We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great potential but....”
Review of Hotel Caiammari

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Caiammari
Ranked #7 of 75 Hotels in Syracuse
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed towards end of October. Wonderful potential and great pool and gardens etc but lots of little things not quite right. Hot food at breakfast stone cold despite arriving as breakfast service started, food not topped up at breakfast when exhausted, rooms rather musty, majority of food on menu crossed off on evening and even then what delivered not as described. Not enough staff on in bar/restaurant , free wifi not working. Ash tray with cigarettes on table on small table on terrace when arrived. None of it would ever concern me on its own but too many small things not quite right. But great pool, friendly staff, well equipped gym, beautifully furnished rooms in building of character and good value if all small problems not there.

Stayed: October 2013
1  Thank sdmmb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (408)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 408 reviews

Reviewed 8 October 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Hotel Caiammari for 7 nights at the beginning of October. We had never visited Sicily before and so it was quite difficult to work out the best location for exploring the island. It became obvious during our stay that you really need to choose between the East or the West (Palermo or Catania ends) unless you are prepared to spend quite a long time in the car. We chose the eastern end and stayed at this Hotel based just South of Syracuse.
It is a lovely hotel with very friendly staff and very good facilities. It proved a very good base for exploring the sites as far afield as Piazza Armerina, Ragusa and closer to home Syracuse.
The pool area was well supervised and very relaxing, the sauna and gym were well equipped and accessible (although we didn't use them) and the restaurant provided good breakfasts, lunches and dinners. The rooms were clean and spacious and well tended by the staff. The hotel is situated in lovely gardens which were a delight to stroll through after dinner. Lots of families there when we stayed, they all seemed very content with the hotel and how it catered for children of all ages. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nicholas T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

i stayed here for 5 nights at the end of august and cannot rave enough about it. from the helpful and friendly staff, the brilliant design, the best breakfast buffet and fantastic views... this is one of my favorite hotels i've ever stayed in. ever. it truly feels like your home away from home. when i go back to Sicily, i will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Antony F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2013

As I was told by the manager, I think that the Hotel has been under a new management since the start of June 2013. We stayed wonderfully. The position of the hotel is outside Syracuse, but you can reach the city in 10/15 minutes by car. Also, you can easily take the road that goes to the South, where there are some of the most famous beaches in the area. It has to be mentioned the 2 swimming pools, big and very clean and also the restaurant, where we had an amazing starter and very good first courses. Staff was helpful in every situation, so that I cannot say anything, but recommend Hotel Caiammari.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Vieri10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2011

There are a lot of positives about this hotel and a few negatives unfortunately but which I think can be rectified very easily.
We stayed at this hotel in May when unfortunately the weather was not on our side and we arrived there in the pouring rain. I presume that the hotel was only opening up for the season as everything seemed to be very musky and damp (maybe this was to do with the weather) but when we were shown to our rooms we werent entirely happy - they smelt of damp and were pretty dark and dreary. Needless to say the staff were extremely helpful and polite and helped us to find other rooms but most of them were the same unless you were lucky enough to get one of the larger rooms in the main house. (Which eventually some of the members of my family did). However with the terrible weather that we had there was not a lot to do and we had to spend a lot of time in our rooms which werent the most pleasant places to spend the day! The hotel bar also shut up from 2pm to 6pm so there wasnt even a communal area for us all to congregate. Very strange layout actually, no lobby or entrance area at all just the restaurant and the bar!
The grounds surrounding the hotel were beautiful, although everything looked like it needed a good spraying down and/or a paintjob, but as I said this may have been because we arrived at the beginning of their season. The pools were great and we did get to spend one day at these as the sun decided to make an appearance on our last day!
The staff were also great especially Davide and Gabrielle and the waiters, and they even provided us with a birthday cake for one of our member's birthdays which was very generous and a signed card from all the staff - very nice touch! The food in the restaurant was very nice, and they were quite accomodating to our large family and gave us special deals.
We also really appreciated getting lifts in the van (mostly from Davide) in and out to Syracuse when needed.
So great service, great food, great pools and maybe great rooms once they've been freshened up and the sun is shining!!
We also fell in love with the little grey kitten up around the reception area, and hope its still happy and being looked after by the caring staff!! :)

Room Tip: Try get a large room in the main house!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maguire37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2010

We stayed at the Caiammari for five nights and couldn't have been happier. We'd read several reviews and booked on the recommendation of other Trip Advisors. We'd have to agree, the approach to the hotel isn't the best (on driving around the area all of the other hotels we checked out in this vein didn't prove to be any better) the area is a little messy with rubbish strewn around and almost baron land surrounding you - a car is essential. However, once entering the hotel's grounds you're greeted with impeccably kept grounds with an array of trees, plants and flowers that create a wonderful ambience. We had the family room which boasts a wonderful balcony, vast amounts of space and clean facilities. The pool area was amazing, great beds and clean towels and a snack bar - it was hard to drag our two small children away. Breakfast was good, typical Sicilian buffet style. We ate lunch several times and the standard was excellent. We drove into the wonderful town of Ortiga every evening (20 mins away) and it was no hassle at all. The thing that really made this stay though, was the exceptionally helpful staff - especially the receptionists. They went to great lengths to ensure we enjoyed ourselves, from calling ahead to the restaurant to request a Sicilian dish not on the menu to arranging an ad hoc cooking lesson with the chef. We loved Syracuse and would thoroughly recommend a stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank LondonHolidayBlues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2009

We spent 8 days at the Caiammari in September – our fourth visit to this romantic oasis. We discovered the hotel when travelling around Sicily and we stayed this time because we were celebrating an anniversary. We love the large pool which has wide terraces and plenty of new sun beds and umbrellas. The gardens are beautiful, the gym is excellent, everything is maintained very well, the staff are fantastic – nothing is too much trouble and they were particularly helpful arranging a visit to a GP when I had an ear problem – the beds are comfortable, the bathrooms are modern and well equipped, we have really enjoyed the food and wine in the restaurant and think the prices are reasonable.
Ortigia is beautiful and atmospheric and we found some excellent restaurants and bars, mostly recommended by the hotel staff. In the other direction head off into the hills to Noto where there are good restaurants, or along the coast to a beautiful beach, or close by to Ognina harbour for a Pizza.
You need a car at the Caiammari and ask for directions prior to your stay to save some time because it is located in typically Sicilian countryside. We don’t mind the driving - the trick is to keep moving and stay chilled! If you don’t have a car their sister hotel, Hotel Roma, is located in the heart of Ortigia. It’s lovely but we haven’t stayed there, we would miss the Caiammari too much, and writing this has made me wish I was there right now!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SPTLondon2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Syracuse hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Principe di Fitalia Wellness & SPA
1.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Minareto
Grand Hotel Minareto
#10 of 75 in Syracuse
1,293 reviews
2.9 mi away
Algila Ortigia Charme Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Politi
Grand Hotel Villa Politi
#9 of 75 in Syracuse
906 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Borgo Pantano
Hotel Borgo Pantano
#1 of 75 in Syracuse
1,205 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Il Parco
Hotel Il Parco
#14 of 75 in Syracuse
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Caiammari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Caiammari

Address: Via Daniele Impellizzeri -Contrada Isola Fanusa, 96100, Syracuse, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Syracuse > Syracuse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Syracuse
#7 Luxury Hotel in Syracuse
#7 Family Hotel in Syracuse
#12 Romantic Hotel in Syracuse
Price Range: £83 - £146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Caiammari 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a former noble residence, the Caiammari is an elegant 4-star hotel in eastern Sicily, 4 miles from Siracusa. The centuries-old botanical gardens feature an outdoor swimming pool.The spacious, airy rooms of Hotel Caiammari are elegantly furnished and feature wrought-iron beds, tiled floors and exposed wood beams on the ceilings. Each room offers air conditioning and a TV with satellite channels.The spa center is complete with sauna and jacuzzi outdoor pool . A range of massages and beauty treatments is also available.Hibiscus restaurant serves a fusion of Sicilian, Italian and international cuisine, including an exquisite selection of wines. The bar is famous for its cocktails, and the breakfast buffet includes fresh pastries.The hotel is half a mile from Arenella Beach. The staff can arrange shuttles to the heart of Siracusa and Catania Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Caiammari reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caiammari Hotel Syracuse
Hotel Caiammari Sicily/Syracuse, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing