We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“almost perfect seaside hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Gutkowski

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Gutkowski
Ranked #19 of 75 Hotels in Syracuse
Certificate of Excellence
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“almost perfect seaside hotel”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Our second visit to Gutkowski and it was every bit as good as we remembered. Clean simple and stylish rooms. Free granitas on the roof terrace in the evenings is a nice touch. Now also has a very good restaurant, we ate their twice and they were the best two meals we had in Ortigia.
Its a 15-30 minute drive to a good sandy beach, but Ortigia is an undiscovered gem, a citadel dating back to the ancient Greeks, with most of the current buildings dating back to the Renaissance. Part restored, part crumbling.
Staff delightful and very helpful. We were bumped from a sea view to a basic room on our first night which was a bit annoying, but they redeemed themselves by offering to take my parking fine payment to the police station for me as I was leaving the next day! ( be warned... 5 minutes in a residents parking bay got me a fine and almost got my hire car towed away...)

Room Tip: Worth the extra for sea view, its stunning, provided your are not too bothered by the road noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 186370Andy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    174
    187
    58
    17
    13
See reviews for
70
238
14
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

A charming hotel on the seafront in the old town Ortygia, Syracuse. We stayed for just one night in July and had a very pleasant stay. The staff were helpful, friendly and welcoming and gave us some great restaurant tips and recommendations to make the most of our shirt time in the city. Our room was spacious and well appointed, clean and comfortable and very peaceful. Breakfast was delicious, and parking was available just across the street by the seafront.
The hotel offer free granita to guests every evening on the roof terrace overlooking the sea, plus there's a restaurant on site. I would definitely recommend staying here. A great base for exploring the old town and conveniently located in a quiet residential area.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a sea view, in the main building as there are two and whilst the second is equal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hannah0126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

The hotel is nice in terms of both the outside and the inside. It is just next to the sea, and every morning, I got up seeing the blue sky and the blue sea.

When I checked-in the room, it was a coup d'oeil. Mostly plain white but pleasantly decorated. The breakfast was another highlights. Please pay attention to the plates - you will love it.

However, small downsides were: wifi was rather weak inside the room. And, unluckily, my room was on the lowest level. And the windows opened to the laundry area of the family next door.

Room Tip: It involves a bit of walking to the hotel. Strictly speaking, the hotel is not in Siracusa, it is i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chicmec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orpington Kent
Level Contributor
57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

The Hotel is not easy to find even with a SAT NAV due to the one way roads on Syracuse. Howver once found its easy to relocate as the `island' is not very big.

If you are driving you can either park opposite the hotel (if a space is free) for free or back up the road (one way) for free. The road is the seaview road.

The hotel provides easy access on foot to all parts of the `island' or old town and daily market.
To get to the new part of `mainland' syracuse you may need a bus or taxi if you have not got a car.

The Hotel was comfortable old worldy and the breakfasts very good continental style. The staff were very helpful and welcoming. Some rooms have a great sea view across the road.

My only complaint was about the noise in the street on friday night. Young moped riders up and down the road and some locals singing their way home from whereever.

I would think the hotel is as good as it gets for facilities, ease of parking, location etc. on the `island'.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room and avoid staying at weekends.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ironhead13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

The rooms are clean, simple and quietly comfortable, no frills. We had a sea view which was a wonderful way to wake up on the first night of our holiday. The only downside of this is that the road is in front of the sea so it's not entirely peaceful. I would try to get the room on the top of the building opening on to the terrace. Breakfast was fine though I think it would be nice to find some way serve it up on the terrace.
The real gem of this place is Bistrot Neo Gut, the separately run restaurant (reviewed elsewhere on this site) which was some of the best Italian food I have ever eaten.
So my feeling as someone in the restaurant business, is that this is a comfortable Hotel, run by people who understand design but who are somewhat reluctant to widen the hospitality to food.
We were recommended other restaurants on our arrival which weren't half as good and I know this is because the owner doesn't want to appear to be pushing people into the restaurant. But when you have a jewel, why keep it hidden?
And breakfast on the terrace - with a little more effort: home made yoghurt, farm cheeses and charcuterie - would be sensational.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank PipsDish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Huron, Michigan
Level Contributor
200 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Arriving in Ortigia, GPS gave us a hard time reaching Hotel Gutkowski as it wanted us to drive the wrong way on one way streets, but when we got there, we found free parking across the street by the sea. We didn't want to move the car during our entire stay of three days though as parking is rare in Ortigia unless you pay for it in the Talete garage, which is a five-minute walk away though something like a euro per hour. This is not a fault of the hotel but just the nature of parking in town. Gutkowski is well situated to walk all over Ortigia. It's less than ten minutes to the daily market and the same to reach the center of town, and we enjoyed these strolls through winding residential streets. Getting to "mainland" Siracusa does require a bus, taxi, or willingness to walk 40 minutes, though this is true no matter where you stay in Ortigia.

We stayed on the second floor in the main building in a room that reminded us of the Greek islands in terms of decor. I'm not sure what people mean when they call it "minimalist." It isn't opulent but reflects an antique, Mediterranean island style. We didn't have a sea view but had easy (and generally private) access to the rooftop patio where we ate lunch alone and had a beautiful view of the ocean across the street.

Breakfast had a good selection of items: pastries, fruit, cereal. staff were friendly and helpful. The previous residents of our room had taken the keys with them to Rome, but staff provided us a second set. Usually the keys here are hooked to a massive wooden heart keychain--not sure how you'd put that in your pocket, but we didn't have to figure it out. We will be back again when we visit Ortigia in the future.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank professorclee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
71 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

The good first:
Excellent location
Helpful Woman at front desk when we checked it and checked out. Lots of helpful advice and directions.
Bikes available for borrowing (bring your helmet).
Good restaurant (not cheap though) with good service.
Negative:
A different clerk gave me an extra key to room without including key to entry door. I was locked out for over an hour after midnight....had to ask Italian Police for help. While a simple mistake by the male clerk, it could have costed me a night of sleep...fortunately only 90 minutes were wasted pounding on the door to get it! Had this not happened I would have given 4.5 stars.
Neutral: The triple room with no seaview is very basic but then for the price (140E)....it's what should be expected for this nice section of Ortigia. It's also near parking. Lastly, It was not noisey like the seaview rooms have been reported to be. Also the bathroom was large. While overall it was acceptable, next time I think I will stay with Carolyn in her quaint 1 room B&B!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JimA1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Syracuse hotels
0.1 mi away
Algila Ortigia Charme Hotel
0.6 mi away
Charme Hotel Henry's House
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Ortigia
Grand Hotel Ortigia
#14 of 75 in Syracuse
582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Antico Hotel Roma 1880
Antico Hotel Roma 1880
#4 of 75 in Syracuse
517 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grande  Albergo Alfeo
Grande Albergo Alfeo
#7 of 75 in Syracuse
638 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Parco delle Fontane
Hotel Parco delle Fontane
#5 of 75 in Syracuse
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gutkowski? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gutkowski

Property: Hotel Gutkowski
Address: Lungomare Elio Vittorini 26, 96100, Syracuse, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Syracuse > Syracuse
Amenities:
Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 75 Hotels in Syracuse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Gutkowski 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Gutkowski reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gutkowski Hotel Syracuse
Hotel Gutkowski Sicily/Syracuse, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing