We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Principe, Excellent Staff and Pleasent Surroundings”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Principe di Fitalia Wellness & SPa
Ranked #6 of 75 Hotels in Syracuse
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Principe, Excellent Staff and Pleasent Surroundings”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

This hotel is situated in the Sicilian countryside to the south of Syracuse. On the first evening finding our way to the hotel by car was difficult, however a member of the hotel staff came to meet us at a nearby location to escort us to the hotel. When we arrived we were promptly escorted to our room and went to the restaurant for dinner. We now know the best route to this hotel is to take the motorway and exit for Cassible and then take the SS115 to Syracuse. On the outskirts of Syracuse you will pass the Albatros Hotel (on your left) and as you approach a Q8 garage (on the right) you will take a right turning just before, to Aranella. You then need to drive straight through 4 roundabouts and at the 5th roundabout, turn right and take the first left and drive straight for about 600 yards and the hotel is on your left.

The SS115 also takes you to Ortigia where there are numerous shops, restaurants and bars. The hotel can arrange a shuttle to Catania Airport and the shuttle to their beach area and to Ortigia are complementary.

The reception staff were brilliant, Lavinia, Claudia and Marco were always very helpful. Lavinia arranged for CNN news in our room and set us up with the room and hotel facilities and recommended restaurants. Marco helped us plan excursions and again recommended attractions and restaurants (La Tavernetta Da Piero in Ortigia - excellent fish and very reasonable - you need to book as very popular). Claudia arranged for a complementary bottle of prosecco and a delightful chocolate cake for a family celebration.

The rooms were well appointed, well serviced and clean, though the bathroom would have been better for us if it had a walk in shower. Water and coffee were complementary throughout the day and each afternoon complementary snacks were provided by the pool. The restaurant served breakfast, lunch and dinner to a high standard. We had dinner on the night we arrived, which we thoroughly enjoyed. The breakfast was continental style with a delightful array of sweet and savoury pastries and breads. The meats, fruit, olives and tomatoes were all contained in a sealed refrigerated cabinet, an excellent idea. Lunch and dinner were on a pre-order system and you were given menus at breakfast to make your choice. The restaurant, pool and bar service was excellent with diligent waiting staff on hand always. The complementary shuttle service was reliable and professional.

The rooms and hotel grounds were well maintained, there were also a gym, jacuzzi and sauna facilities. The sauna was located next to reception and in my opinion that was not ideal. The gym was located on the roof and was well equipped. There was a great roof terrace and rooms had balconies or patios.

The beach area was 4km from the hotel, an elevated pontoon with lifeguard, well maintained toilet and shower facilities and a well run beach bar. The sea was sandy and very warm and clear.

We visited a number of towns in southern Sicily: Modica famous for chocolate, Ragussa of Inspector Montalbano fame and Marzamemi, a delightful fishing village which has lots of shops, restaurants and ice cream parlours and bars. We also visited Mount Etna and Taoramina and an excellent American style factory outlet on the motorway towards Palermo with great discounts and prices.

All in all, this hotel was lovely and relaxing I will return to the Principe di Fitalia again and would recommend this hotel without hesitation.

Room Tip: Room 23 has 2 terraces, is well appointed and tastefully decorated
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Travelmonkey22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

813 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    643
    133
    32
    5
    0
See reviews for
205
487
18
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

From start to finish our stay at the hotel was a joy. The hotel staff, who made an excellent impression on our arrival, were attentive, kind and polite throughout our time there. Although the hotel is a few KMs from the town and beach, frequent and free lifts were available as required. The hotel runs seamlessly. All facilities were impressively equipped and well maintained. The pool was elegant and there was always plenty of room. Breakfast was plentiful and of an excellent standard. The grilled fish we ate at the hotel was exceptional and we would recommend eating there. Drinks at the hotel are reasonably priced. We were really impressed and would not hesitate to return or recommend.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank APalin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
64 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

This has to be one of the most relaxing and charming hotels I have ever stayed in. it has a very family run feel to it with staff able to decide themselves how to make you feel even more welcome ( we were trying different local wines and waiter offered our favourite for free, Lavinia calling ahead to the beach club to arrange towels as we couldn't carry ours on the cycles, the minibus driver doing impersonations of classic Italan rock stars as he ferried us into town!)'
Everything mentioned before is true - the food is good and freshly prepared each day, plentiful breakfast buffet, amazing pool with no need to stake a lounger as there are plenty to go around, charming gardens etc. The rooms are not all big and bathrooms decidedly basic but who cares? They are functional and very clean with plenty of soft white towels.
You can ride bikes to the beach (15 mins) where they have an arrangement with a bar to use their sun beds - although if you expect soft sand between your toes you will be disappointed it is very much rocks here.
Every day there is a shuttle service into town and back so that the fact the hotel is located away from charming Ortigia is not a problem.
We shall return with the kids next year - perfect for families but also couples. I can't believe it is ranked 51 of the hotels in Syracuse - it should be in the top three! Still I'm hoping it will prosper but that selfishly we will be able to get availability when we want it!Thanks Lavinia and team for making our three days so wonderful

Room Tip: Room 12 is big and 2 is facing front with cute terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GreatPercy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Our family stayed at Hotel Principe di Fitalia in July 2014 after previously visiting in 2013. We 'hoped' that our stay would be as great as in 2013 and we weren't disappointed at all. Lavinia and Miriam are fabulous hosts, and welcomed us back as if we were family and made sure that nothing was too much trouble. They are always so helpful and cheerful and this really makes a difference. The rooms are lovely and the food is absolutely excellent. I would recommend this hotel to anyone, as it is such a wonderful place to stay to enjoy the local area, which is beautiful.

Room Tip: All of the rooms for our family were really well furnished. The family room was easily big enough f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

I spent four nights here with my family in July 2014 and it was one of the stars of our vacation. First of all, if you are looking for a family hotel, look no further. You have found your place. The pool is amazing and designed for all comers. There is a fantastic, gentle slope to the pool from the shallow end and little ones felt completely comfortable sitting in whatever depth they liked and older ones found getting in and out remarkably easy. No messing around with ladders. little snacks were served at the pool at 1700. You were also able to bring drinks from the bar to the pool throughout the day.

The restaurant is very pleasant and the food is great. A buffet was offered on one evening which we approached with caution, but it was very nice. Every day we started with great expectations of heading into Siracusa or the beach and exploring. More often than not, we opted to stay and relax on the grounds of Principe. The restaurant serves breakfast, lunch and dinner. All were very nice and the breakfast is exceptional.

Our room was beautiful and had a very nice deck which we enjoyed bottles of wine from. The bed was very comfortable. There were hundreds of channels on TV and we could only find the world cup in German, however, Italy had already been eliminated and maybe it was just not televised in Italian. The one knock on the bedroom in Principe is the bathroom. The whirlpool tub is just that. There is no shower option and water got everywhere. It was not just us. The tub sits on 2X4's to allow water to drain from beneath it. I'd almost recommend they just got rid of it and put a nice full sized shower in that side of the bathroom.

We walked to the beach one day. The Principe has an agreement with a local beach for its customers to use. The beach is a long walk. There is a shuttle bus available. The beach itself and the Bar Africana is more of a platform over the water. I would recommend that if you are looking for a "beach" go elsewhere and pay the day use fee.

The Principe has towels for both the pool and the beach. You get them from the front desk.

The bar had a decent selection of drinks. There is not a full time bar tender and mixing is certainly not a strong point, however, they will try.

We had no problem simply using glasses from the restaurant to enjoy wine in our room. The room did not have a bottle opener by the way. We carried the bottles down to the bar and they opened them for us and gave us the appropriate glasses.

I want to stay in the Principe again. I had an amazing time and my family really enjoyed the unstructured time off after a more structured program. I simply cannot explain why this hotel does not rank in the top ten in Siracusa. It should. The only reason I have not given it five stars is the bathroom.

Be prepared to drive a little bit to get into downtown. Ortigia is definitely worth the visit if you can muster the strength to leave the Principe. Plan on three hours if you are driving from Palermo and there is NO traffic. Print out a map and directions to the hotel before you find yourself looking for it on the outskirts of town. It is near the wildlife reserve.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paolo01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucks
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We spent 3 nights at the hotel. Our favourite of the 3 we stayed at in sicily. Staff friendly and helpful. Room was lovely and pool was great with a very shallow area you can lie in to cool down. Location out of historic part but very easy to drive to and hotel runs courtesy buses too. Food good. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank SuzieBucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watton at Stone
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We stayed at this lovely hotel for the first three nights of our three stop trip to Sicily. It really is a delightful place and its peace and tranquility make it difficult to stir up the energy to go sight-seeing.
We were made very welcome from the moment we arrived having driven round and round in circles trying to find the place. I gratefully received a beer which disappeared in no time.
We had an excellent room which was light and airy. Breakfast was great and the pool a delight. Nearly all the guests went off going places while we and one or two others stayed by the pool.
At 5.30 P.M. complimentary light snacks were produced.
We ate dinner in the hotel twice and the food was delicious with splendid wines - all reasonably priced.
All the staff were very friendly and eager to help with a ready smile.
The only downsides were that we did not think that the private beach was very good - the pool was much better and the surrounding country was rather flat and uninteresting. Syracuse itself was a very interesting city. I only wish we could have summoned the energy to see more of it.
Please give more help to tired old chaps like me to find this lovely place.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Syracuse hotels
1.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Minareto
Grand Hotel Minareto
#7 of 75 in Syracuse
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,179 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hotel Borgo Pantano
Hotel Borgo Pantano
#1 of 75 in Syracuse
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,104 reviews
2.9 mi away
Algila Ortigia Charme Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Hotel Mercure Siracusa Prometeo
5.2 mi away
Hotel Parco delle Fontane
Hotel Parco delle Fontane
#5 of 75 in Syracuse
4.5 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
4.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Politi
Grand Hotel Villa Politi
#10 of 75 in Syracuse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Principe di Fitalia Wellness & SPa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Principe di Fitalia Wellness & SPa

Property: Hotel Principe di Fitalia Wellness & SPa
Address: Via Traversa Tonnara di Terrauzza 38, 96100, Syracuse, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Syracuse > Syracuse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Syracuse
#2 Spa Hotel in Syracuse
#3 Family Hotel in Syracuse
#4 Romantic Hotel in Syracuse
#6 Luxury Hotel in Syracuse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Principe di Fitalia Wellness & SPa 5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel Principe di Fitalia is a resort with a 5 star modern part and an old part, a charming villa of 1854. The hotel is managed by the owners. It has many services: spa one of the largest of Sicily, a restaurant with a kitchen designed to enhance the flavors of raw material that is all top notch. Tennis court, table tennis, 3 pools, 2 outdoor and one indoor heated (29/32 degrees), indoor and outdoor children's play room. fitness room, massage rooms. Just two steps from the sea of the nature reserve of Plemmirio. It's the right place to relax and to know Sicily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Principe di Fitalia Wellness & SPa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Principe Di Fitalia Syracuse
Principe Di Fitalia Hotel
Hotel Principe Di Fitalia Wellness & SPa Sicily/Syracuse, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing