We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value, excellent location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Posta

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Posta
Ranked #39 of 75 Hotels in Syracuse
Certificate of Excellence
Wellington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good value, excellent location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

A good informal hotel. Very clean and a good breakfast. Staff very friendly. Well situated just as you enter Ortigia. We had no trouble finding free parking nearby even in August. Room was a good size as was the bathroom. Walking distance to everything.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DevonRanger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    179
    78
    13
    6
See reviews for
45
173
23
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Forked River, New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

Although the Hotel Posta is not new, it is very quaint. The rooms are small, and the bathrooms smaller, and If you are expecting all the amenities & glitz of a 5 star hotel you will be disappointed. However, if you would like personal service, a delicious breakfast buffet and the melodic Italian way of life, then you will enjoy your stay. The hotel is situated within walking distance to a bus station, the beautiful Ionian Sea and many, many restaurants each offering delicious Italian food at very good prices. Beautiful music in the streets at night filled my ears and made me so happy and proud that I am of Italian descent. The Hotel Posta is centrally located in Ortigia and the staff could not have been more friendly. If I am ever lucky enough to return to Ortigia, I will not hesitate to book my stay at the Hotel Posta

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ciccina2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level Contributor
76 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

My Sicilian restaurateur friend had not heard of Ortigia. Neither had we until we reached this hotel full of charm, welcome, in early June. The buffet breakfast was good contrary to some posts. One needs to ask for a cappuccino coffee or tea but no bother to the lady. Very clean and again the staff pleasant. Our room was on the middle floor and was fine. Yes some parts of the room(s) need redecorating due to damp. I'm quite sure the owners will sort this in due course but don't forget this area is not well off and need all the custom they can get. The market is close by and is impressive including home made cheese and the welcome to show you how its done. Tuna steak to die for and elderly folk feeling smelling their potential purchases. Fresh fish and oysters in abundance. The restaurants recommended came up to proof and locally used. Internet could be free but is not too expensive Wifi is available and seems to work from what we could see. Obtained useful info on local bus transport which is close by. The terminus is next to the hotel but not to embark at. To see the temples etc do a two or three location holiday or hire a cire if you dare!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank buksang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2013

Pros:
- Excellent staff. Everyone spoke very good English. Both people at the desk bent over backwards to help.
- Very close to the free shuttle that goes to the main station.
- Excellent breakfast!
- Only $99/night

Cons:
- Free WiFi but we could rarely get a signal. They had a computer, which was nice, but they charged an hourly fee.
- Shower wasn't thoroughly cleaned from the last visitors. There was still a shampoo package on the shelf and hardened soap stuck to the door. Shower smelled of mildew and had some mold in the corners.
- Huge balls of dust hanging from the bedside lamp and in the corners of the wall.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vilnius, Lithuania
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2013

Location is really good to reach all necessary sites and most importantly it is in Ortigia island.
Simple standard room with all necessary amenities, however, the room was very small, dark and damp (April), though there was a conditions with heating function. This hotel has unusual double iron beds - not the best comfortable option.
There was a 5 star hotel construction just in front of our room, so no much possibility to open the window.
Breakfast OK.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diana Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelPosta, Proprietario at Hotel Posta, responded to this review, 21 June 2013
Google Translation
Gentile Cliente,
forse la sua camera non aveva un'ottima esposizione ma era anche la piu' economica per questo. Comunque sia lavoreremo sodo per migliorarci.
La aspettiamo a Siracusa e spero di poterla ospitare nelle nostre camere migliori
La Direzione
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norway
Level Contributor
250 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2012

We stayed for a night during our Sicily roundtrip in October. The hotel was easy to find, it was easy to park for free nearby. The staff was very nice and helpful. The room was huge and comfortable with nice historic atmosphere. We enjoyed our stay and would stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kleopetra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level Contributor
155 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2012

We paid 189 euro for 3 nights. This got us a room with aircon (essential in late October), a small balcony & satellite TV. Breakfast was included.

It's a great hotel for the money. It's comfortable, clean, simple and pleasant.

Here's a funny story though. Or is it? Next to the toilet there was a sign that said 'Please do not throw papers or absorbents down the toilet'. Or words to that effect. So we thought - 'oh it's like Greece' - and for our 3 day stay we *cough* just about managed to avoid the use of bogroll by taking *cough* deft advantage of the adjacent bidet. This involved maintaining a crouching stance whilst in transit between the thunderbox and the bidet after rockin the deuce.

But I've been reading the reviews of this hotel ..... and nobody else seems to have mentioned this. I'm now wondering if we misinterpreted the sign. Was it referring to newspapers and sanitary towels? At least we never left any soiled bogroll in the bin.

And I'm guessing that if we were right in not putting looroll down the toilet, this is an issue that is common to all hotels on Ortigia - it's down to the sewers and not the hotel itself. And the provision of a bidet kind of gets rid of the problem anyway, if you know what I mean.

Anyway - aside from this possible ambiguity our stay was fine. The Ortigia part of Syracuse is beautiful. And for what we got, this hotel was a steal.

We would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank misterpastry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Syracuse hotels
0.2 mi away
Residence Arco Antico
Residence Arco Antico
#31 of 75 in Syracuse
4.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
0.5 mi away
Residence Hotel Alla Giudecca
0.6 mi away
Royal Maniace Hotel
Royal Maniace Hotel
#13 of 75 in Syracuse
4.5 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Mercure Siracusa Prometeo
0.3 mi away
Grande  Albergo Alfeo
Grande Albergo Alfeo
#7 of 75 in Syracuse
4.5 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Mediterraneo
Hotel Mediterraneo
#47 of 75 in Syracuse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Posta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Posta

Property: Hotel Posta
Address: Via Trieste 33, 96100, Syracuse, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Syracuse > Syracuse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 75 Hotels in Syracuse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Posta 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Posta is situated in the splendid backdrop of the island of Ortygia, the historical centre of the city of Siracusa. The hotel looks over the small port and many of the bedrooms also have a panoramic view over the sea. This is an ideal location from which to visit all the local attractions such as the ancient market, Cathedral and Fonte Aretusa fountain. In addition, the hotel is also near to the bus station, meaning that it is easy to get around the city and make day trips to nearby places. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Posta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posta Hotel Syracuse
Hotel Posta Sicily/Syracuse, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing