We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$115
View deal
Free cancellation until 04/11/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com
US$107
View deal
Free cancellation until 05/11/21
Agoda.com
US$72
View deal
Hotels.comUS$107
eDreamsUS$115
TravelocityUS$107
View all 17 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,270)
Filter reviews
1,270 results
Traveller rating
610
443
144
52
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
610
443
144
52
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviews winston churchill old quarry swimming pool the air conditioning half board croissants four nights sea ortigia euro taxis greek italians francesco bridge
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
157 - 162 of 1,270 reviews
Reviewed 30 August 2016

This hotel is in a gorgeous setting, though somewhat far from the center of town. However, a microbus stops directly in from of the hotel, so getting to the sights or to Ortigia is not a problem. The pool area is lovely. Breakfasts are the best, and there are several restaurants within walking distance. The staff is friendly and helpful.

Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank dottianbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmelo C, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel Villa Politi, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2016

our smile and our services are the strength of the G H Villa Politi ; )

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2016 via mobile

Lovely building and grounds. Nice pool area and pleasant staff. Particularly Ramona who was very helpful and affable. Enjoyed the brief stay. Good value and would def recommend. Short walk into Piazza Duomo which is beautiful at night with plenty going on.

Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Ben M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmelo C, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel Villa Politi, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2016

: ) the smile of Ramona is our thanks!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2016 via mobile

Words can't describe how perfect this hotel was. The old style Italian decor (it was opened in 1862) and the friendliness and openness of all the staff. I had a wonderful time here and hope to return one day again.

The rooms are old and a little old school but it only adds to the charm. The beds are comfortable. Unfortunately the hairdryer in the bathroom is that 70s style vacuum cleaner esq one attached to the wall which could do with being updated.

The pool area was gorgeous and always plenty of loungers to use. The middle of the pool is quite deep (no markings but assume 3 mts) so you can get some decent swimming in.

The hotel is on the sea and is around 2.5km walk from Ortygia (the island off Syracuse which is the hub of the city basically). We would usually walk in (downhill slope) and taxi home (uphill battle post wine). They own a lido area just down the road which you can rent loungers from which we never used. If I'm honest I think this service should be free of charge to hotel guests and chargeable to nom guests.

The highlight (apart from the stunning and enchanting decor which made us feel like superstars) was the food. We had dinner here one of the nights and it was the second best dinner we had all week. I highly recommend eating here! The restaurant and bar staff were always so friendly, helpful and very funny. I really enjoyed them and thank them for all their help and patience with my terrible attempt at speaking Italian!

In regards to accessibility, as the hotel is old, lifts and doorways aren't easily accommodating for wheelchairs.

All in all I just loved this hotel and would recommend it to anyone looking for a little sparkle or something special for family or couples.

Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank JaelDanu
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmelo C, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel Villa Politi, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2016

The strenght of Grand Hotel Villa Politi is in our Guests, who like you choose to live our home and our service. Our cuisine is our pride, only in the first half of August more than 600 people chose to have dinner at our Restaurant choosing from our Grand Carte. We are especially careful about the hotel maintenance, and we are in the process of restyling the Hotel to make it even more prestigious… but that sparkle that you noticed… that is the magic of our Hotel, it is what makes us unique: it is love and passion, from all the staff, towards their jobs. For our Guests, we put our Heart!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2016

Lovely hotel , some grand features , with very helpful friendly staff - just set too far out of town. Great pool area , good breakfast ( could have done with more hot choices) , very fancy reception area. Only real drawback is that its a long walk into the main area - through a very scruffy part of town. There is a small bus that runs twice an hour, timing is a bit erratic , but stops running around 8pm , so a 15-20 euro cab ride back. Plenty of parking, they did have happy hour - cocktails for 7 euro's plus free appetisers. A great hotel for touring the area, but let down by being stuck out of the main tourist area.

Room tip: Ask for a sea view, should get you a small balcony.
Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kevwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmelo C, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel Villa Politi, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2016

A GOOD HOTEL THANKS TO ITS GREAT POSITION!!! Far away from the pit and the chaos, two steps from the sea, inside the archeological area, over the Latomie dei Cappuccini, in the heart of town… close to the Archaeological Museum, the Sanctuary, the Greek Theatre, the Papyrus Museum, Saint Lucy Church, Saint John’s Cathacombs… and if you want to ignore all this to live your holiday in relax, Grand Hotel Villa Politi is the only hotel in the middle of Siracusa to have a large outdoors swimming pool and a solarium on the seaside, and lots and lots of cuddles… It would be a shame to choose something else!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2016

A whiff of a bygone era, however somewhat stale. Rooms ok and a nice garden but the setting was a really boring residential area, two km to the town center. Rather irritating though not not be able to get something to eat upon arrival around two o'clock in the afternoon. Neither in the restaurant nor in the bar. Nothing much in the neighbourhood either. Not OK to charge for towels to the beach, which by the way was about 800 m walk from the hotel area including crossing a heavily busy road.

Date of stay: June 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Agneta D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmelo C, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel Villa Politi, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2016

The restaurant closes for lunch at 2:00 PM , but the snack bar in the pool is open from 11.00 AM to 6.00 PM ... no one in the GH Villa Politi stay hungry !!! Our beach to the sea at 200 meters from the hotel . It is true, the beach towel has a minimal cost for the rental of EUR 2.50 and the proceeds are given to charity at the end of the season: we are pleased to make happy families who through this money can make free vacation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews