We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel in Prime location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Antico Hotel Roma 1880
Ranked #3 of 75 Hotels in Syracuse
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 August 2014

My wife and I, along with our two kids, 10 & 7, stayed 3 nights at this hotel last week. We stayed in room 115 which was a 2 story room, the upstairs had a double bed and half-bath, and a sofabed and full bed on the first floor. The room was very spacious and had a balcony overlooking Via Roma. Their breakfast was good and they were in a prime location, right around the corner from Piazza Duomo. We had a rental car and this hotel has a parking lot available at 12 EUR a day with unlimited in/out. It was well worth the cost since we used it to be able to drop it off at the front door sine Ortigia is a small area with lots of one ways on narrow streets. Parking is at a premium and if you are not familiar with driving in Sicily, which I wasn't - one mistake and you are driving in a circle for 15 minutes through narrow one way streets to get back to where you wanted to be. If you decide to park at the public lots, it is a lot cheaper but you will have about a 5-10 minute walk to get to the hotel. You can drive right up to the front of the hotel and they will take care of the car for you. If you want to use your car, you just need to give them an hour's notice although our experience was that the car was ready much sooner than that. We would definitely stay again when we revisit the area.

Room Tip: Our quad room #115 was two stories and had a balcony overlooking Via Roma.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 716MikeM1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (619)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

246 - 252 of 619 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2014

We stayed one night in Syracuse and are so pleased we decided to stay at this hotel in Ortigia, its a fantastic location being walking distance around the whole island and backing onto the Piazza Duomo.
We drove to Syracuse- be warned the one way system around the island is confusing but once we found the hotel they were very good and took the car to park for us (I think this cost 12 Euros but can't 100% remember but it wasn't expensive!) they have an underground car park that they parked it in for us and then went to get it again the next day which took away some stress as driving in Sicily is an interesting experience!
The rooms were large and clean with good air conditioning which is a must in Sicily in August!
We stayed on Assumption Day which is an Italian bank holiday so it was quite busy on the island so we decided to eat in the hotel restaurant as everywhere else was fully booked. The restaurant wasn't very busy but unfortunately the staff weren't very attentive and we felt rather neglected, never being able to get the waiters attention to order. When the food finally arrived it was quite nice but not worth the wait!
I would definitely stay at this hotel again but perhaps just not eat in the restaurant, if you're lucky enough to be visiting Ortigia I would recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank EClark81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

I am fortunate enough to have a business that has me travelling the world for about 6 months of every year for the past 20 years. Subsequently, I have stayed at many of the best hotels in the world including many outstanding boutique hotels. In June, my wife and I and another couple where on holidays in Syracuse and came upon Antico Hotel via Tripadvisor. We didn't have a booking and the hotel only had one room available so the receptionist, Laura, went to work shuffling reservations with their sister hotel around the corner and found a way to accommodate us. I can honestly say that Laura is probably the best and most helpful receptionist I have ever encountered in my travels. A truly beautiful young lady with a friendly yet very professional demeanour which makes the customer feel very special.

Laura found two very suitable rooms for us which were spacious and clean and we spent the next few days enjoying the facilities and the service of the wonderful staff of the hotel. We will definitely stay at this hotel again.

Tim

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Timothy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

This hotel is fantastic, right in the middel of Ortiga the old town, staff are extremely friendly and serviceminded. Food both breaktfast and dinner are very very good. Clean rooms, good wifi (free), cosy courtyard for relaxing and sun+drinks. 500m walk and you have 2 lovely beaches.....I will really recommend Syracuse/Ortigia as a must visit in Sicily and Hotel Roma as a must stay.....

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lars T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Really enjoyed this hotel. The rooms were large, clean, and upscale - a true four star; the location was incredibly convenient for walking around the old town. The staff were kind and welcoming - and spoke at least Italian, English, French and Spanish - and the hotel had little pamphlets in English to supplement the guidebook. Also breakfasting in the piazza in the cool of the morning is a delightful way to begin the day. I'd recommend NOT driving into Ortigia; like many old parts of any city, the roads are narrow and often closed to autos (which makes it nice for pedestrians). We rented a car within walking distance on the mainland upon our departure from Siracusa.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank cmk000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Antico Hotel Roma was a great place to stay in Ortigia. You are right in the middle of the old city. The staff were very helpful, right from my first email, letting us know about car parking, the directions provided worked perfectly and the staff made us feel really welcome. Every request (including for an iron which hotels in Italy are not allowed to put in the rooms) was met with a smile and lots more advice. The night we arrived they told is of a wonderful restaurant and what a great recommendation it was, outstanding. The breakfast was excellent and the outside area on the piazza was so lovely.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank SCalvert2708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We stayed 4 nights in this hotel and enjoyed it immensely. The staff was friendly and accommodating. The rooms were large and airy as were the bathrooms. I would suggest asking for rooms on the piazza side. The only downside is that it happens to be quite noisy if you open the windows at night. So better stay closed in with A/C. Breakfast buffet was quite expansive although it would be nice if instead of commercially prepared sweets from Bindi they made use of either their kitchen or a local bakery. We used the garage service which was conveniently located by the hotel although 12 euros a night which I guess for a hotel in a city is not crazy expensive. You don't need a car as you can walk everywhere but we did many day trips to local beaches so it was a must.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Roberta1307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Syracuse hotels
0.2 mi away
Algila Ortigia Charme Hotel
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Ortigia
Grand Hotel Ortigia
#13 of 75 in Syracuse
693 reviews
0.3 mi away
Charme Hotel Henry's House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Hotel Borgo Pantano
Hotel Borgo Pantano
#1 of 75 in Syracuse
1,215 reviews
1.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Minareto
Grand Hotel Minareto
#9 of 75 in Syracuse
1,314 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Principe di Fitalia Wellness & SPA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antico Hotel Roma 1880? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antico Hotel Roma 1880

Address: Via Roma 66 | Island of Ortigia, 96100, Syracuse, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Syracuse > Syracuse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Syracuse
#5 Business Hotel in Syracuse
#11 Family Hotel in Syracuse
#17 Romantic Hotel in Syracuse
Price Range: £100 - £221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Antico Hotel Roma 1880 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Antico Hotel Roma 1880 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roma Hotel Syracuse
Antico Hotel Roma 1880 Sicily/Syracuse, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing