We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful modern hotel, 2 mins from Ortigia.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Palazzo Cavalieri
Ranked #20 of 75 Hotels in Syracuse
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 November 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights on our way from Fontane Bianche to Taormina.

Beautiful hotel!

We had a wonderful duplex room (almost an apartment) that just sang to us.

The staff were superb (especially our breakfast server - give her a payrise please!). Helpful, accommodating, and very knowledgable.

The breakfast was extremely good for Italy (if you've been before you know what I mean) - locally sourced products and very fresh fruit etc. (Although, as per everywhere in Italy, the fruit juice was from a carton - why does everyone do this when there is such an abundance of fresh fruit everywhere?!!!).

They also had (for Italy) a very good WiFi policy - no need to log on/off - no expiring cryptic passwords - brilliant and respect for this - it's very rare for some reason in this country.

Would definitely stay there again - it's not the cheapest, and you're not in the centre of Ortigia, but we actually saw this as a bonus. Nice 10 min walk to the end of the island, and nice walk back at night after a ridiculously large meal :)

Room Tip: No idea! I suspect they're all great. We were in No 1 which was pretty much a duplex apartment...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RobAndAlex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (588)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

123 - 129 of 588 reviews

Reviewed 3 November 2013

Spent one night at this hotel while visiting Siracusa. I liked the location next to Ortigia but not right in it. The rooms were small but clean, the common spaces were lovely and the staff was very helpful. There is no parking for the hotel but street parking was pretty easy to find.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tressa90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

wonderful ,charming small hotel ideally located to walk to Ortygia or the Greek amphitheater.All of the staff was friendly and extremely helpful in all of our needs. Nice selection of items at breakfast including home mage cakes and jam. We had the standard room which was good sized and so was th e bathroom.We had two full days in Siracusa which we throughly enjoyed. Special thanks to Maria for all her help.

Room Tip: we were happy with our standard room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Viajero-Alfa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Siracusa is a great place to spend a few days. The Greek Theatre is fantastic along with a number of other antiquities, while the island of Ortigia is a great place to wander around and eat in.

This hotel is just off the island but you are there in under 5 minutes stroll.

We had a room facing the courtyard - which was fine and pretty quiet. The hotel was very functional rather than charming with everything finished "just so". The breakfast was both interesting and very pleasant.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Howell D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Our experience of staying at the Hotel Cavalieri was first class. The location for us was perfect - easy walking to all that we wanted to see day and evening in Siracusa and parking outside was effortless. The staff were a delight - nothing was too much trouble.
Breakfasts were excellent and the roof garden a joy - the staff were happy to bring drinks up there for us in the early evening.
The hotel has been modernised to a very high standard, clean and quiet - apart from some road noise the first night - perhaps request a back room if you stay on a Monday night when they clean the streets!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caj52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We highly recommend the Hotel Cavalieri. It is just few minutes outside the Island of Ortigia. The owners, Mrs/Mr LoManto were delightful, warm and welcoming. Their son Gianluca and his wife Maria were great fun and attentive.
The hotel is very modern, and was completely redone by the LoManto family, whose son is an architect. Breakfast was the best of all the hotels we stayed. The family was gracious. We can't say enough about this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Norma J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Breakfast was 5 stars, location is mid point, 10 min walk from train station. I personally felt like we were under screening by couple of staff. I didn't like the older lady who works or manages that place to ask me to take my bare feet from the white leather sofa. My feet was wrapped with my long dress and it wasn't dirty. She should be concerned about the dirty shower that should have been bleached and scrubbed before I arrived.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank FaccioStoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Syracuse hotels
0.5 mi away
Algila Ortigia Charme Hotel
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Ortigia
Grand Hotel Ortigia
#16 of 75 in Syracuse
688 reviews
0.5 mi away
Antico Hotel Roma 1880
Antico Hotel Roma 1880
#3 of 75 in Syracuse
618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4 mi away
Hotel Borgo Pantano
Hotel Borgo Pantano
#1 of 75 in Syracuse
1,215 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grande  Albergo Alfeo
Grande Albergo Alfeo
#11 of 75 in Syracuse
712 reviews
0.7 mi away
Charme Hotel Henry's House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palazzo Cavalieri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palazzo Cavalieri

Address: Via Malta 42, 96100, Syracuse, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Syracuse > Syracuse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Syracuse
#1 Romantic Hotel in Syracuse
#18 Luxury Hotel in Syracuse
Price Range: £55 - £197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Palazzo Cavalieri 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Palazzo Cavalieri, at the edge of the ancient city center, is a case in point; this old aristocratic residence belongs to a family of architects and designers, who've turned its 19th-century halls and rooms into a charmingly eclectic, thoroughly contemporary boutique hotel. The location, on Via Malta, is just to the mainland side of the bridge to Ortygia, which is the original ancient Greek settlement. This means easy access by day and a measure of peace by night. As does the hotel itself - these old walls shut out the noise, sealing guests in to a fantasy of noble life. It's not a period piece, though; along with the well-preserved original architecture you'll find all manner of contemporary touches, rooms featuring brand-new bath fixtures, beds and electronics and furnished with mid-century design classics. With few rooms it's perhaps a bit bigger than it feels - from within the rooms you'd be hard pressed not to imagine you're the old house's sole resident. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Palazzo Cavalieri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cavalieri Hotel Syracuse
Hotel Palazzo Cavalieri Sicily/Syracuse, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing