We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Minor problems well handled by excellent staff.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Mercure Siracusa Prometeo
Ranked #8 of 75 Hotels in Syracuse
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 June 2014

It really is very convenient, close to catacombs, museum and the archaeological area. Long walk to Ortiega but there are pizzerias and a supermarket in the adjacent streets and a range of restaurants by the bridge. Intended to take a taxi back but never did. Rooms are classic business hotel, has everything, big enough, comfortable. CHARGE FOR WIFI (very bad). Last day couldn't be bothered to walk into town and ate at hotel. Not unreasonable prices and actually surprisingly good. We did have a problem with aircon, which failed both days but staff relocated us to rooms where it worked (shuts down when room is left, so ring reception to get it reset). Staff tried hard to compensate us, waiving the parking charges and two drinks we had the first day. I suspect (given how pissed off the staff were) the aircon problem is now permanently fixed.

Room Tip: One side faces a noisy road, avoid the first two or three floors on that side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OzS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,151)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

109 - 115 of 1,151 reviews

Reviewed 21 May 2014

In May I didn't have much choice and on the map it looked close to the ancient Archeological area, but it's rather in a busy commercial area overlooking a four lane road.
A long walk to Ortigia, but doable; and for sure faster than driving and trying to park there!
Apart from this, a good business hotel with above average service and reasonable price, so I'm happy.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nico1345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We spent three nights during the week after Easter with our entire family (5 couples and three children) in executive rooms. Nice, clean and modern hotel. Ideally placed close to the archeologic park and walking distance from Ortegia. Big rooms, excellent beds, quiet, great breakfast and very helpful staff.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jean-Gabriel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

I have been using this hotel for a few years with my tour groups - never any problems, in fact, I always feel great coming here... the staff are truly Professionals - they are not only very helpful but very friendly! The rooms are very comfortable and air conditioned. As for location, you can't get any closer to the greek Necropolis Archeological Park - just a 5 minute walk right over to the ticket office. You can't miss the famous Greek Theater at Siracusa.

Room Tip: upper floors are more quiet - plenty of parking
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Antonio C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

My wife and I stayed here for three nights in April of this year and were quite pleased with our experience. Our fifth floor executive room was clean, modern and roomy and generally quiet. The only times noise intruded was when the food staffers on the sixth floor were moving furniture around in connection with meals. This began no earlier than 7:00 a.m. and ended by 10:00 p.m., so it never interfered with our sleep. As has been noted by others, breakfasts were excellent and the hotel staff was very friendly and efficient. The archaeological park is quite close to the hotel, but Ortigia is about a 30 minute walk (or a 10 euro cab ride) away. The hotel has a free, if somewhat cramped, parking lot.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vaoenophile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

The hotel is just across the road from the entrance to the archaeological park but is a 15-20 minute walk down to the old town of Ortigia.

The hotel has an enclosed car park where you can park for free or they also have a secure car park for which you can pay.

Check in/out was very quick & easy and all the staff were very friendly, providing directions & a free map as well as a list of the bus numbers which came past the hotel.

The room was very good with a great bathroom containing an excellent shower. The room had tea & coffee making facilities and a flat screen TV.

The breakfast was excellent with everything you could wish for - including hot bacon, frankfurter style sausages and scrambled eggs. The breakfast is also served on the 6th floor where you can get great views of the city. There is also a pool on the roof of the hotel which offers stunning views.

Room Tip: Looking out over the archaeological park
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John_The_Miner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank hellywelly99
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Syracuse hotels
4.2 mi away
Hotel Borgo Pantano
Hotel Borgo Pantano
#1 of 75 in Syracuse
1,213 reviews
1.2 mi away
Algila Ortigia Charme Hotel
1.5 mi away
Charme Hotel Henry's House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
UNA Hotel One
UNA Hotel One
#12 of 75 in Syracuse
1,061 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Politi
Grand Hotel Villa Politi
#10 of 75 in Syracuse
920 reviews
0.8 mi away
Grande  Albergo Alfeo
Grande Albergo Alfeo
#11 of 75 in Syracuse
707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mercure Siracusa Prometeo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mercure Siracusa Prometeo

Address: Viale Teracati 20, 96100, Syracuse, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Syracuse > Syracuse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Syracuse
#6 Family Hotel in Syracuse
#7 Romantic Hotel in Syracuse
#8 Luxury Hotel in Syracuse
Price Range: £64 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mercure Siracusa Prometeo 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is centrally located adjacent to the historical archaeological zone and within close proximity to the Paolo Orsi Museum, the shopping district, as well as the historical island of Ortigia. It's an ideal structure for both business and tourist guests. The hotel offers 93 air-conditioned rooms, and includes an open-air, roof-top swimming pool with panoramic views, a solarium, a conference centre, two bars, and underground garage and external parking. The inviting, full buffet breakfast uses local Sicilian produce. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, ACCOR, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Mercure Siracusa Prometeo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Siracusa Prometeo
Mercure Hotel Syracuse
Hotel Mercure Siracusa Prometeo Sicily/Syracuse, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing