We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Room with a view”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Antico Hotel Roma 1880
Ranked #4 of 75 Hotels in Syracuse
Certificate of Excellence
Mt Martha, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Room with a view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

I stayed at the Hotel Roma for 5 weeks last year. By the time I left the staff were my friends and I couldn't thank them enough for their kindness, knowledge and willingness to help make my holiday a truly wonderful experience.
As a solo traveller, I found this hotel was in a perfect spot for exploring Ortigia from early morning until late at night.
I hope to return soon. Tina.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view overlooking the ocean. It's a bit noisy, but enjoy watching the spe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlfioSettembre, Direttore at Antico Hotel Roma 1880, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Tina, we all at Antico Hotel Roma 1880 , remember about you and your kindness.

We have been your "home" for 5 weeks and you have been part of our "family" for all that time.

I'm happy you still get in touch with us and take your time to review the hotel even after such a long time.

Hope to see you back again very soon.

regards

Alfio and all the staff (expecially Elisa)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

519 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    351
    135
    29
    4
    0
See reviews for
109
248
28
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
kigali
Level Contributor
254 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

The. Rooms were spacious albeit not a big fan of peach, the staff are very helpful, you have a little balcony to step out onto and breakfast is good. The best thing is the location right next to the duomo and all the restaurants and shops.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank anuka9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights in order to accomadate the setup for an art show that was being staged just down the street for Catherine Carilli. Besides the location which is wonderful in terms of being in the heart of things, the staff at the front desk went beyond the call of duty in helping communicate with our Italian shipper when things got held up at customs.

If you are looking for a good run, head out the hotel and go to the right, and down Via Roma to the sea wall which you can follow if you keep going right around the entire island. There is a brief section where you cut across the area near the bridges, to reach the other side past the morning market to reach the sea wall again, keep right and return up Via Roma. Go earlier in the morning before the traffic comes into town, and you can almost have the whole roadway to yourself.

Room Tip: We got moved to a Junior suite in order to extend our stay another night, and while the room was big...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

There aren't many hotels adjacent to an ancient temple which is now a fabulous Duomo, but this is one of them. Nothing too much trouble for the staff, the building is quirky and fascinating, the bedrooms comfortable and spotlessly clean. Everyone was molto gentile! Siracusa is absolutely stunning especially for any student of the Baroque. We went to a performance of Agamemnon at the Greek Theatre arranged by the efficient hotel staff by email before our arrival, they also arranged our airport transfer which was good value for money. We went for a day's expedition to Noto, by bus, you do need to know a bit about the bus service to do this. Noto is equally amazing but stay away from the L'Opera cafe where the service was appalling. Opposite the hotel is Victoria's bakery which we used every day, they do amazing takeaways, savoury and sweet, and the food is good. Favourite meal was at the vegetarian restaurant, Le Comari, not far from the hotel. Would return in an instant! The outdoor food market is NOT to be missed.

Room Tip: We had a room overlooking the Via Roma and loved its bustle, you might try for a room overlooking th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

I spent one night at this hotel before co-directing a two-week tour of Sicily, which included 3 nights in Syracuse. Next year my entire group will spend all of its nights at the Hotel Roma. Location is fantastic--in the middle of the island, right next to the Piazza Duomo, a short walk to anyplace on Ortigia. Amenities were excellent. Staff was super-friendly. Room was spotlessly clean.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Randy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

This is a lovely hotel in a perfect location. The hotel is very comfortable and well-run with a helpful and pleasant staff. Best of all is that you are in the center of Ortygia with the cathedral and main piazza around the corner and everything within walking distance. And this is a wonderful area to walk around and savor all the delights of this ancient city.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steamboat Springs, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

Beautiful, classy hotel with spacious, comfortable accomodations. Within walking distance to everything in Ortygia. The staff could not have been more gracious. Wifi was free and worked well, without passwords. The use of bicycles was also free and great fun to cruise around Ortygia on bike.

Room Tip: The suite on the top floor was fabulous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary Ann N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Syracuse hotels
0.2 mi away
Algila Ortigia Charme Hotel
0.3 mi away
Charme Hotel Henry's House
2.8 mi away
Hotel Parco delle Fontane
Hotel Parco delle Fontane
#5 of 75 in Syracuse
4.5 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Ortigia
Grand Hotel Ortigia
#14 of 75 in Syracuse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hotel Borgo Pantano
Hotel Borgo Pantano
#1 of 75 in Syracuse
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,078 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grande  Albergo Alfeo
Grande Albergo Alfeo
#7 of 75 in Syracuse
4.5 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antico Hotel Roma 1880? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antico Hotel Roma 1880

Property: Antico Hotel Roma 1880
Address: Via Roma 66 | Island of Ortigia, 96100, Syracuse, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Syracuse > Syracuse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Syracuse
#5 Business Hotel in Syracuse
#12 Family Hotel in Syracuse
#17 Romantic Hotel in Syracuse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Antico Hotel Roma 1880 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Antico Hotel Roma 1880 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roma Hotel Syracuse
Antico Hotel Roma 1880 Sicily/Syracuse, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing