We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hotel with good potential”
Review of Il Podere Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Il Podere Hotel
Ranked #41 of 74 Hotels in Syracuse
Certificate of Excellence
Ruthin, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A hotel with good potential”
Reviewed 3 September 2012

This is a lovely building with very attractive grounds and a pool with a nice setting. It is very well maintained and our room was comfortable and very clean. The staff were polite and friendly and the standard of service by the staff at breakfast time and especially with the evening meal was excellent. There is clearly a very good chef because the evening meals were very good and usually a starter and a main course or a main course and a dessert were enough!
However the hotel we felt was best suited for weddings and large functions.There were two weddings during our week and it really was a good setting for such an occasion. The restaurant room was very large and devoid of atmosphere when there were only half a dozen couples eating. There is a front and rear courtyard outside where we ate twice and these were far more atmospheric for guests than the big dining room , but were not fully uitilised. There is no area with soft chairs and sofas inside the building where it would be possible to relax during the day or the evening [except a narrow area near the main entrance] with a drink or a book. There is only a large hall area near the bar which has bar tables and hard chairs. There are two pools but one of them is for show and is not used. The main pool is in an attractive setting but its opening hours of 10- 6pm were really unreasonable and we had not come across this before at such a smart hotel. There were only around a dozen loungers for relaxing at the pool.The remaining seating was deckchairs - not great expecially on hot days. If you have no sat nav, the English language directions are not that helpful.We got lost trying to find it. The hotel should provide a map with landmarks and distances along with directions. A few changes to the dining areas, the pool seating and its rules and an internal area for relaxation would certainly increase its appeal and potential.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank geraint j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    106
    76
    32
    13
    18
See reviews for
58
103
Solo
0
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
194 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2012

want a lovely place to stay outside siracusa, this is perhaps a place to stay. there are some downfalls, however. the interior design of the hotel is beautiful but quite impractical. the bathroom lighting is very poor, little space in the closet, the lighting in the room was poor and the air conditioning could have been much better. the breakfast, typical italian, is left to be desired. if you want a real sugar kick to start your day, then that's fine. the staff was helpful with the exception of marcello: not helpful, arrogant and truly believes that he can speak good english. gabriella, on the otherhand, went out of her way to find vineyards would could visit. the waiter who lived in germany, was also very helpful. the time the pool was open could have been longer. on the whole, this was a nice hotel although i would not stay there again. .

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angi0825
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2012

We stayed here for a week and overall we had a great stay. The location is good, as its just a 5 minute drive to Syracuse and much nicer to be out in the beautiful countryside of the surrounding hills than in the hustle and bustle of the city centre. It is quite hard to find if you are driving without a SATNAV so we recommend you plan the route carefully beforehand.
The rooms are large and kept immaculately clean, containing all the main things you would expect: fridge; large cupboard; decent drawers etc and the beds were very comfortable. The en suite shower room was fine with a decent power shower although no bath if you want that. The rooms have decent air conditioning and staying in the 38C July heat this was very important.
The main areas of the hotel are nicely decorated and it maintains the authentic farm appeal you see from the outside in a nicely modernised fashion. There is free WIFI in the lobby area and a desktop computer available if you don't have your own laptop.
The outside area is stunning, with two pools and a large well maintained garden. One pool surrounds the restaurant and seemed to be permanently fenced off, but proved a lovely setting for an evening drink or to have a meal round. The main pool is of average size and very nicely presented with a fountain feature and one end. Grass surrounds the edge of the pool and plenty of sun loungers with parasols, and they will bring you food and drink to the poolside if you want.
The food at dinner was OK but a bit too expensive and gourmet for our liking really, and with so many nice restaurants nearby and in central Syracuse we wanted to try something new every night, so we only ate at the hotel on the first night.
Breakfast was included and offers a buffet style with hot drinks served on request. There was a good selection of continental produce but we would have liked to have seen more local fruit.
The staff are all very friendly and most speak good English.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

We were pleased to get into this hotel at short notice through laterooms (as the previous hotel had messed up our booking).

First impressions were good; the hotel is set in a lovely building and our room was large and clean, the bed was comfy and the shower room was OK. The gardens and the pool were nice; the loungers were 70s style deck chair plungers - not that glam but comfy enough.

The strange thing about the place was the atmosphere - or lack of. Whilst the staff were friendly, they were also very formal (and waiters in bow ties). Perhaps it's different in peak season (although we were only just off) but the place felt like it needed livening up.

A little niggle is that guests are requested to be fully clothed at all times (so no dashing from the garden/pool to your room to grab your sunnies/suncream etc without getting fully dressed first).

The food was good but quite pricey and the spa was closed the day I wanted to use it.

Overall this hotel's OK but the wow factor is missing.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarlsC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leidschendam, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2011

This is one of the most beautifull hotel we have ever been in. As said in earlier reviews the whole hotel is beautifull decorated. The room was spotless, with a very nice balcony. Because the hotel also has a Spa even the toiletries were of great quality. The receptionists speak good English (not very common in Sicily) and were very helpful. Diner was nice, only the pace in which diner was served was too quick for us. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndyStef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2011

This was easily the classiest hotel we stayed at. It was beautiful, outside the city, and quite. We had a beautiful room with real wood furniture and one of the 3 or 4 terrasses in the hotel. This is what I pictured Sicily to be like. We spend the evening laying on the lounge chairs in the grass next to the pool. It was super relaxing! This was our favorite poolside environment of the 5 hotels we stayed at in Sicily. The restaurant was also amazing! Our waiter didn't speak English so the chef came and explained what the dishes were, took our order, etc. He was a really nice guy, and we loved his food! And the wine was SO good! The only thing was there were lots of mosquitos, so I wrapped my legs in the table cloth and put on my jacket. Some citronella candles would have been great. We wished we had stayed here longer than one night!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a terrasse!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClowAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2011

A delightful hotel with a lovely swimming pool. Some evenings when a weddding is taking place in the main hotel, the restaurant sets up in the courtyard and this is absolutely delightful with lots of atmosphere and great food, even better than when they serve around the pool.
Very helpful staff

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LindaandRon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Syracuse hotels
3.8 mi away
Hotel Il Parco
Hotel Il Parco
#17 of 74 in Syracuse
114 reviews
4.2 mi away
Borgo Marino Hotel
Borgo Marino Hotel
#28 of 74 in Syracuse
69 reviews
4.8 mi away
Hotel Bulla Regia
Hotel Bulla Regia
#47 of 74 in Syracuse
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Politi
Grand Hotel Villa Politi
#8 of 74 in Syracuse
855 reviews
3.1 mi away
Eureka Palace Hotel Spa Resort
2.8 mi away
Hotel Caiammari
Hotel Caiammari
#9 of 74 in Syracuse
387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Podere Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Podere Hotel

Property: Il Podere Hotel
Address: Traversa Torre Landolina 11, 96100, Syracuse, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Syracuse > Syracuse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Romantic Hotel in Syracuse
#28 Luxury Hotel in Syracuse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Il Podere Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Il Podere Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Il Podere
Il Podere Hotel Sicily/Syracuse, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing