We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Posta
Ranked #34 of 75 Hotels in Syracuse
Reviewed 25 January 2014

Great location near buses, looked out onto the markets and water each day. Staff friendly and extremely helpful when it came to information about syracuse- even rang up for us to book us into a puppet show which was very much appreciated (especially not speaking Italian). We enjoyed our stay it was reasonable in price, good comfortable facilities- would go again

Room Tip: rooms on the side over looking the bridge allow you to see the water & markets
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 44catherine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (410)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 410 reviews

Reviewed 11 January 2014

The rooms are spacious, and the bathroom is huge. Furniture is a little older but everything is clean and tidy. Very friendly staff. Breakfast is good. Near the hotel is big free parking lot and the local bus station.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Goran S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Hotel Posta is an okay hotel if you don't have high expectations. The room was cleanish except for the huge area covered in mould on the ceiling. The bathroom is ridiculously small and narrow, which makes it almost impossible to get into the shower without hitting your leg on the toilet.
Breakfast was okay, nothing special.
The location is quite good, very close to an area with lots of restaurants and bars (5-10 minutes walk).

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caroo635
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

A good informal hotel. Very clean and a good breakfast. Staff very friendly. Well situated just as you enter Ortigia. We had no trouble finding free parking nearby even in August. Room was a good size as was the bathroom. Walking distance to everything.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank DevonRanger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Although the Hotel Posta is not new, it is very quaint. The rooms are small, and the bathrooms smaller, and If you are expecting all the amenities & glitz of a 5 star hotel you will be disappointed. However, if you would like personal service, a delicious breakfast buffet and the melodic Italian way of life, then you will enjoy your stay. The hotel is situated within walking distance to a bus station, the beautiful Ionian Sea and many, many restaurants each offering delicious Italian food at very good prices. Beautiful music in the streets at night filled my ears and made me so happy and proud that I am of Italian descent. The Hotel Posta is centrally located in Ortigia and the staff could not have been more friendly. If I am ever lucky enough to return to Ortigia, I will not hesitate to book my stay at the Hotel Posta

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ciccina2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

My Sicilian restaurateur friend had not heard of Ortigia. Neither had we until we reached this hotel full of charm, welcome, in early June. The buffet breakfast was good contrary to some posts. One needs to ask for a cappuccino coffee or tea but no bother to the lady. Very clean and again the staff pleasant. Our room was on the middle floor and was fine. Yes some parts of the room(s) need redecorating due to damp. I'm quite sure the owners will sort this in due course but don't forget this area is not well off and need all the custom they can get. The market is close by and is impressive including home made cheese and the welcome to show you how its done. Tuna steak to die for and elderly folk feeling smelling their potential purchases. Fresh fish and oysters in abundance. The restaurants recommended came up to proof and locally used. Internet could be free but is not too expensive Wifi is available and seems to work from what we could see. Obtained useful info on local bus transport which is close by. The terminus is next to the hotel but not to embark at. To see the temples etc do a two or three location holiday or hire a cire if you dare!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank buksang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2013

Pros:
- Excellent staff. Everyone spoke very good English. Both people at the desk bent over backwards to help.
- Very close to the free shuttle that goes to the main station.
- Excellent breakfast!
- Only $99/night

Cons:
- Free WiFi but we could rarely get a signal. They had a computer, which was nice, but they charged an hourly fee.
- Shower wasn't thoroughly cleaned from the last visitors. There was still a shampoo package on the shelf and hardened soap stuck to the door. Shower smelled of mildew and had some mold in the corners.
- Huge balls of dust hanging from the bedside lamp and in the corners of the wall.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nancy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Syracuse hotels
0.3 mi away
Grande  Albergo Alfeo
Grande Albergo Alfeo
#11 of 75 in Syracuse
707 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Mediterraneo
Hotel Mediterraneo
#50 of 75 in Syracuse
209 reviews
0.3 mi away
Residence Arco Antico
Residence Arco Antico
#31 of 75 in Syracuse
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Royal Maniace Hotel
Royal Maniace Hotel
#17 of 75 in Syracuse
464 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Ortigia
Grand Hotel Ortigia
#16 of 75 in Syracuse
679 reviews
0.3 mi away
Domus Mariae Benessere
Domus Mariae Benessere
#26 of 75 in Syracuse
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Posta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Posta

Address: Via Trieste 33, 96100, Syracuse, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Syracuse > Syracuse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Syracuse
Price Range: £40 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Posta 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Posta is situated in the splendid backdrop of the island of Ortygia, the historical centre of the city of Siracusa. The hotel looks over the small port and many of the bedrooms also have a panoramic view over the sea. This is an ideal location from which to visit all the local attractions such as the ancient market, Cathedral and Fonte Aretusa fountain. In addition, the hotel is also near to the bus station, meaning that it is easy to get around the city and make day trips to nearby places. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, HostelWorld, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Posta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posta Hotel Syracuse
Hotel Posta Sicily/Syracuse, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing