We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“On Ortiga, close to everything.”
Review of Mastrarua Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Mastrarua Hotel
Ranked #53 of 226 Syracuse B&B and Inns
australia
Level Contributor
215 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“On Ortiga, close to everything.”
Reviewed 7 July 2013

We had no trouble finding the hotel, as well as parking a short distance away. You come out of the hotel door turn right and walk down a few streets and find yourself in the thick of it, or turn left and 100 metres away is the food markets and one of the best deli's and wine bar. Wifi wasn't great, nor did TIM work but when you see how thick the walls are its not surprising. Breakfast wasn't huge or plentiful.....we ran out of bread very quickly but the staff popped down to the shops to get more. For the price this hotel is hard to beat, central and comfortable.

Room Tip: We stayed in 104.... Plenty big enough but needed to keep the air conditioning on. Friends were in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank loretta g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    66
    21
    4
    6
See reviews for
22
73
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
360 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 416 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013

Overall a decent place to stay in the old town. Requires some walking to get to the main sites, but not overly so. Room was pretty nice, good-sized with contemporary furnishings. No elevator but we only had one flight of stairs to deal with. Not sure if there are higher floors or not. The AC worked really well. Only complaint about the room itself is that the floor felt dusty when down to bare feet.

Breakfast was reasonable and they were quick to repair a broken self-serve coffee machine.

If you have a car you'll park at the main public lot which is neither close nor far away. The public aspect of it made me a little nervous but it turned out OK. Make sure you have coins ready to feed the machine. The nearby market does cause some driving headaches as some roads are closed and we ended up going around in circles to find the correct path to the hotel.

If staying in Syracuse again I might try to find a place closer to the action, but wouldn't have a problem staying here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GracyInVienna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2013

This hotel is just a stone's throw from the main car park (how I pitied the other tourists lugging their suitcases through the old town!). Very spacious room and bathroom and quiet. Good resto next door and really fabulous one at the end of the street. Breakfast was basic (they do need to improve the coffee service - machine coffee is not pleasant and this one took a looooong time to serve a decent sized coffee)

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Origamikangaroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2013

Mastrarua is at a good location inside Ortigia. Although the staff were wonderful it was an average hotel because the bathroom needed some repairements, the breakfast was ordinary and the TV set was too small to visualize anything comfortably.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank acnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
1 review
Reviewed 16 April 2013

The hotel is exquisite, very clean, confortable, walking distance from sights in Ortigia and 15 minutes away from the train & bus station. The staff is very kind and welcoming, breakfast is italian - sweets, coffee, cereals, fruit. There are a couple of restaurants nearby - the Antica Locanda next door is fine, prices within local average - and in the first part of the day one can shop for local specialities in the open-air market 20 mt away. Would recommend for your stay in Syracuse!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cristi-Ade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Syracuse hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Posta
Hotel Posta
#39 of 75 in Syracuse
362 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gran Bretagna Hotel
Gran Bretagna Hotel
#62 of 75 in Syracuse
82 reviews
0.4 mi away
Il Duomo
Il Duomo
#35 of 226 in Syracuse
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
La Graziella B&B
La Graziella B&B
#98 of 226 in Syracuse
12 reviews
0.2 mi away
I Santi Coronati B&B Ortigia Suite
0.4 mi away
B&B Nostos
B&B Nostos
#3 of 226 in Syracuse
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mastrarua Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mastrarua Hotel

Property: Mastrarua Hotel
Address: Via Vittorio Veneto 193, 96100, Syracuse, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Syracuse > Syracuse
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 226 B&Bs / Inns in Syracuse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mastrarua Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Mastrarua Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mastrarua Hotel Sicily/Syracuse, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing