We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Super one night stay”
Review of Hotel Gutkowski

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Gutkowski
Ranked #21 of 75 Hotels in Syracuse
Certificate of Excellence
Pembroke Parish, Bermuda
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Super one night stay”
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Thanks so much for the help with getting back to Catania Paula. What a helpful host. Also clean and accessible room. Lovely roof terrace for end of day drinks. The neo bistro Gut on a Friday evening was buzzing with locals and the food was good. excellent breakfast in the morning.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndyFields
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    176
    190
    61
    17
    15
See reviews for
70
244
14
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

The Hotel Gutkowski is tastefully and artfully decorated, though rather sparely. It could use some rugs on the floors of the rooms. The staff was quite helpful though not always very present. The breakfast was excellent, one of the best I've ever had in a hotel, with a great choice of locals specialties. We also ate dinner there one night and ate extremely well, though apparently the restaurant is independently managed. Our room had a gorgeous view over the sea, and though it was on a somewhat busy road, it was quiet.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MollyGeneva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amman, Jordan
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

We stayed at the Gutkowski for four nights in August 2013. The hotel is located in the old town of Syracuse, Ortigia the most romantic and charming part of the city. We booked two rooms that opened up to the large outdoor terrace with great views towards the sea and the promenade. The rooms are nicely decorated with marine/sailor tones and accents. The outdoor terrace is so relaxing and the hotel offers free granita everyday around 5 pm. Hotel guests can even buy their own cheese and wine or pizza and have dinner outside at night. Breakfast was excellent, fresh seasonal products every day, a good selection of cheese, and yummy Sicilian biscuits. The hotel location is perfect, in the middle of the old town yet overlooking the sea and on the quiet side. There are excellent restaurants nearby and several supermarkets and shops. The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. We had a problem with our car and they were extremely helpful in giving us directions and guidance. All in all, we found it to be a charming little hotel in the middle of beautiful Ortigia~!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NadineKaddoura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palermo, Italy
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

A good friend recommended this little hotel which comprises two ancient buildings along the seafront in Syracuse on the island of Ortygia, famed for its role in the history of Magna Grecia. I have been grateful for this recommendation ever since as we usually are there once per year to see the Greek plays in the old Greek theater. The experience of living in this hotel for a few days is a draw in itself for me. The guest is greeted at the reception by either friendly, helpful young people or by an owner of the hotel, a very gracious young woman herself. The guest rooms are simply furnished with well designed comfortable beds and simple bed coverings, the walls are painted in a relaxing manner and complement the well scrubbed look of the new wooden floors in the clean minimalist nordic style of the rest of the room. One of the things I like best about the stay are the always delicious breakfasts of ample proportions which serve you well for walking around the old city the rest of the morning. There are terraces open to all the guests for sitting, conversing, looking at the sea. Some of the guest rooms also have views of the sea. I am partial to the guest room which opens off the upper terrace as one can exit the room and enjoy the terrace, although others may not like what might seem an intrusion on privacy as sometimes several people can be on the terrace. It is very quiet on the side of the island where this hotel is located but very close to the center of historic center where the crowds are. Within a short walk from the hotel it is possible to reach very good restaurants, those close by being less crowded than those toward the center.

Room Tip: included in the review
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sepaharos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Motza Ilit
Level Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

We really enjoyed ourselves in this small hotel in Ortigia. First off its location is splendid – right on the Mediterranean and within walking distance to just about everything of interest.
The very stark architecture, and metal and bare wood furnishings take a bit of getting used to but that is one of the thinks that makes the place so unusual and, at the same time, charming.
The rooms are a bit sparsely furnished, especially for a long stay, but they are fairly large and very clean and quite comfortable.
The breakfast is just amazing. It will keep you going for most of the day. They must have listened to previous reviewers on this issue.
The staff and owners were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Larry100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

A sweet little hotel in Siracusa. We stayed for three days and had a very lovely stay at Hotel Gutkowski. The rooms are sparsely decorated but very clean, comfortable and charming. The breakfast is delicious and fresh with wonderful service from the staff. I would gladly stay at Gutkowski on a return trip to Siracusa.

Room Tip: If you are traveling solo or as a couple, ask for the room on the terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmayaDance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai
Level Contributor
63 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

It certainly benefits from the amazing location and the views..
We loved our short stay, rooms were really nice,simple and tastefully decorated. The holiday feel were all over !
The staff were friendly ,breakfast was nice... So no complain..

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carlaDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Syracuse hotels
0.1 mi away
Algila Ortigia Charme Hotel
0.6 mi away
Charme Hotel Henry's House
0.3 mi away
Antico Hotel Roma 1880
Antico Hotel Roma 1880
#4 of 75 in Syracuse
4.5 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Ortigia
Grand Hotel Ortigia
#13 of 75 in Syracuse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 592 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grande  Albergo Alfeo
Grande Albergo Alfeo
#9 of 75 in Syracuse
4.5 of 5 bubbles 649 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hotel Borgo Pantano
Hotel Borgo Pantano
#1 of 75 in Syracuse
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gutkowski? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gutkowski

Property: Hotel Gutkowski
Address: Lungomare Elio Vittorini 26, 96100, Syracuse, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Syracuse > Syracuse
Amenities:
Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 75 Hotels in Syracuse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Gutkowski 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Gutkowski reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gutkowski Hotel Syracuse
Hotel Gutkowski Sicily/Syracuse, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing