We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$115
View deal
Free cancellation until 04/11/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com
US$107
View deal
Free cancellation until 05/11/21
FindHotel
US$71
View deal
Hotels.comUS$107
eDreamsUS$115
TravelocityUS$107
View all 17 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,269)
Filter reviews
1,270 results
Traveller rating
610
443
144
52
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
610
443
144
52
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviews winston churchill old quarry swimming pool the air conditioning half board croissants four nights sea ortigia euro taxis greek italians francesco bridge
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
136 - 141 of 1,270 reviews
Reviewed 2 April 2017 via mobile

We had an excellent stay. The hotel is beautiful, gorgeous entrance to the place, it had ellegant chandeliers, stained glass and marble flooring. The location was excellent. Staff were very welcoming, friendly and very helpful. As for the food it was splendid, excellent choices and food looked and tasted fresh. The rooms were lovely, clean and hygenic. I highly recommend this hotel. We will definitely come back again. Thank you. Josie

Date of stay: November 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Josie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmelo C, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel Villa Politi, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2017

Thanks for choosing us ... we put our hearts ; )

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2017

Maybe it was the time of the year, very early in the season - it feels like entering history in all aspects. Driving up the long way towards the hotel "triggers" a lot of pictures. The receptionstaff is very friendly and helpful. Unfortunately then when you come to the room - I had a room out to the back - a loud noise comes from some machinery that makes it impossible to open the window during the night. The hotel has seen many days and many visitors - this is clearly visible. I would assume, that 4* have more "shine". I was there with a group of people - all were a little disappointed, but as I said - maybe it is to early in the year. (middle March) Breakfast was minimal and I would expect on a island that has Oranges hanging in the trees everywhere, that fresh orange juice is served in the morning, but this is not so. Also here, the staff are very friendly and trying to be helpful. The Dinner from my perspective is to expensive for what you get. Eating in nearby restaurant - local people eat there - is more than have the price and double as good. Well - what should I say? Would I go there again? I don´t know.

Room tip: Rooms towards the front are beautiful
Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank th0mas1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmelo C, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel Villa Politi, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2017

we wish you come back ... at least just to change your idea on the biggest and most historic hotels in Syracuse. These last days are of low season for us and we are going to complete the restyling of the building to introduce ourselves splendidly in all those ones will choose us like you. So we apologize for any noise that disturbed your sleep. You bought a stay in a double room with a rich and healthy breakfast where surely without extra charge you could ask a freshly squeezed orange juice, an espresso, a cappuccino ... and all the cuddles that we reserve for all our Guests also with very low costs, the same cost that you paid in this period of low season! All Guests appreciate our kitchen and at the moment we offer a 3-course menu with a menu cost that’s almost equivalent to the cost of a menu at McDonald. I'm really curious to know where you have found something better and at less cost. On the contrary, I’m not curious at all, our guests are free to choose and ourselves recommend restaurants to discover and to try ... but please you don’t compare us with what you could eat at the bar near our hotel ... we are something else:) and I hope I could prove it if you will give us a new opportunity. We Wait You.. Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2017

Had a weeks break and opted for this hotel in Sicily. The weather was fine and we had a great time. We were B & B. The facilities, staff and location were perfect! The breakfast on offer was superb and my partner indulged herself with prosecco for breakfast!
Will very happily go back!

Date of stay: October 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank piers2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmelo C, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel Villa Politi, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2017

: ) we will look forward to the G H Villa Politi!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2016

The entrance driving through the main gates someone in a previous listing described as ‘ you feel like you are driving in to a picture post card.’ I have to agree. As estate agents say the kerb appeal is magnificent. We had two deluxe rooms and both were extremely well appointed in every respect they were large and furnished to a very high standard. The bathrooms were equally as large with beautiful fittings They were very clean and the bedding was of a very good quality and the bed a very large double was extremely comfortable and we enjoyed one of the best night’s sleep on our trip in Sicily. The entrance hall with the sweeping stair case is very palatial, comfortable and welcoming even on a wet night in December. The drinks at the bar are served efficient in the entrance hall. The staff are very efficient and friendly we were quickly booked in .
The breakfast was excellent with plenty of choice and as much as you liked. It matched the high standard of our evening meal in the restaurant which was very delicious and with the three courses all of our party thought it was without doubt the best meal we had had in Sicily. The staff in the restaurant were very attentive and pitched at the right level so as not to appear overly intrusive, they helped to make our last night in Sicily memorable. The meal was extremely good value for money and including drinks was a very reasonable price.
The hotel has a great deal of character and charm. It is clearly a well-run and a well-managed hotel. All our party wished we could have stayed longer, we so enjoyed our stay, so much that we intend to look at coming back in the summer.

Thank you for a memorable stay.

Date of stay: December 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Rob-joanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmelo C, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel Villa Politi, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2016

Come back in the summer, we wait you: when we will switch off the big fireplace to let place to the fresh of the park and the beautiful pool ... when after a swim in the crystal waters of our beach you can lose yourself in the streets of the wonderful island of Ortigia ... knowing that a good dinner waits you at the hotel, with a fresh and comfortable room for a quiet night, a rich and genuine breakfast and ... lots of cuddles.
COME BACK AT THE GH VILLA POLITI… WE ARE HERE FOR YOU:)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2016

A hotel with so much potential. that fails to achieve the shine. There is a grand dual stairway entrance, but once inside it is dark and tired. Although the windows and doors are all replaced, the outside is sadly in need of redecoration.
The staff are welcoming and helpful, and the food was good for dinner. breakfast was uninspiring.
Our room was spacious with a basic balcony, and the bathroom well refurbished. But details like no tea and coffee facilities in the room were lacking.
We used the pool area, but were surprised that there are no lunch or drinks available during the day, unless you ask the reception staff, who then had to find a beer in the bar area. Not good enough in a 4* hotel.

Room tip: Ask for room with a sea view
Date of stay: October 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Sonja C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmelo C, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel Villa Politi, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2016

Sorry to have disappointed you but frankly I don’t understand what: a great room, a good breakfast, a tasty dinner, attentive and available staff. For the rest: the swimming pool is outdoor in the park, so in winter is closed, as the bar that makes shorter hours (but certainly not missed the beer, even asked to the reception and OFFER by management). The absence of tea and coffee in the room is a precise choice of direction, I consider it unhygienic and it isn’t part of the Italian hospitality. The suffused atmosphere with lighted chandeliers and large fireplace has been defined dark and tired by you, but it's a precise choice to GH Villa Politi, in a world where we don’t often distinguish the night and the day with artificial light... but just turn on the big appliques, the majestic chandeliers and all the lights of the big park to shine of own light the largest and most historic hotel in Sicily. Greetings and Merry Christmas!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews