We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value city centre hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Antico Hotel Roma 1880
Ranked #4 of 75 Hotels in Syracuse
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent value city centre hotel”
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Terrific location. Very good size light, airy bedroom and efficient, modern, very clean bathroom. Both better than expected for a city centre hotel. Very helpful staff, especially the porter who rescued our car which we abandoned when we got lost in the one way system ! The hotel parking was a great bonus. An excellent value hotel compared with the other central hotels we considered. A really good "find". The breakfast room is dreary but you can sit outside in the square, which is delightful.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony overlooking the piazza.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

542 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    368
    140
    29
    5
    0
See reviews for
120
255
28
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 September 2013

We were very surprised about the quality of this hotel , the staff were extremely helpful. The location was fantastic. Our rooms where spacious and well serviced. Surrounded by some great restaurants and very friendly bars. This hotel really helped us enjoy Siracusa and I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janneane963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Lovely hotel, great location , which suited my group with ages ranging from 46 to 84. Staff just could not do enough to help. Breakfast was good, all the usual you would expect for a continental breakfast. Look forward to a return visit....

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

We really enjoyed this hotel. Helpful staff, well situated in the town near the main square and a great restaurant sitting out in the evening. Rooms were spacious but bathroom small but functional. Breakfast a bit hit and miss but they recommended some very nice restaurants for dinner.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnF5421IY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malta
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

This hotel is great for all those travelling to Ortigia (Siracusa). It has the best location possible, just next to Piazza Duomo, in Piazza Minerva. So it's close to all main attractions but also best restaurants in Ortigia. The decor needs a bit of an upgrade, but the staff are SUPER. Very caring and friendly. Would definitely return to this hotel and recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roberta C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siracusa
1 review
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Very nice hotel. Perfect stay, high service.
We parked our car just around the corner, the staff helped us. that was 10 euro ekstra pr. day.
All staf were very helpful.
The only thing that could have been better was breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Anne-mette R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 August 2013

This is the third time we have stayed in this hotel and again our stay was excellent.
The room was spacious, clean and very nicely appointed with deluxe linens and comfortable bed.
Air conditioning works great.
Location is excellent directly on the main square and surprisingly quiet.
Staff are attentive and very helpful. I also like that they provide a computer for guests to check their email.
Breakfast is superb and you can sit outside and watch the square come to life. Price reflects good value for this quality of accommodation.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 88tra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Syracuse hotels
0.2 mi away
Algila Ortigia Charme Hotel
0.3 mi away
Charme Hotel Henry's House
2.8 mi away
Hotel Parco delle Fontane
Hotel Parco delle Fontane
#5 of 75 in Syracuse
4.5 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Ortigia
Grand Hotel Ortigia
#14 of 75 in Syracuse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 591 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hotel Borgo Pantano
Hotel Borgo Pantano
#1 of 75 in Syracuse
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,102 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grande  Albergo Alfeo
Grande Albergo Alfeo
#9 of 75 in Syracuse
4.5 of 5 bubbles 649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antico Hotel Roma 1880? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antico Hotel Roma 1880

Property: Antico Hotel Roma 1880
Address: Via Roma 66 | Island of Ortigia, 96100, Syracuse, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Syracuse > Syracuse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Syracuse
#5 Business Hotel in Syracuse
#12 Family Hotel in Syracuse
#17 Romantic Hotel in Syracuse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Antico Hotel Roma 1880 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, ACCOR, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Antico Hotel Roma 1880 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roma Hotel Syracuse
Antico Hotel Roma 1880 Sicily/Syracuse, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing