We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grand Hotel Villa Politi 1862
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
UNA Hotel One(Syracuse)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Riviera(Syracuse)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Teocrito(Syracuse)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (953)
Filter reviews
953 results
Traveller rating
455
335
106
43
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
455
335
106
43
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswinston churchilldei cappuccininice pool areadining room staffeuropean hotelscharacter and charmfaded eleganceplenty of sunbedslovely hotelwalk into townmemorable stayold townbeautiful buildingsmall balconygreek theatrehotel restaurantarchaeological park
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
195 - 200 of 953 reviews
Reviewed 15 September 2013

If you prefer a sanitised Crowne Plaza or Hilton holiday experience, this hotel is not for you. Go somewhere else. If you're not willing to get your head around the whole Italian and Sicilian experience I'd also advise you to choose a different island altogether. The faded historic grandeur of both the hotel and Siciliy is absolutely beguiling.

If, however, you choose to stay somewhere that is more in keeping with the surrounding area and which gives you a hint of the history and culture of Siracuse then this is one of the best choices you could make.

We are a family of four with two teenagers. The rooms were clean, quiet and spacious. The aircon worked a treat when it was 35 deg C outside and the breakfast was way more than enough, with a huge amount of choice. (Better coffee would have been welcome, but not enough to drop a point!)

The pool was a great place to spend a few hours and if you wanted the sea - it's a 5 minute walk to a bathing platform from which you can swim in the Med. Yes, it's €12 per day but that's pretty much in keeping with the area as beach space is at a premium.

I'd say that a hire care is pretty much essential for this hotel - but then as we had researched it we knew this in advance - so we hired a car. With the tools available for research nowadays there's no justification for complaining about this sort of thing as other reviewers have done. We didn't see many buses between our hotel and the main town and I wouldn't have fancied the uphill walk in 35 degree heat back to the hotel.

And finally....the staff. Great people make great holidays and the hotel's staff were absolutely great!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shenlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmelo C, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel Villa Politi 1862, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2013

thanks for choosing us and for the nice words: us in our work, we put our heart. We are happy when our guests appreciate our rooms, breakfast, swimming pool ... our pampering!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

I just wanted to say thank you to the staff at the hotel who looked after us during our recent stay. They were helpful and friendly and it really made our holiday. We had numerous questions for them and when I realised that I had made an error in the nights that I had booked - they solved my problem for me - nothing was a problem.

The hotel itself is fab with a lovely pool. The breakfast is amazing. There was so much choice but I have to admit that I stuck to the freshly made crepes! We also had an evening meal and once again we were not disappointed in the service or the food. We will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmelo C, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel Villa Politi 1862, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2013

your words will fill your heart with joy. thank you and hope to soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013

The hotel is very grand and has a historic feel, which they highlight with references to Churchill etc. The front desk staff were helpful and polite, as were the restaurant and cleaning staff.

The room was clean and comfortable, and more importantly, it was nice and quiet - this is partly to do with the other guests of course, who seemed a sensible lot, being mostly family oriented (older/teenage children mostly) couples on a romantic break, or mature friends travelling together. The air conditioning worked very well, thankfully. The electronic lock on the door was broken when we arrived but they fixed it within 30 hours.

The pool was very nice, although busy after 11am so loungers in short supply.

Restaurant evening meals were good and comparable to good outside restaurants in both price and quality. Breakfast was good. Busy and sometimes the staff struggled to clear tables in time, but still good.

Some niggles: The bar in the evening required patience, as another reviewer notes, and the young chap serving us on one occasion was a little bit inexperienced, which is why we got amaretto in a grappa glass.

The hotel is not near the centre of town. This is not a disaster, and has its own compensations (quiet), but it is a 30-40 minute walk to the centre of town - the main bridge into Ortigia, let's say. There are effectively no buses, as the receptionist noted, so it's either walk or get a taxi. Taxis seem to be E10 every time, which is not too bad.

Some reviews comment on the area that one walks through on the way to town. It's no Beverly Hills, but we felt comfortable walking through it at various times of the day - apart from the heat! The chaps hanging around the entrance to the football stadium didn't seem massively happy about us walking past as they conducted whatever business they were conducting... but only to the extent of going a bit quiet for a moment.

Overall though, a shuttle bus service would be an excellent addition to the hotel services.

Three things that people might miss;

1. The sunken gardens under the hotel. You can access these by turning left out of the entrance, then left at the roundabout - the entrance is signposted 'Latomie de' Cappuccini' and there is a small charge to enter.

2. The cafe at the end of the road.Turn left out of the hotel entrance. A very popular local cafe with outside seating area, snacks, light meals and drinks.

3. Jonica restaurant. On the seafront just down from the cafe. Excellent.

Overall a very pleasant stay, with some free exercise thrown in.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Edward G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmelo C, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel Villa Politi 1862, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2013

150 years of history to welcome you with our services ... and does not end here!
Thank you for your thoughts.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Just returned from a week staying at this hotel in Syracuse, and am amazed by the one or two critical reviews it has received.

We were a family of 4 with 2 university aged children. The twin room they shared was small but comfortable, and our room was larger and perfectly adequate. Maybe not the height of luxury, but we didn't feel we were paying top prices so were perfectly happy.

Best features:

Excellent free wifi (most important for 18 year old son!)
Great free parking
Good relatively inexpensive restaurant, and poolside bar for lunches
Lovely clean swimming pool. About 15 sunbeds available, which was fine for early September
Excellent breakfasts. Yes bacon and scrambled eggs were the only cooked option, but the made to order crepes, fabulous bread and pastries and excellent fruit selection more than made up for this. Also there were the standard cheese/cold meat options.
Ver efficient air con in the bedrooms.

The hotel was a 5 - 10 minute drive to the Old Town (Ortigia), but as we had a hire car this was not a problem. If you had no transport it may seem a little far from the centre of things. Some of the external paintwork could have done with a touch up, but in general this added to its faded charm. Everything was very clean and the staff very helpful.

I selected the hotel becaue of the good parking and swimming pool and we were not disappointed at all. Would highly recommend it if you have a car.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LondonUKColette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmelo C, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel Villa Politi 1862, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2013

The Grand Hotel Villa Politi is the ideal place to enjoy your holiday relaxing pampered by my staff.
thanks for choosing us

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Going to Villa Politi is just like stepping in an old italian movie. It's wonderful, charming, and the staff is so nice. In this kind of place sometimes you're afraid of the coldness of people: you don't have to fear it at Villa Politi! Everybody was very kind to us. The breakfast? I had never seen that before. Homemade pies, crepes made just for you and in front of you, almond's milk, fresh fruits, ham and cheese, eggs, pastries... So far the best breakfast I ever had in an hotel. The wi-fi is free in the common spaces, but not available in the rooms. Also, the pillow was not very comfortable and for the same price we had two rooms of different size (one of them smaller, even the beds) which was pretty weird. But, seriously, those things are nothing compared to all the beauty of this hotel. Also, the swimming pool is amazing! And the landscape breathtaking.
Thanks again for the kindness of the staff. We had a food poisoning in some restaurant on our last night there, and so they offered us to stay all day in the hotel if we wanted (use the swimming pool, stay in the park...) and offered us lemon beverages to help us get better for the road. People there are really humans and we sure appreciated it.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CharleeBian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmelo C, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel Villa Politi 1862, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2013

wonderful are our customers. thanks for the nice words

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews