We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such a shame”
Review of Caol Ishka Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Caol Ishka Hotel
Ranked #34 of 74 Hotels in Syracuse
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 June 2014

The promotion material for this hotel suggest a luxurious spa with prices to match. Like others, I found this very misleading. It may well have been beautiful once but does not seem to have been cared for for years. Tiles missing in bathroom, soggy musty wooden boards in the shower, peeling paint and missing floor covering. And the restaurant has shut. The staff were pleasant enough but seemed embarrassed at what they had to show us. Would never have booked at these prices if they had been more honest about the place. Should have read Tripadvisor first!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank doctoratlarge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (223)
There are newer reviews for Caol Ishka Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 223 reviews

Reviewed 19 September 2013

The location is great for getting in to Siracusa or in the opposite direction to the wonderful coastline and beaches. The hotel was probably great a few years ago, but it just felt like the staff have stopped caring, the wifi did not work, the pool area needed a good clean and the rooms just felt tired and we shared ours with ants. Breakfast summed it up, at first glance it looked like a nice spread, but on further inspection the melon was on the turn, the cake dry, and the cheese could have walked out the room on its own. It was the most expensive stay of our entire holiday so a complete disappointment.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alex G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

A convenient location for Syracuse, bespoke designer accommodation, excellent on-site restaurant, a large pool and small enough to get away from it all. It sounds perfect on paper. Sadly, that is as close as Caol Ishka gets to perfection.

The hotel is not old, but (in complete agreement with a very recent reviewer below) has tired from the photos. The wooden slats in our shower were broken and left a hole which a foot could slip through, the stepping stones in the garden were so loose they were dangerous, the pool was unclean, all the external wood was badly faded and our room door had three large cracks in the glass. Rather than the small hotel being relaxing, it is a ghost town where service is very difficult to attract. Even with only ten rooms, the majority of staff struggle. From the cold, almost rude, 'welcome', to breakfast which was missing a combination of bowls, spoons, milk and/or glasses for juice every day (despite only three tables full), to the exceptionally limited restaurant recommendations, to the lack of general maintenance, one wonders what would happen if the hotel were at full occupancy.

Georgio the chef and the night/early morning receptionist do what they can to lift the mood with their excellent, friendly service, as does the restaurant, which is very good indeed, albeit lacking in atmosphere as it rarely has more than one table filled.

A great concept, poorly executed and could do with refurbishment. Better options elsewhere.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Weeked_Break87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013 via mobile

The first thing that came to my mind about this hotel when we walked into our room was when did they stop caring?? I am sure this hotel was once great but now it needs a lot of love and attention to make it great again. There are holes in the walls where there was once hooks. The shower has rust and from the 36 screws in the floor there are 15 missing! !! Yes I counted because I couldn't believe I was standing on a rusty floor with missing screws to shower. The carpet/rug in the room was curled and frayed so I nearly tripped every time I walked in the room. The walls need a good paint, the floor has polished concrete that is peeling. There are holes in the plaster, the deckng is old with lots of missing nails and planks. They need a handyman in to go crazy fixing all these things which takes the beauty away from this hotel. It looks like it has not been maintained since the day it was finished. The breakfast is ordinary and not tasty. The staff were lovely and gave us a lot of suggestions for beaches. The owner is RUDE and angry. I would not stay here again and think it is teribly overpriced for what it is. Keep looking!!! This hotel needs a makeover.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aabeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Coal Ishka hotel is a peace of heaven, quite hotel the room was artistique .. The service is great because there is only 10 suits , I will go back one day for sure :)
Regarding the food they have the best Italian restaurant .. So if you are in Cicily already go for lunch or dinner and I tried almost everything in their menu and all what we ordered made us want to eat more :) scallops, steaks, shrimp, salad, gorpacio , and the over all atmosphere is relaxing

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Khalid A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2013

As our favourite, the Approdo della Sirene was full, we booked Caol Ishka. It was after all a disappointment. The rooms were small and poorly lit (no reading lights!), no space to store two small suitcases, no adequate storage room for clothing, and all that for a room which cost Eur 245. I also really disliked the front desk which kept pushing us to book their own restaurant and was not capable to produce more than one recommendation for a restaurant in Orteggia. Breakfast was no comparison with other places we visited in Sicily. On a positive note, the pool is large and nicely located.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ejhfa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marco C, Proprietario at Caol Ishka Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2013

i think it is a fake!!!!
This because we do not have that prices.....have a look in our website and we have a small but pretty pool....

So they wrote only to destroy our invidiable reputation
Marco Capillo
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2012

Booked the hotel for two nights as part of our honeymoon and on recommendation from family. True, we had a hard time finding the place with crappy garmin GPS and just the booking address (print google map beforehand...) but once there, exactly as we were told and more. The feel and look is quite distinct, very modern, not for everyone but we loved the room, from the bathroom faucet with funky taps to the chandelier in the WC...plain awesome. Grounds: pretty, well kept, although yes, close to main road. Room for further amenities which is why Ill check this hotel again in the future. Pool, simple, does the job, had great afternoons lounging there. Staff: plain great, very caring and there for whatever you need (THANK YOU for the great recommendations fir eating in Syracuse, best dinners ever)...if you see them ...although keep in mind its a 10 bedroom hotel, which leads to probably my only complaint: during the afternoon, there is one staff on the grounds, thats it. You have to chase him/her if you want something to drink by the pool. No snacking option during the day, what a pity. The restaurant: great breakfast, nothing to complain, lots of options, diner, just plain one of the best restaurant in sicily we've eaten at, fair prices, great selection of wine, very simple yet perfectly executed dishes, the outside diner option is a must. all in all, if you take it with a grain of salt (small boutique hotel, not the amenities of its larger counterparts, not the best views in town), it is worth the trip and the stay for its uniqueness and staff. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank colinmerlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Syracuse hotels
2.5 mi away
Hotel Caiammari
Hotel Caiammari
#8 of 74 in Syracuse
398 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Il Parco
Hotel Il Parco
#16 of 74 in Syracuse
119 reviews
3.4 mi away
Borgo Marino Hotel
Borgo Marino Hotel
#25 of 74 in Syracuse
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Kalaonda Plemmirio
Kalaonda Plemmirio
#55 of 74 in Syracuse
117 reviews
2.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Politi
Grand Hotel Villa Politi
#9 of 74 in Syracuse
884 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Principe di Fitalia Wellness & SPa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caol Ishka Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caol Ishka Hotel

Address: Via Elorina 154 | Contrada Pantanelli, 96100, Syracuse, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Syracuse > Syracuse
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Syracuse
#13 Romantic Hotel in Syracuse
#25 Luxury Hotel in Syracuse
Price Range: £102 - £157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Caol Ishka Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary design meets the charm of an old Sicilian Masseria at Caol Ishka Hotel. Located on the bank of the river Anapo, the historical centre of Siracusa is only 2km away. The hotel has a large Mediterranean garden: guests can relax in the solarium by the pool or on private patios. For food lovers, the Zafferano Bistrot offers creative menus based on Sicilian traditional flavours either in a stunning dining room or on the outdoor terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Caol Ishka Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Caol Ishka
Caol Ishka Syracuse
Caol Ishka Hotel Sicily/Syracuse, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing