We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great and tasty food on the shared platter!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Fratelli Burgio

Fratelli Burgio
Ranked #10 of 628 Restaurants in Syracuse
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean, Wine Bar, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great and tasty food on the shared platter!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

Very nice, traditional and informal place to eat. You have your platter of Sicilian cheese, ham, salami, focaccia and many other delicatessen and it's amazingly good and tasty.

Sometimes you also have the cannoli guy whio prepares fresh cannoli and granita. Amazing!

I had dinner there on a Saturday night in august so I was sitting outdoor and there was also a little jazz stand and live music... fantastic night.

Definitely worth trying if you like cured meats and cheese boards!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MrLeonardo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

892 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    595
    208
    43
    15
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Delightful flavours of Sicily”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

I've been in Syracuse last week , i was in Ortigia to find a good place to eat , I was with a car and was impossible to find a car park .... Finally I found it near the old market , when I went out I walked and I catch a nice place there , many people on the terrace that were enjoying the fabulous Tagliere of cheese and hams , beautiful presentation and lovely glasses of wines with them , I decided to make an Aperitivo there and I was impressed how the cheeses and hams were very tasty , incredible flavours with a perfume of the Sicily Island , the service was excellent and helpful , for sure on my next visit I will back again !!! A big thank to Francesco for the lovely service .

Helpful?
Thank Pier G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Amazing lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

Our only regret is that we didn't find this place until our last day. We had a platter - one between two, although could have shared one between all four of us for lunch. They vary what dishes they give - salamis, cheese (amazing), salads. It was great, had it not been our last day, they would have given us a take-away of what we couldn't finish. The place is at the end of the market and at first the smell of fish was strong, but you soon get over this. If you love this kind of food - best local produce etc this is definitely the place to go. It was our favourite whilst in Syracuse.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wow!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

I can honestly say that I have never had a better lunch. Incredible antipasto followed by an mind blowingly good ricotta and sweet vanilla cream pudding. This place is a shop / delicatessen and cafe all in one so we left with lots of amazing food to take home. Fantastic!!!!

Helpful?
1 Thank Blakusmaximus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Province of Florence, Italy
Level Contributor
71 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Try icredible local products for a lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

Located at the very end of a pictoresque local market, this place sells incredible local products and serves food. We saw a lot of tourist asking for a sandwich, which is good of course, but you shouldn't limit yourself to it. We had a "tagliere" of ham and cheese of different varities for lunch. When it is hot, nothing could be better. Amazing quality for modest price (24 euro with beer and everything).

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank happy-felix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fratelli Burgio also viewed

Syracuse, Province of Syracuse
Syracuse, Province of Syracuse
 
Syracuse, Province of Syracuse
Syracuse, Province of Syracuse
 

Been to Fratelli Burgio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing