We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Place to Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Antico Hotel Roma 1880
Ranked #3 of 75 Hotels in Syracuse
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Great hotel, perfect location, staff very friendly and helpful, concierge's suggestions excellent - found great guide for us on short notice. Hotel clean, neat and well maintained.
Suggest improve breakfast using excellent market produce in Ortigia market, and make an organized display of tours and tourist sites in the lobby for visitors to use. These are minor details about an otherwise wonderful hotel. We would stay there again.
Bob Wells

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (615)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

272 - 278 of 615 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2014

This place couldn't be better located. It is very central. Although there is quite a walk to get off the island. Nice, basic rooms. Comfortable beds. Small shower in very colorful bathroom. Nice breakfast.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bgcglaze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

If your plan is to stay in Siracusa's historic Ortigia, the best choice of a full-service hotel is the Antico Hotel Roma 1880. Situated in a restored palazzo, the hotel's immaculate rooms, attentive and competent staff, excellent free WiFi, and robust included breakfast, combined with its central location, add up to great value for the price. Valet parking is available for a fee. Front desk staff, led by Sofia and Enzo, are well-versed in customer relations in several languages. The main cathedral and other touristic sites are a few steps away, as is the waterfront. Cafes and restaurants abound in the area, and the staff will make recommendations that include the hotel's own very good dining establishment. Within a few minutes' walk are the main shopping areas and markets, and the primary archeological sites are all within walking distance or a short cab drive away. Staying at the Antico Hotel Roma will add satisfaction and value to your Sicilian vacation or business trip.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikeBA46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Warm and welcoming waitress. Smiles even in the early a.m. Food was very good. A stone's throw to the Archimedes museum--do not miss THAT! Enjoyable hotel in Ortigia. The Greek Theater there isi awesome.

Room Tip: A long walk from the coach parking lot....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ODYSSEUS-NC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlfioSettembre, Direttore at Antico Hotel Roma 1880, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Dear guest,

thanks for your positive comment on our staff and hotel,

In our judge i notice you gave us 2 points out of 5 for "position"

That sound really strange for me as our position is one of our success key points.

We are in the center of the center of Ortigia's Island , side by side with the city's main and most beautiful Church and square. and our position ir recognize to be one of the best.

Even if we are in the historical center, the hotel is accessible by car, it's not difficult to find a parking place. Nearby (50 meter) the hotel there is a parking at the cost of 12 euro per night, alternatively you can use one of our free passes.

Hoping to have you back us our guests,

best regards

Alfio Settembre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

This hotel is perfect in every way: location, staff, rooms and overall service. We would definitely stay here again without considering any other hotels.

The hotel really is right next to a Greek temple (or at least its remains) because it adjoins the Duomo and forms part of the UNESCO World Heritage site in the centre of Ortigia. All the surrounding space, therefore, has very little traffic. You can eat fabulous breakfasts outside, on the Via Minerva, people-watching, enjoying the sun and drinking excellent coffee. It is perfectly located for all sorts of restaurants in Ortigia, as well as the lovely Gran Caffè del Duomo, just around the corner.

All the staff, whatever their role, maintain exactly the right blend of formality and friendliness, so the hotel feels very comfortable. The staff at reception (staffed 24 hours) speak very good English and are extremely helpful.

Communication facilities are excellent. There is free Wi-Fi, a computer (which rarely seemed busy) in the lounge area, and free [Yes, free] phone calls from your room to landlines in Europe and beyond.

Our room had plenty of space, was meticulously clean and the lighting was excellent. Beds, pillows and bed linen were perfect. We heard no noise at all from other rooms and only occasional footsteps in the corridor.

If you are flying into Catania and making your way to Ortigia, it is definitely worth booking a taxi, through the hotel, and being brought right to the door.

This is simply the loveliest hotel in Syracuse.

Room Tip: The hotel is aware that rooms 309, 310 and 311 are affected by air-conditioning noise from the main...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roscommon53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlfioSettembre, Direttore at Antico Hotel Roma 1880, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Dear Guest (due to privacy reason i won't write your name),

what to say ? Thanks for all of your words and enthusiastic comments.

You let us feel as we reach the top of our work in customer's satisfaction.

We all hope to have you back as our guests and if we should ever advertise you could be our best testimonial.

Best regards

Alfio Settembre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Antico Hotel Roma is a very nice establishment. The building is very well kept, the rooms are spacious, clean with all the comforts. Some of them have balconies and face Piazza Minerva, which is the side square of the gorgeous main cathedral. The hotel is literally minutes (or seconds in the case of the cathedral) away from all the major attractions. Ortigia, the old part of town, is surrounded by water, as soon as you leave the hotel you can walk left or right and in few minutes you reach the sea. It is close to many excellent restaurants. The hotel staff is courteous and helpful. Parking could be a big problem because you are in the heart of the old town. Last but not least...the price is right.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tobias54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Staying at the Hotel Roma on Ortigia was a fantastic time. The charm of the hotel compliments the charm of the city. Great location near the piazza. The staff were responsive, friendly and most of all proud of the hotel! We'll certainly return.

Steve Veale

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Syracuse hotels
0.2 mi away
Algila Ortigia Charme Hotel
0.3 mi away
Charme Hotel Henry's House
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Ortigia
Grand Hotel Ortigia
#18 of 75 in Syracuse
674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Hotel Borgo Pantano
Hotel Borgo Pantano
#1 of 75 in Syracuse
1,211 reviews
1.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Minareto
Grand Hotel Minareto
#9 of 75 in Syracuse
1,306 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Principe di Fitalia Wellness & SPA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antico Hotel Roma 1880? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antico Hotel Roma 1880

Address: Via Roma 66 | Island of Ortigia, 96100, Syracuse, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Syracuse > Syracuse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Syracuse
#5 Business Hotel in Syracuse
#12 Family Hotel in Syracuse
#17 Romantic Hotel in Syracuse
Price Range: £126 - £209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Antico Hotel Roma 1880 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Antico Hotel Roma 1880 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roma Hotel Syracuse
Antico Hotel Roma 1880 Sicily/Syracuse, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing