#14 Romantic Hotel in Syracuse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Domus Mariae 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Domus Mariae reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Domus Mariae Hotel Syracuse
Domus Mariae Sicily/Syracuse, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing