We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall a great hotel.”
Review of Hotel Caiammari

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Caiammari
Ranked #7 of 75 Hotels in Syracuse
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

Great service, peace and quiet. It's a small hotel but when we stayed there it was well staffed. We had a lovely honeymoon here last week. With an exceptional nice garden and large and beautiful swimmingpool.

Small critique
We had some minor issues with the air conditioning. The swimming pool closes a little early in our opinion. You'll need a car for spending time elsewhere, no shopping, bars or restaurants in the nearby area.

Staff
The hotel offers rides to the beach and are eager to help if traveling is a problem.
We had some good advice for sightseeing in the Southeast and East area of Sicily. Very friendly English speaking receptionists. Room (we had a junior suite) always cleaned well and nice. The staff work hard througout the day, although the temperatures where high. The waitresses where nice, one of them exceptional friendly, working hard and lots and still always smiling and English speaking.

Food
Nice breakfast, (ask for fresh orange juice!) and coffee, the lunch and dinner are among the best we had in Sicily. Really good food, a little high priced maybe but do eat at the restaurant at least once if you can. It's really worth it.

Overall
A great recommondation for this really nice place to discover Siracusa, the Southeast and East part of Sicily and relax at the same time.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Jonathan Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (408)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 408 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2014

We got a deal on booking.com for this hotel at a reasonable price, the majority of places in Syracuse were either full or too expensive. But we were definitely happy with our stay here. Its only a 10-15 minute drive to the bars and restaurants, so not a problem if you have a car. The entrance is captivating, a long tree lined gravel drive leading to a spanish villa style building. We had a spacious room, located at the rear of the hotel grounds in an enclosed area of 4 mini villas. The pool area is great, with separate sections for adults and kids set against a lovely backdrop.

The staff were very friendly and eager to help with any requests we had, although at certain times it was hard to locate them, usually in that siesta phase of day. The breakfast was fine, a decent spread each morning with lots of options to help yourself to. However we were disappointed with the one evening meal we had at the hotel. Frankly it was overpriced and suffered from that strange fancy style of under populating food, opting for style over taste or hunger satisfaction. I ordered ravioli, I counted five pasta pieces. Needless to say I went to bed hungry that night. So I recommend going into town for dinner. But everthing else was worth the stay.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chozz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We stayed here in June and it has everything a family needs. Great facilities. Great food and lots of it and everything is very clean. The staff always go out of thier way to help and they are alwyas on hand when you need them. Stay here safe in the knowledge that all will be fine. we will go there again next year.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CoastDelYana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Nice hotel including amazingly big botanical garden, very friendly, professional service and team. Located very close to Siracusa and to one of the nice beaches there. Recommended to all age categories

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Yanik M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We give top ratings to the hotel because the service was outstanding, especially Deborah (at the front desk) and Giorgio (works around property) who were very attentive. The hotel is under new management, and all are trying hard to please their guests. The location is about 10 minutes outside of Siracusa. The hotel graciously provided us transportation so we did not have to deal with the traffic (helped me relax) - dropped us off and picked us up. One of the best surprises was the restaurant - the chef is quite talented, and his shrimp gnocchi was one of the best dishes on our trip. When the hotel learned it was my daughter's 18 birthday, they prepared a cake with a candle. Very special.

The facility is nice, with beautiful grounds, though perhaps needs a bit of minor sprucing up (i.e. perhaps some new room furniture and repainting a wall here or there) - all expected with new management, and nothing that should deter anyone. The pool is really nice (photo attached) - I actually could swim laps. The young man working at the pool was very attentive and hustled. We had a hot tub in our room, which worked very well. The room was very quiet, with excellent sleep quality - we could awaken refreshed to really enjoy Siracusa.

We really appreciate the hospitality we were shown.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PS06840
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Booking.com didn't indicate the hotel hosts dogs. We visited over a weekend so there were a lot of locals staying with dogs who kept us awake barking all night. If you are scared of german shepherds and other huge dogs or your kids are reconsider. I love dogs but not barking all night.

The hotel was very run down and poorly maintained. I have added photos rather than add a long list of the ways the entire place is faded, grotty and depressing. We paid for a more expensive room with a useless grotty balcony with pot plants separating it from the next room and old metal furniture without cushions. The awful mezzanine was a waste of money.

In its day the resort would have been lovely but not now. If you get a very cheap deal it is ok.

Note no wifi in the rooms and most areas.

We liked the location as we had a car and didn't love Syracuse. When checking out we detailed suggestions to freshen the hotel.

Room Tip: A room away from any doggy visitors. Note there is no wifi in the rooms. Don't waste money on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Groovingonthemove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

My wife and I had stayed in centrally based hotels in Enna and Taormina, but for the Siracusa leg of our holiday we opted to stay at Hotel Caiammari, which is set in its own grounds roughly 20 minutes drive from Siracusa. It proved to be a really good decision. Siracusa is a great destination with incredibly interesting ancient and medieval history, but we appreciated waking up to the sound of birdsong, and a beautiful view from our balcony of the trees in the hotel grounds.

Firstly, the positives. The hotel is in a wonderful setting, and the quality of service was exceptional from Frederic in Reception (perfect English- spent a year working in Oxford), the charming waitresses, Jessica and Daniella, and a special thank you to the Hotel Chef who prepared a special meal for us on our final evening. The seafood soup was absolutely delicious, and the medley of fish for the main course was presented in a manner worthy of a Masterchef Finalist! The wine list is extensive and reasonably priced.

Secondly, the negatives. I believe the hotel changed ownership last year and it is very agreable, but it needs a bit more investment to bring it up to excellent standard. Our room was hugely spacious, but it didn't utilise the space as well as it could have done, and the only powerful reading light was above the desk, which made reading difficult. The TV had a bewildering number of channels, but all of them Italian- no BBC World, CNN, Sky News.

Overall, my rating is still "Very Good". We enjoyed our stay and would visit again. We spent 3 nights, but ideally you need 4 to fully appreciate all that Siracusa and its environs have to offer.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 3 on the first floor which had an Emperor sized bed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vic M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Syracuse hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Principe di Fitalia Wellness & SPA
1.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Minareto
Grand Hotel Minareto
#10 of 75 in Syracuse
1,294 reviews
2.9 mi away
Algila Ortigia Charme Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Politi
Grand Hotel Villa Politi
#9 of 75 in Syracuse
906 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Borgo Pantano
Hotel Borgo Pantano
#1 of 75 in Syracuse
1,205 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Il Parco
Hotel Il Parco
#14 of 75 in Syracuse
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Caiammari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Caiammari

Address: Via Daniele Impellizzeri -Contrada Isola Fanusa, 96100, Syracuse, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Syracuse > Syracuse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Syracuse
#7 Family Hotel in Syracuse
#7 Luxury Hotel in Syracuse
#12 Romantic Hotel in Syracuse
Price Range: £83 - £146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Caiammari 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a former noble residence, the Caiammari is an elegant 4-star hotel in eastern Sicily, 4 miles from Siracusa. The centuries-old botanical gardens feature an outdoor swimming pool.The spacious, airy rooms of Hotel Caiammari are elegantly furnished and feature wrought-iron beds, tiled floors and exposed wood beams on the ceilings. Each room offers air conditioning and a TV with satellite channels.The spa center is complete with sauna and jacuzzi outdoor pool . A range of massages and beauty treatments is also available.Hibiscus restaurant serves a fusion of Sicilian, Italian and international cuisine, including an exquisite selection of wines. The bar is famous for its cocktails, and the breakfast buffet includes fresh pastries.The hotel is half a mile from Arenella Beach. The staff can arrange shuttles to the heart of Siracusa and Catania Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Caiammari reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caiammari Hotel Syracuse
Hotel Caiammari Sicily/Syracuse, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing