We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No regrets”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Caol Ishka Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Caol Ishka Hotel
Ranked #29 of 75 Hotels in Syracuse
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“No regrets”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2012

Booked the hotel for two nights as part of our honeymoon and on recommendation from family. True, we had a hard time finding the place with crappy garmin GPS and just the booking address (print google map beforehand...) but once there, exactly as we were told and more. The feel and look is quite distinct, very modern, not for everyone but we loved the room, from the bathroom faucet with funky taps to the chandelier in the WC...plain awesome. Grounds: pretty, well kept, although yes, close to main road. Room for further amenities which is why Ill check this hotel again in the future. Pool, simple, does the job, had great afternoons lounging there. Staff: plain great, very caring and there for whatever you need (THANK YOU for the great recommendations fir eating in Syracuse, best dinners ever)...if you see them ...although keep in mind its a 10 bedroom hotel, which leads to probably my only complaint: during the afternoon, there is one staff on the grounds, thats it. You have to chase him/her if you want something to drink by the pool. No snacking option during the day, what a pity. The restaurant: great breakfast, nothing to complain, lots of options, diner, just plain one of the best restaurant in sicily we've eaten at, fair prices, great selection of wine, very simple yet perfectly executed dishes, the outside diner option is a must. all in all, if you take it with a grain of salt (small boutique hotel, not the amenities of its larger counterparts, not the best views in town), it is worth the trip and the stay for its uniqueness and staff. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank colinmerlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    122
    54
    14
    12
    7
See reviews for
41
103
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2012 via mobile

We had 2 nights here on our honeymoon and we enjoy some parts of this place. The room was great (massive bed, funky shower), the restaurant was great and the staff good. However the hotel is too near the main road for this hotel to be totally relaxing. The noise is not audible fom the rooms but its noticeable whenever you are outside (i.e. restaurant, swimming pool). As others have commented the hotel is not in a nice part of Siracusa - just outside the industrial estate.

Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank PhilipLov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2012

Lovely place with beautifull garden in a peaceful setting. The sunsets are great and you can enjoy them from the pool. It is also worth to check out the pool by night. The rooms a good, with huge bed and great bathroom.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StargazerSofia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2012

Recently spent two nights at Caol Ishka. Room was modern and interesting. Pool was delightful. I enjoyed being outside the city but still only 5 min. away by car. Staff was very helpful in making dinner reservations for us in Siracusa. Only complaint is that the room lighting was not adequate for reading for my aging eyes. Beware of mosquitoes - I couldn't sit outside for very long without OFF repellent but that was a problem for me throughout my trip to Sicily.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2012

Caol Ishka is a beautiful, inventive, welcoming, comfortable and inspiring boutique hotel... but it's just about 1km in the wrong direction. Some previous reviewers have exaggerated it... It's not in the middle of an industrial estate! It's on a few acres of beautifully maintained land, on the banks of a charming little river. But you have to drive through a fairly grim burb of Syracuse before you reach the fabulous Ortigia. It's only five minutes though... And apart from that five minute drive, this is a mesmerising place to stay. Hats off to the design. Ask for Room 1 if it's available — it's priced as a standard, but with 18 foot ceilings and a shower that emerges out of an old stone wall... This is designer luxury all the way.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dylancotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
68 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights in September and really enjoyed our visit. Hotel is modern with an emphasis on cool design. We also ate in the restaurant and standard of food was good with very friendly service. Location is ideal - outside of the city but it can be easily reached by car within 15 minutes. Gardens are lovely and swimming pool was small but adequate.
Rooms are comfortable - ours had its own decked patio area outside with table, chairs and sun lounger. Only disadvantage was that wifi did not extend to the bedrooms.
On the morning that we were due to leave, the owner invited us to use the swimming pool for the day and she would provide fresh towels and showering facilities before we left. Or if we went to a nearby beach, we could come back to shower and change.
We loved this hotel and would have no hesitation recommending it to others.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pinkblackski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghent, Belgium
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2012

caol ishka is an amazing place to stay !
I went there with my 2 teenage daughters and we had a great great time.
service, location, food are super.
bedrooms and kindness & disponibilty of the entire staff is awesome, day after day.
over all, it's very well situated near siracuse. the approximity of the national SS115 is really not an issue.
long time ago we had such a nice service. we definitely go back.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anne-sophie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Syracuse hotels
3.4 mi away
Borgo Marino Hotel
Borgo Marino Hotel
#24 of 75 in Syracuse
4.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Livingston
Hotel Livingston
#18 of 75 in Syracuse
4.5 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Caiammari
Hotel Caiammari
#11 of 75 in Syracuse
4.5 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hotel Principe di Fitalia Wellness & SPa
2.8 mi away
Hotel Parco delle Fontane
Hotel Parco delle Fontane
#5 of 75 in Syracuse
4.5 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Il Parco
Hotel Il Parco
#20 of 75 in Syracuse
4.5 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caol Ishka Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caol Ishka Hotel

Property: Caol Ishka Hotel
Address: Via Elorina 154 | Contrada Pantanelli, 96100, Syracuse, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Syracuse > Syracuse
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Syracuse
#13 Romantic Hotel in Syracuse
#22 Luxury Hotel in Syracuse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Caol Ishka Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary design meets the charm of an old Sicilian Masseria at Caol Ishka Hotel. Located on the bank of the river Anapo, the historical centre of Siracusa is only 2km away. The hotel has a large Mediterranean garden: guests can relax in the solarium by the pool or on private patios. For food lovers, the Zafferano Bistrot offers creative menus based on Sicilian traditional flavours either in a stunning dining room or on the outdoor terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Caol Ishka Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Caol Ishka
Caol Ishka Syracuse
Caol Ishka Hotel Sicily/Syracuse, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing