We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel, Good Location in a Great City”
Review of Hotel Mediterraneo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Mediterraneo
Ranked #47 of 74 Hotels in Syracuse
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel, Good Location in a Great City”
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

Had a nice stay here in this friendly hotel with character. Room was nice and clean although the shower head hanger was broken. Staff were friendly and the breakfast fairly standard for Sicilian Hotels.
Free wifi available but like everywhere in Sicily it seems to go missing for the occasional 10 minute spell.
The location is great as although it's not on the Island of Ortigia, it's only a 10 minute walk there and there are loads of great places between here and the bridge, offering better value (Angelina's Bakery particularly recomended). It's also about a 20 minute walk to the Teatro Greco (Greek theatre) and other ruins. Bus/train station is 5 minutes walk.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank MSE1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    91
    39
    14
    8
See reviews for
48
89
9
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

I have never stayed in such a noisy hotel, internal noise that is. The hotel is tiny , inside its like a house that has had floors/ceilings removed to transform open areas for a reception area. This results in noise travelling upwards easily. I think its popular with young students as its so cheap, and no staff asked them to keep the noise down.it also seemed that someone living in the hotel had continuing coughing fits day and night. The staff were friendly and helpful to us when we needed anything but we were disappointed in general with this little place . We spent a day with no hot water. it all seemed very " Hit and Miss " ...basic beds , basic un ironed bedding ..That said , it was very cheap to stay there and seemed clean enough.

Room Tip: Thats anyones guess at how to get a good room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaceez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
269 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

I think we must have stayed at a different hotel to the one reviewed by other travelers, as we found this little hotel to be mediocre and over-priced. The air conditioner was noisy, the shower varied temperature and pressure whilst having a shower, and the walls were so thin we could hear coughing from the next room.

It was a bonus to have tea/coffee making facilities in the room and to have a small balcony.

The young man at reception when we arrived after traveling all day was very friendly, but no offer was made to carry our luggage up the stairs.

Breakfast was the usual, but nothing particularly tasty.

Room Tip: There are other hotels around the train station to choose from
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HelenRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTELMEDITERRANEO798, Direttore at Hotel Mediterraneo, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your opinion, we are sorry that your stay was not good in our structure
(like 80% of our guests who have left a level of judgment 'VERY GOOD' and 'exellent ' to date),
I wanted to inform you that if you had asked, Our staff would be happy to provide the service of welcome, as has always been and would have simply used the freight elevator (it is only 2 meters from the reception) to carry your luggage up to your room.

As for the breakfast we offer to our customers a lot of variety, trying to satisfy all tastes, obviously different, given that we have the pleasure of hosting thousands of tourists every year. That is why our buffet includes croissants, homemade cakes, fruit, yogurt of various types, salty dishes for breakfast such as ham, cold cuts in general, cheese, various types of beverages, etc, etc .....

Our hotel is subject to periodic maintenance in order to guarantee the maximum comfort to our guests. Even the air conditioning is always perfectly controlled with continuous replacement of machines when noisy or inefficient.

Imagine your room was one of those to which we have recently renovated the facility of air conditioning.

All our delightful hotel is in a very recent building of complete and overall restructuring according to the law, as then our partition walls between the various rooms and in general the various environments.

We therefore do not share the observation about the lack of privacy between a room and the other.
However, we hope to have you back as our guest, maybe in other room .

we are sure that will change opinion on the overall quality of our hotel as has already held 80% of those who have appreciated our hospitality and services offered ...


Best Regards
Direction Hotel Mediterraneo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We stayed five nights in July and found it to be very accommodating and friendly.

The bedroom was spacious, lots of room and plenty of storage, there was a little noise from the street but not enough to disturb us. Their was a good air conditioning unit that wasn't too noisy (we don't need air conditioning units in the UK so I tend to find them noisy and impossible to ignore) and I was able to ignore the noise. I didn't use the TV so can't comment but our room did have a fridge and there was plenty of room for additional items.

For breakfast there was a large choice depending on your own preferences. So, cereals, a selection of fruit and yoghurt, cold meats and cheeses and many types of bread/ croissants etc. Plus tea, coffee, water and fresh juice.

Staff were lovely, very helpful and friendly. The young lady on reception suggested a few places for us to visit (and recommended a restaurant and a gelateria that were superb).

Finally, when I get the chance to return to Syracuse I would be very happy to make a repeat booking here.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marshypops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Hotel Mediterraneo is like Siracusa, small and cozy. Rooms and pretty spacious, with good bathrooms, and pretty clean. We have a small probelm with the air conditioning, but it was fixed in a couple of ours.. Its location is very good, close to the train station and a few blocks from the main street and Isola Ortiga and its middle age flavour. It's also relatively close to the Archeological Park and its extraordinary collection of ancient Greece artifacts.
The buffet breakfast is quite good.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Edgardo1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampere
1 review
Reviewed 28 January 2013

We stayed three nights at the Mediterraneo. This is a nice small hotel within walking distance of the old town of Ortygia, and we enjoyed our stay at the hotel very much. Our room was spotless clean, and the staff was friendly. The hotel manager even arranged especially for us a very early breakfast when we had to leave for the airport. Overall, this hotel is very good value for money.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Taivaalla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 10 December 2012

We chose this hotel from other reviews and for its location and good price. We stayed 2 nights in mid november and were very pleased.
Large, pleasant, comfortable room with nice, clean bathroom with good shower. If anything it was too hot and we had to keep the window open even at that time of year (and let the mosquitoes in!!). Breakfast was fine with the usual continental choice of pastries, bread, ham, cheese and yoghurts, plenty of nice coffee and tea.
Friendly and helpful desk hostess who can recommend good places to eat in Ortigia, only 5 minutes walk away. Excellent location for this and within easy reach of the archelogical site too.
There are some reserved parking spaces in front of the hotel, handy if you rent a car.
As someone said, beware the stairs can be awkward if you have mobility problems (and if the lift doesn't work as was the case for us).
Other than that this is an excellent choice and I would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrenchLennie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Syracuse hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Posta
Hotel Posta
#37 of 74 in Syracuse
381 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Archimede Ortigia
Hotel Archimede Ortigia
#53 of 74 in Syracuse
106 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Como
Hotel Como
#49 of 74 in Syracuse
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Le Muse
Hotel Le Muse
#50 of 74 in Syracuse
102 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Mercure Siracusa Prometeo
1.3 mi away
UNA Hotel One
UNA Hotel One
#12 of 74 in Syracuse
1,005 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mediterraneo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mediterraneo

Property: Hotel Mediterraneo
Address: Via Tripoli 40, 96100, Syracuse, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Syracuse > Syracuse
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 74 Hotels in Syracuse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mediterraneo 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Mediterraneo *** is a small and comfortable hotel located in a very central area of the city, just a few meters away the enchanting and historic center of Syracuse, Ortigia island, is simply reachable just walking 4/5 minutes. The central location allows even to simply reach the shopping area of the city as well as to enjoy the principal city services. The Central Railway Station is far just 400 meters and the Central Bus Terminal of Siracusa is far just 200 meters. The area is then served to all major services and amenities such as bars, restaurants, gardens, public car parks as well as guarded parking, paying a fee. At only 50 meters from the Hotel you can even find the main bus stop of line 1 of electric minibuses which connect you to the full heart of the historical center. Just a trip of 4/5 minutes. All our rooms offer accommodation for at least 2 guests, free WiFi connection, some rooms have a balcony with sea views, all rooms provide flat screen TV 32 ", private safe, air conditioning, courtesy services to the bathroom. It's possible, when available, to park for free in the spaces reserved for our guests, just in front the Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Mediterraneo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mediterraneo Hotel Syracuse
Hotel Mediterraneo Sicily/Syracuse, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing