We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Hotel Great Location for City & Bus and Train Stations”
Review of Hotel Mediterraneo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Mediterraneo
Ranked #46 of 75 Hotels in Syracuse
North East England
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel Great Location for City & Bus and Train Stations”
Reviewed 6 August 2011

Very nice room.
Polite helpful staff.
great location near to the bus station and train stations (5 mins walk)
10 minute walk to old city. 10 mins in the other direction to historic sites.
Great breakfast with cakes, breads, cheeses, meats etc and fresh coffee.
Very clean hotel with good powerful shower and comfy beds

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stanley_Darsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    87
    38
    14
    8
See reviews for
44
88
8
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Westhampton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2011

We stayed at the Hotel Mediterraneo for 2 nights and recommend it highly. Parked right outside and didn't worry about the car for the duration. The hotel makes creative use of a small space, with lovely marble stairs leading to multiple levels (there's an elevator, too.) Great breakfast. The helpful staff directed us to outstanding restaurants. Our main reason for visiting Siracusa was to attend the Greek Theater Festival. This hotel is within walking distance of all the sights: the archeological park in one direction, and lively Ortigia and the waterfront in the other.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kdbanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2011

don't be put off by the slightly tired and scruffy surroundings; all syracuse looks that way. the room i had was spacious and clean, and everything worked- not a given in sicily! bathroom spacious too and plenty of hot water for shower. reception was good, friendly and helpful, including a very useful detailed map of all you might want to see. there was courtesy tea and coffee in room, and tv had sat channels. breakfast plentiful and in pleasant room. this was much the best hotel i stayed in in sicily and excellent value at the price.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank titup2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brasilia, DF
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2010

Great location close to Ortigia , large and clean rooms, comfortable beds, friendly personal and perfect management : in the morning I reported a problem with the shower and when I came back in the afternoon, it had been changed for a brand new and modern one.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Betha_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
44 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2010

We stayed at this hotel at the end of a bicycle tour in September of 2010. The location is not in attractive part of Siracusa, however it has the advantage of being only a 20 minute walk from Ortigia (the old City) and a like distance from the archaeological area.
The staff members in the hotel were very helpful and extremely accommodating. However, the hotel itself is very poorly maintained. Our room, though a very good size had old and beaten up furniture. The shower head did not stay in position and kept falling down to spray on the wall. There was no water pressure and there was insufficient hot water. The air conditioning was ineffective to the point that the staff allowed it to run while we were out touring. However, this still did not provide us with a comfortable temperature. The elevator did not have sides with the result that our suitcases were scraped by the elevator housing before we realized that we had to move them to the center of the elevator. The breakfast was very basic with the usual breads and sweets, very little fruit and no cereals.
We thought that this hotel really did not warrant 3 stars because of the poor maintenance.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pietro65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marclen, Direttore generale at Hotel Mediterraneo, responded to this review, 4 November 2010
Dear Mr. Pietro,

Thank you for your opinion about our Hotel on TripAdvisor. We are pleased to receive messages, good or not, from guests who spent someday of their holidays in Siracusa in our Hotel and we use to kindly reply to close our cycle of welcoming and hospitality.
We always ask our guest to leave a feedback because our purpose is to improve, always, our services and offer the best we can to our present and future guests. So we need even your help to understand where we need to change.

About your kind message we point you that the location of our hotel is far only 200 metres from Ortigia bridge, 5/10 minutes by feet, which is almost the same distance to the archaeological area.
As concerns the maintenance of our rooms, we think that nothing is missing in them considering a 3 stars Italian ranking (Satellite TV, air conditioning (hot/cold), Tea/Coffèe set in each room, hair dryer, telephone with external line, very wide rooms (despite almost all hotel), breakfast service in room, free wireless internet connection in all the hotel, the half of our room have a sea view of the Big harbour that in a few months will become the biggest tourist harbour for yachts in eastern Sicily (so now there is something not good to see outside…..due to the works in progress for the tourist harbour).
Moreover I want to point out the our furnitures are in a traditional Mediterranean style, but this is very different from ‘old’……..
Our hotel was first built in 2003 (restructuring a little historical building of the beginning of the 20th century) and then almost all renovated in 2008.

Regarding the shower, we have replaced them with new ones in all our rooms. It’s something we can not do every year and we appreciate you wrote this so we could well check the conditions of all our showers and so change them.
Unfortunately the hot water and its pressure was insufficient because, during the days you have been our guests, all our part of the city has had problems with SAI8 (the company providing water to all the city) due to works in progress to renovate the structures of our zone. These problems started 2/3 days before you arrived and ended (fortunately) just 1 day after your check out. We are really sorry you had this bad experience.

Moreover, the air conditioning system has been fixed (even thanks to your advice) and the elevator has got no sides because it is not a lift and has got one-opening to go in and out. For safety reasons and considering the difficulties we have with Italian security laws, we couldn’t replace the elevator with a new one until now. In 2011 we will solve the administrative problems so to replace it with a newer one.

Furthermore, as concerns breakfast, our hotel offers a varied breakfast menu in buffet style.
Our buffet is long more the 4 metres (!!!!) and we try always to offer the more different dishes we can (american, continental, etc….), considering that our guests come from all over the world and, obviously, they all have different tastes….

Since our opening in 2003, we have had more than 30.000 guests and we just had a few bad feedbacks about our breakfast (maybe about the 0,003% of our guests……) but, believe me, we are really disappointed and sorry to not have given you something you could really appreciate……even considering that our staff can always offer our guests something desired if asked.

Thank you again for your feedback about our services and its quality.
Be sure we will use it to improve our services.

Best Regards.

Claudio Costa
Direction
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2009

good location just a few minutes from the train station and about a 10 minute walk to Ortygia. Our room was quite plain with a balcony that was enclosed by walls and overlooked nothing. The bath was clean and OK, the room was quiet and the A/C worked better than any other in our 3 week trip. The photos of the hotel on various web sites - hotel.com, etc - are very well staged photos. The actual hotel is just as shown in the pictures, only MUCH smaller and MUCH, MUCH darker. Breakfast is very limited and simple. the walk to Ortygia is through a part of town that isn't very appealing - and after dark we took a taxi. However, the woman at the front desk was very helpful and made us feel very welcome. For the quality of the hotel, the location and the services, I think it's a bit pricey.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank riverparkgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2008

Hotel is located only 10 walking minutes away from Ortigia (main attraction). Although the surroundings are not very nice the hotel itself is pretty well maintained and clean, actually, I understand that it was recently refurbished. We had a quadruple room that was very spacious and comfortable but not luxurious.

The staff is very friendly and helpful. Breakfast is good, they have real coffee (capucino and/or expressos) offered to you and a reasonable variety of bread, cheese, yogurts and ham.

Internet is available for a small charge.

The vicinity is a bit noisy, but generally speaking Italy is like that..

We have small kids and felt welcome and well received.

I would recommend this hotel should you are looking for a decent, authentic and clean place to stay, conveniently located in the proximity of areas of interest (although not in the middle of them).

  • Liked — The proximity to interest places
  • Disliked — Partially the vecinity
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank IvanV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Syracuse hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Posta
Hotel Posta
#39 of 75 in Syracuse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Como
Hotel Como
#44 of 75 in Syracuse
3.5 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Archimede
Hotel Archimede
#55 of 75 in Syracuse
3.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Residence Arco Antico
Residence Arco Antico
#30 of 75 in Syracuse
4.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Le Muse
Hotel Le Muse
#49 of 75 in Syracuse
3.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grande  Albergo Alfeo
Grande Albergo Alfeo
#9 of 75 in Syracuse
4.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mediterraneo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mediterraneo

Property: Hotel Mediterraneo
Address: Via Tripoli 40, 96100, Syracuse, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Syracuse > Syracuse
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 75 Hotels in Syracuse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mediterraneo 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Mediterraneo *** is a small and comfortable hotel located in a very central area of the city, just a few meters away the enchanting and historic center of Syracuse, Ortigia island, is simply reachable just walking 4/5 minutes. The central location allows even to simply reach the shopping area of the city as well as to enjoy the principal city services. The Central Railway Station is far just 400 meters and the Central Bus Terminal of Siracusa is far just 200 meters. The area is then served to all major services and amenities such as bars, restaurants, gardens, public car parks as well as guarded parking, paying a fee. At only 50 meters from the Hotel you can even find the main bus stop of line 1 of electric minibuses which connect you to the full heart of the historical center. Just a trip of 4/5 minutes. All our rooms offer accommodation for at least 2 guests, free WiFi connection, some rooms have a balcony with sea views, all rooms provide flat screen TV 32 ", private safe, air conditioning, courtesy services to the bathroom. It's possible, when available, to park for free in the spaces reserved for our guests, just in front the Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Mediterraneo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mediterraneo Hotel Syracuse
Hotel Mediterraneo Sicily/Syracuse, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing