We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Agriturismo”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Agriturismo Case Damma
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 October 2013

A very nice Agriturismo with charming rooms in a peaceful surroundings but still close to Syracuse. Breakfast is good and dinner delicious, made by a very lovely chef (and others). Service and support from the owner/ staff was attentive and helpful.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stefan261
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (186)
There are newer reviews for Agriturismo Case Damma
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 186 reviews

Reviewed 6 October 2013

Case Damme is in a lovely setting barely 10 minutes on a direct route to Syracuse. If you want an agriturismo, this is very convenient to both Syracuse and the motorway to other sights. The old farmhouse is attractive and the grounds are lovely with a very nice swimming pool.

The room was pleasant and traditionally decorated, not fancy or trendy but very adequate, The bathroom was modern and clean. We stayed in Tucchinana which was on the far side of the building thus quite quiet.

While the food was adequate, it does not seem to have been the wonderful food several of the earlier review spoke of. Breakfasts are good continental fare with local pastry. You can squeeze your own orange juice which is tasty.

The evening meal at 20 Euros was impressive. It is served family style with several plates of local appetizers, sausage, olives, and some home made specialties. There was an average pasta course and the meat was usually pork. Dessert was cake or fruit. We ate there all four nights that we stayed at the B & B and the menunwas quite similar. Wine is provided by the carafe as part of the meal. While it was adequate, I was disappointed after reading some of the previous reviews which raved about the food.
We did have a couple of delightful evenings with several Dutch and French guests which more than made up for the food.
Finally, earlier reviews talked about the friendliness of the proprietor and his wife who seemed to be regularly at the location. Perhaps it was because we were off season in September or perhaps the owners or their situation has changed. Carmelo the owner or manager was friendly and helpful but did not live on site. He was occasionally there in the morning and always in the late afternoon for a few hours. I was not introduced to his wife nor was there any offer of cooking courses. Throughout much of the day there was no one at the location who spoke English which was a bit concerning when we had a plumbing issue.
Finally I should address the comment about the wedding made by the previous reviewer.
When we arrived, Carmelo was hosting a corporate retreat for the day which was just wrapping up about 4 PM. The day before we left, a large bus load of tourists arrived for want I imagine was billed as lunch at a charming country inn. We were out much of the day and arrived back at 3 PM when they bus was pulling out. Neither event bothered us since we weren't on the site at the time. The events are confined to the dining room and courtyard area but some of the guest rooms are located on the courtyard. We were fortunate ours was not.
Overall, high marks to Case Damma for a great location, lovely setting and reasonable prices, just be aware that things appear to have charged somewhat since 2012 with respect to the food and homey, family service.

Room Tip: Stay in Room Tucchiana or the other room away from the courtyard.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank donnalee1195
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2013

There may be bad surprises! The site, garden and pool are nice but the owners organize periodically weddings and do not inform about it. Obviousely above our room there was a room which they use only from time to time. The construction does not allow this as there is absolutely no sound protection and even the light comes through the ceiling. At two in the morning the wedding finished, the persons in the room above us went up the stairs (it was as they were in our room) and did not stopp to make big noise until three thirty. Really not a good experience. The room name was "Su Nano". The owners of Case Damma live in Siracus and did not show up in the morning, just the mother in law and the cook were there to appologize for the mess.

Room Tip: Do not choose the room *Su Nano" if you really decide to stay in Case Damma
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Matthias Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
casedamma, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Agriturismo Case Damma, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2013
Google Translation

Gentilissimo la ringrazio di essere stato nostro ospite per tre giorni, e di aver avuto la cortesia di cenare tutti i giorni con noi anche nel giorno del matrimonio, volevo solo chiarire tre punti:
il primo che la nostra azienda non è un locale da matrimoni : non ci sono più di 3 ricevimenti di nozze l'anno e lei come tutti i nostri ospiti era a conoscenza che quella sera ce ne sarebbe stato uno. Esso si è svolto a 200 metri dalla sua camera e senza musica , infatti lei non si è lamentato dei rumori della festa ma dei suoi vicini di camera che sono stati rumorosi, anche perchè giovani. Nei due giorni precedenti, la camera dei suoi vicini è stata in uso ad altre persone e lei non ha sentito nulla ed non ha avuto modo di lamentarsi. Forse quella notte ha provato un poco di invidia per le attività dei ragazzi suoi vicini di camera e le è riaffiorata la nostalgia del passato quando anche lei era giovane. Per quanto ci compete oltre a scusarci dei rumori provati dai nostri ospiti suoi vicini non potevamo fare.
Inoltre volevo chiarire che mia suocera che la mattina si è scusata con lei è una delle titolari insieme a mia moglie e al sottoscritto.
Con la speranza di averla comunque di nuovo nostro ospite le porgo i miei migliori saluti.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2013

We stayed three nights out of season in February in this peaceful and interesting agriturismo and we were the only guests. Our spacious room and small bathroom were clean, the bed was comfortable, the home-cooked food was excellent and generous, and we appreciated the care that was taken to make our stay an enjoyable experience. La padrona drove ahead of us in her car to show us the back lanes to Siracusa because roadworks were blocking the main road, and she showed us where we could park right in front of the archaeological park. It was very interesting to chat with her about the local area. Also the lady who did the cooking showed particular kindness. Although there were heaters in the bedroom and the large dining room, it was difficult to heat large spaces, but this would not be a problem in the main season when it would also be possible to enjoy the grounds and the swimming pool.
'B&B only' was available through Booking.com with whom we booked. We were able to pay for the excellent evening meals on top of this and they were worth it. However the half-pension rates on the bedroom door were cheaper, so it would presumably be better to book directly with the owners.

Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Shirley D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2012

Beautiful setting - relaxing to walk among the trees, the groomed yard, the pool was so inviting - enjoyed a cooking class with Madam who taught us many traditional Sicilian dishes. Felt very welcome!!!!!

Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank ChrisBerthoud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2012

Casa Damma was our first agriturismo exprience and a wonderful one. We ate great food, drank excellent local wine, had a brilliant cooking lesson and met some great people. We even swam in the pool - once - although by October it was a little chilly! Casa Damma is in a very beautiful setting around fifteen minutes outside of Siracusa. The rooms are comfortable and the gardens and buildings very pretty. But the best bit is dinner - amazing food, made with love and local secret recipes, and served up around a communal table with the other guests - a very convivial set-up.

A great week, and we were very sad to leave!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank monsieur_josh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2012

we passed a wonderful week in this beautiful house near Siracusa. From the first minute we were warmly welcomed by the owners, a very friendly family. Eating a delicious, home made dinner with local wine, having a chat at the big table together with the other guests. the family looked carefully after us with good recommendations and even solving problems with a few troubles we had with the owner of a car rental in Siracusa (nevertheless we would hardly recommend to discover Sicily by a Scooter!) - Thank you a lot famiglia Conigliaro! we will come back :-)

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Caroline W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Syracuse
5.6 mi away
Hotel Principe di Fitalia Wellness & SPA
1.7 mi away
Agriturismo La Perciata
Agriturismo La Perciata
#17 of 98 in Syracuse
171 reviews
2.6 mi away
Villa dei Papiri
Villa dei Papiri
#8 of 98 in Syracuse
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Agriturismo La Frescura
Agriturismo La Frescura
#12 of 98 in Syracuse
141 reviews
3.0 mi away
Agriturismo Sant'Elia
Agriturismo Sant'Elia
#2 of 4 in Cassibile
187 reviews
12.0 mi away
Agriturismo Terra dei Limoni
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agriturismo Case Damma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agriturismo Case Damma

Address: Via Per Canicattini n 28 | Contrada Damma, 96100, Syracuse, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Syracuse > Syracuse
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 98 Speciality Lodging in Syracuse
Price Range: £70 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Agriturismo Case Damma 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A fascinanting country house in the peaceful quietness of a large green park, rich in a beautiful variety of luxuriant Sicilian vegetation – The site is an ideal resort for a short stay,wedding receptions, meetings and nice parties for every occasion.We offer full board or half board accommodation and typical Sicilian food.There is the opportunity of a shuttle bus, hiring a car, a boat or a bicycle or attending a cookerycourse. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your Agriturismo Case Damma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Agriturismo Case Damma Sicily/Syracuse, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing