We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very charming and well located”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Des Etrangers Hotel & Spa
Ranked #26 of 75 Hotels in Syracuse
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We had a great stay there.
The rooms are large. The place is historic and feels great.
Service was really nice.
Spa is a plus. It is clean.
The terrasse is a great place to admire the view, eat or have a drink.
It is really well located.
Charming.
The only downside was the sound from the street at night. But hey, this is part of the charm of Italy I suppose.

Room Tip: If you like the view, you got to like the noise. Even if it's not TOO bad.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kisskill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FCaselli, Direttore at Des Etrangers Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

Dear Guest
thank you so much for the time spent to write your opinion. We are happy you loved our rooms, our rooftop restaurant and you have appreciated our service and our central position. We work for your wellbeing so for us is a pleasure read when our client had a pleasant stay.

We hope to see you soon in Siracuse.

Francesco Caselli
Hotel Manager
Des Etrangers Hotel & SPA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,391)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

238 - 244 of 1,391 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2014

We stayed here for a wedding weekend and were delighted with Siracusa which is filled with exquisite old buildings, little alleyways and open squares, overlooking the sea on two sides of the narrow peninsula. The hotel did not feel like a 5 star. We were grateful to have booked a sea view room which had dual aspect French windows so you could lie in bed and see the sea in two directions! (Room 309) Room was spacious and even had another single bed in a separate part.
Walking from the entrance to the rooms is through a large rather bleak hall which smelled of chlorine from the spa, and you have to go down from your room and then up again to another part of the building for breakfast, which had a good selection. Our biggest gripe was no free internet in your room. It was in the lobby, and you need a new password every day. In today's world it should be included like water. Our car was taken to their own secured parking lot for 25 Euros a day, as there is apparently a risk of vandalism when parked on the street. There are cafes and the beach on the hotel's doorstep, as well as an aquarium. The location was perfect.

Room Tip: Ask for one with ocean views, and a corner room gives you two ocean views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank moscowgirl55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FCaselli, Direttore at Des Etrangers Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Dear Guest
thank you so much for the time spent to write your opinion. We are happy you loved our city and you have appreciated it also thanks our central position. About parking we can assure our service of discounted parking (who joins free pass and car valet service) it's to facilitate to parking in the Ortigia and not for a risk of vandalism on the street, no guest has ever had a similar problem! Our palace is an ancient building like others old and noble palaces of Ortigia so we comitt ourselves to make it as comfortable as possible for our guests. We work for your wellbeing so for us is a pleasure read when our client had a pleasant stay.

We hope to see you soon in Siracuse.

Francesco Caselli
Hotel Manager
Des Etrangers Hotel & SPA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We stayed in mid June with friends who had another double room with sea view next door. The hotel itself was fine, in a great location and the view of sunset across the bay was super. The rooftop bar was very relaxing with more good views. There was a strong smell of chlorine from the downstairs pool in the extension lobby but it didn't bother us too much so all was good until we tried to go to sleep.

I had noticed pigeon droppings on the balcony floor but hadn't realised the significance until 3 o'clock when woken by a loud and continuous cooing sound from the balcony. A pair of pigeons obviously live in an alcove above our balcony. Eventually I went to try to scare them away by rolling up balls of toilet paper to throw at them but to no avail. My partner had also been woken and was concerned I would overbalance and fall so came out to hold me in my efforts to shift them. So both of us were stark naked on the balcony at 4.30 in the morning. I have to say the view at dawn was magical but we would have appreciated it more without the noise of the pigeons which carried on all night. They also disturbed our friends in Room 105.

The next morning I complained at reception who agreed to tell the manager and comment when I checked out after breakfast - which was excellent, I have to say.

I got no sympathy, since the assistant manager claimed the pigeons were not the responsibility of the hotel despite my arguing that it is obvious they live there, that the hotel must have had other complaints and should have had the pigeons removed and prevented from returning.

After about ten minutes of toing and froing (with threats of a bad review on Trip Advisor) i finally extracted a 30% discount on the price of the two rooms. It really spoiled a lovely stay on a beautiful island.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FCaselli, Direttore at Des Etrangers Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Dear guest,
we are happy you have enjoyed all areas of our hotel: our roof toop bar e restaurant, our SPA and the view on the bay. We are sorry pigeons have decided to come to coo in your own balcony, we have never received a complaint like this, we solved the problem, but we are very sorry that guest use reviews like menace. We always commit ourselves to meet the needs of the customer and be professional and polite but we can not always say the same thing of customers.

Cordially

Francesco Caselli
Hotel Manager
Des Etrangers Hotel & SPA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We stayed for 2 nights in May as part of a Tauck Tour. The WiFi was included in our package and this worked in the foyer and lounge on the ground floor, we knew that it would not work in our room which was on the 4th floor.
As the elevator was small and slow we decided to use the grand marble staircase for walking up and down to our room. I accumulated many steps on my Fitbit doing this but not all people could cope with constantly climbing 8 large marble staircases. The breakfast room required going down the flights and going through an adjoining tunnel to the next building and then climbing more flights of stairs, so it was important to allow plenty of time (there was another elevator here too).
Our room had an excellent view of the water, however, in the bathroom, the shower was in the bath and there was just a plastic shower curtain. This would stick to you if you put it in the shower/bath, and, if you put it outside the bath the floor and toilet became covered in water. There was no drain in the floor, so we had to use numerous towels to clean up the flooding.
Also, the bath had a high side making it difficult to climb in and out of the bath safely.
We had difficulty flushing the toilet. It required force with the thumb in exactly the right place to make it work.
The staff were very good coping with keeping the bathroom in order and we thank them very much for arranging to have our laundry done.
Noise at night was a real problem. Outside is the meeting place for all the teenagers in Ortigia, especially on Friday and Saturday nights when we were there.
Above our room was the Roof Garden function room. We think there was a wedding necessitating the constant movement of chairs which kept us awake.
I walked the flight of stairs to the Roof Garden (5th floor level) the next day for a cup of tea. It has amazing views over the water, however, it gets very hot under the retractable style roof.
Service by the staff was very good.

Room Tip: High floors are further up from the outside noise, but not fourth floor due to chair movement from t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wandering59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FCaselli, Direttore at Des Etrangers Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Dear Guest
thank you so much for the time spent to write your opinion
we are happy you had enjoyed the view of our roof garden restaurant and the quality of our staff. We are sorry for your complaints, these days our hotel and Ortigia too have been very very busy so we apologize for the inconvenience of noise. About other remarks, your opinions are always an opportunity to improve our services and standards.

We hope to see you soon in Siracuse.

Francesco Caselli
Hotel Manager
Des Etrangers Hotel & SPA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We stayed at this hotel last summer for one night during a trip in Sicily. When we arrived there was absolutely no help in showing us where we could park our car and my husband had to figure out where the public parking was on his own, our room was in need of update and not really clean. When we asked to change room we were told the hotel was full and the person at the person at the reception was less than pleasant. This is not a five star hotel and during our trip we stayed in little family hotels that were more pleasant. This is a hotel that has seen better days.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank martine e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FCaselli, Direttore at Des Etrangers Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear Guest,

thank you for the time spent to write your opinion
We are sorry for your complaints about your stay of the last year, because your opinions are always an opportunity to improve our services and standards and we known the difficulty of parking in Ortigia island we can assure from this year we offer also a car valet service everyday, not only a suggestion about parking. Our cleaning service and our reception staff are always appreciated so we are sorry you didn’t like them.

We hope to see you again in Siracuse.

Francesco Caselli
Hotel Manager
Des Etrangers Hotel & SPA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

This hotel is located in a very desirable location for exploring. The indoor pool and spa was very enjoyable.the rooftop terrace was perfect for cocktail hour,dinner and just relaxing.
The hotel staff we found were very helpful and made us feel very welcome. I booked a room with water view and it was on target for making us feel quite special.
We would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lotstosee89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FCaselli, Direttore at Des Etrangers Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Dear Guest
thank you so much for the time spent to write your opinion. We are happy you loved our city and you have appreciated it also thanks our central position, our rooms with sea view and our staff too. We work for your wellbeing so for us is a pleasure read when our client had a pleasant stay.

We hope to see you soon in Siracuse and surely at our Roof Garden.

Francesco Caselli
Hotel Manager
Des Etrangers Hotel & SPA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

In my opinion Des etrangers Hotel is the best hotel at Siracusa. Hotel is in the heart of the old city, very close all the restaurants, jewish quarter, duomo (old catedral), Aretusa foutain ext.. hotel rooms large and comfortable, front side rooms have beatifull view, breakfast was delicious and staff were friendly especially to advicing of the restaurant.

Room Tip: Annex buildings rooms are larger than the main builing rooms, but meeting room is the ground floor o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank fusun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FCaselli, Direttore at Des Etrangers Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Dear Guest
thank you so much for the time spent to write your opinion. We are happy you loved our city and you have appreciated it also thanks our central position, our rooms with sea view and our staff too. We work for your wellbeing so for us is a pleasure read when our client had a pleasant stay.

We hope to see you soon in Siracuse.

Francesco Caselli
Hotel Manager
Des Etrangers Hotel & SPA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Syracuse hotels
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Ortigia
Grand Hotel Ortigia
#13 of 75 in Syracuse
693 reviews
0.4 mi away
Algila Ortigia Charme Hotel
0.2 mi away
Charme Hotel Henry's House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Antico Hotel Roma 1880
Antico Hotel Roma 1880
#3 of 75 in Syracuse
619 reviews
0.4 mi away
Domus Mariae Benessere
Domus Mariae Benessere
#25 of 75 in Syracuse
400 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Principe di Fitalia Wellness & SPA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Des Etrangers Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Des Etrangers Hotel & Spa

Address: Passaggio Adorno 10/12, 96100, Syracuse, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Syracuse > Syracuse
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Syracuse
#19 Romantic Hotel in Syracuse
#20 Luxury Hotel in Syracuse
Price Range: £99 - £245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Des Etrangers Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The magnificent neoclassical facade of the Des Etrangers Hotel & Spa dominates the harbour of Siracusa in Sicily, from its position on the island of Ortigia. This five-star historical hotel has the elegance and style typical of the grand European hotels and features refined balconies overlooking the sea. Step in style into the grand entrance hall and admire the precious marble floors, the stucco works and gold decor of the walls and high ceilings. This luxury hotel offers world class services in a unique environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Des Etrangers Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Des Etrangers Hotel Syracuse
Des Etrangers Hotel And Spa
Des Etrangers Et Miramare Hotel
Des Etrangers Hotel & Spa Sicily/Syracuse, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing