We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not to be missed” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Taverna Giudecca Ortigia

Taverna Giudecca Ortigia
Ranked #75 of 619 Restaurants in Syracuse
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$17
Cuisines: Italian, Wine Bar, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Drinks, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Eating and Drinking in Ortigia KM to zero. Taverna Giudecca Ortigia offers a variety of appetizers, grilled vegetables, Capuliato Caponata Siciliana (tomato) Parmigiana, Hyblaea Mozzarella, Mozzarella and ricotta cheese with pistachios, almonds and walnuts, a wide selection of platters of meats and cheeses accompanied with our own jams, pasta dishes , roll baked eggplant with spaghetti in tomato sauce, and parmiggina. Wines and brandies liguori preserved exclusively Siciliani.Semifreddo ricotta and pistachio. The products are exclusively derived from the Land Siciliano, without alteration of flavors as usual. Taverna Giudecca is not a restaurant, there are no expenses covered and / or service to tavoli.Taverna Giudecca is an informal, reserved for connoisseurs.
Chesham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Not to be missed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

What a find. The owner was welcoming and passionate about Sicilian wine and beer. A relaxing evening spent tasting local wines on recommendation of the owner as well as tasty cheeses and nibbles etc. not to be missed! We will be back! Thank you!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Patricia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taverna Giudecc... O, Proprietario at Taverna Giudecca Ortigia, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Google Translation
Grazie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    52
    11
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bluffton, South Carolina
Level Contributor
119 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Great spot for aperitivo”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014

Stopped into this taverna for an aperitivo and had a great experience. The owner was warm and friendly and was nice enough to put up with my attempt at speaking Italian. He recommended a terrific white wine and then we enjoyed a lovely mixed plate of cheeses. Upon ordering a second glass of wine the offer of snacks became larger, all was very tasty. Nice place to stop into for a great glass or 2 of wine.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LowCountryIslander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taverna Giudecc... O, Proprietario at Taverna Giudecca Ortigia, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Google Translation
Grazie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fabulous!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

We visited in early February based on our hotel's recommendation. What a great time! We asked for 'Sicilian flavor' and Antoninio and Sal the cook delivered. Wonderful combinations of pistachio and prosciutto and eggplant and...oh my! He also opened several wines and let us decide what we liked best. Price was very very reasonable and I felt that it was all about making us happy and enjoying the Sicilian experience. We were there twice and had the same feeling and experience. Spend time learning the history of Ortigia's Jewish Quarter and enjoy the fabulous Sicilian hospitality of Taverna Giudecca. There is probably outdoor seating during summer months, but the rain kept us inside!

Kathy and Don Boise, ID USA

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taverna Giudecc... O, Proprietario at Taverna Giudecca Ortigia, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Google Translation
Grazie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Taverna Giudecca Ortigia also viewed

Syracuse, Province of Syracuse
Syracuse, Province of Syracuse
 
Syracuse, Province of Syracuse
Syracuse, Province of Syracuse
 

Been to Taverna Giudecca Ortigia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing