We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place for holiday”
Review of La Rosa sul Mare

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Rosa sul Mare
Ranked #50 of 105 Speciality Lodging in Syracuse
Reviewed 11 June 2014

The staff was very friendly and the welcome was warm. We received valuable advice on local restaurants (non-tourist) as well as places to visit. The garden and the access to the sea are just beautiful. The bed is comfortable in a spacious room. It's more like small two-room apartments with kitchen than a simple bedroom. We spent 4 days of rest in an idyllic location.
The weak point was the breakfast. It is very expensive and included only the minimum in a basket.
If you want fresh bread, fruit, fresh orange juice for breakfast it is recommended to buy them at the nearest supermarket.
I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pascal F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (122)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 122 reviews

Reviewed 19 September 2013

Perfect hotel! Very nice location just nex to the see. There is a swimming pool with a wonderful view of the bay and a private rock beach with some longchairs at disposition.
The rooms are nice and big (there are like little appartments actually) and you can find everything you need. The staff was very helphul and friendly. The owner of the hotel Giuseppe is also very friendly and gave us some advices.
We could get a special price of 100 euro as we came in June and the hotel was empty.
In a word, it's a hotel where you can relax and disconnect totally.

Room Tip: Don't forget to use the little machines against mosquitos at your disposition in the rooms, caus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yannick1509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

This is a Peaseful place, with privacy. Exellent for swimming and sunbathing. You can eat dinner in the beautiful city Siracusa, Ortigia.
We appreciated the simplicity of the place. That there was no restaurant, no shops or trash cans everywhere.
This is a place of the nature with just the right amount of facilities. The luxury lays in the nature itself with the turquoise sea and the beautiful garden. The swimming pool have a fantastic sea view, were you also can see the sunset.
The swimming area is perfect! with a wood platform and stone steps to the water.( it is not a place for physical handicapped )
We will absolutely come back!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank monikav191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013

The location is very nice and the apartment we got was also nice, but be aware they seem to place the prebooked in the poorest first to keep the temptations for later sale. And this "smartness" shines through in most matter at this place and it detroys the good impression the hotel could give. The breakfast which should included was only a basket with the most necessary things and bialetti cofee boiler was useless.... and there went the good morning feeling. We were promised a room for 120 euro at the phone but at arrival this did not exist and we ended with one at 170euro. And everything came in addition, even the aircondition. Easy things for them to "fix" to increase the impression to the level the site deserves. The owner seems to a very nice guy, but he pushes somebody else in front to take the complaines and do the deals..... not a good idea. There are a nice place by the sea, but be early because there are not to good space and enough sun beds for all the guests. There are no beach in walking distance.

Room Tip: check and make sure what appartment you are given. The differences are large.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OBruland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LAROSA-MANAGEMENT, Direttore at La Rosa sul Mare, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2013

We have taken note of your observations, which in our opinion originate from His resentment manifested at the time of departure, when, at our request: you has taken something fridge? you answered NO! And when we made you see that you had "emptied" repeat "emptied" the mini bar, you are irritated and you started yelling at the clerk, among other things, threatening the use of TripAdvisor house that in the end you did. To what occurred, we have some evidence for which we reserve the right to entrust to the Competent Authorities for the protection of the person and the image of our hotel.
That said, we must therefore highlight the falsehoods contained in your comments:
- The cost of the apartment suites occupied by you, made up of a double bedroom, bathroom, in a separate large living room with sofa bed and kitchen area, two terraces, one of which face the sea, he would never have cost Euro 120,00 ( see our price in the web). You know very well that the cost by phone was agreed suite of Euro 220,00, but when you came - on your insistence and our guilt for having accepted, we'll we applied the discounted rate of € 170.00 for four people including breakfast for 4 persons, guarded parking lot.
- is not true that you've paid extra for air conditioning;
- We have sun-loungers and deck chairs at the pool and solarium add at the number in stay of our clients, greater than the total number of guests staying. Of course they all do as you have done and that is to occupy eight chairs for four people, they will never be sufficient;
- Upon your arrival, you have been able to ascertain that La Rosa sul mare is placed inside of the Air Marine Protected Plemmirio, characterized by a beautiful reef and not of beach. Not having done any booking you could have not to accept the location without the beach.
And remain at disposal for any further clarification.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2013

Amazing.This is NOT an hotel or a place to spent a vacation.Zero (0) service ,Every simple thing is extra(10 euro a day for parking ,6Euro an hour,yes an hour, for WiFi which you can use only on the veranda or in the toilets,10Euro a person for cold breakfast .Stay in another place !!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Tamos99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2012

I travel to Sicily at least once a year. Siracusa has some excellent hotel at Ortigia, but in Summer we like to stay at some beach location, such as the Minareto, facing Forte Maniace across the entrance to the grand harbor. This year we tried La Rosa sul Mare, which is a big 5-story villa located close to the big lighthouse of Capo Murro di Porco, facing South with an exceptional view and direct access to the sea (a protected area).
I would recommend this place only if there was a radical change of management. The owners try to make money as hoteliers while playing the lords of the manor and it just plain does not work.
We had the most expensive apartment: the attic, with a vast terrace...no awnings, no umbrellas, and the scorching sun of Sicily making short work of two meager air conditioning units...that eventually stopped working and could not be fixed in real time. Access to the sea is precarious: two slippery steps and no handholds: the rocks are razor sharp lava. The "beach" is a deck built with rusty construction tubes and thin wood flooring kept together with plastic strips. No kayak rental, no drinks, no beach towels, no food; 157 steps from the "beach" to the attic...got to be fit! The staff consists of a concierge who works 8 hours a day often in his bathing suit, and one likable factotum immigrant: laughable....and they give themselves four stars.

Room Tip: I shall send pictures separately.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IPAgenoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2012

The only great thing about this hotel is its location, which is great, with a wonderful sea view. Everything else is certainly not worth it, starting from the price, which is outrageous for the service it provides. The hotel is not well kept (rusty taps, hooks falling down in the bathroom, lack of hot water, etc.), we had to carry our own suitcases to the room (the owner took the lightest one), and we had to make our own breakfast in the room using cheap food bought at a hard discount store (including long-life milk!).

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paolooo067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Syracuse hotels
5.1 mi away
Hotel Borgo Pantano
Hotel Borgo Pantano
#1 of 75 in Syracuse
1,215 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Principe di Fitalia Wellness & SPA
5 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Politi 1862
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Minareto
Grand Hotel Minareto
#9 of 75 in Syracuse
1,314 reviews
4.8 mi away
Villa dei Papiri
Villa dei Papiri
#14 of 105 in Syracuse
310 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Casale Milocca
Hotel Casale Milocca
#1 of 1 in Arenella
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Rosa sul Mare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Rosa sul Mare

Address: Via Dei Diamanti 16, 96100, Syracuse, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Syracuse > Syracuse
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 105 Speciality Lodging in Syracuse
Price Range: £50 - £178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — La Rosa sul Mare 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Rosa sul Mare is situated on beautiful coastline within the Plemmirio Natural Park and sea reserve in Syracuse, with cliffs of white rock and flowered terraces gently sloping down to the Ionian sea. An exclusive property offering wonderful apartments, immersed in an oasis of perfumes and colours originating from Mediterranean plants within the garden. Along this stretch of protected coastline, where the natural ecosystem of the coast and sea bed is preserved, it is even possible to witness dolphins swimming. Our friendly staff are attentive to the needs and requests of guests to ensure that they experience an enjoyable, peaceful and memorable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, HostelWorld, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your La Rosa sul Mare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Rosa Sul Mare Sicily/Syracuse, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing