We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic trip in Siracusa”
Review of Hotel Populus

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Populus
Ranked #157 of 235 Syracuse B&B and Inns
Reviewed 13 May 2014

I spent a great weekend in Siracusa. Thanks to this Hotel, I was very close to the city center and to the beach, just 5minutes by walking. I liked so much this hotel because, most of all, it was so close to most of the best place of the city and furthermore I found all the comfort I needed: very good hospitality, wonderful and clean rooms, parking for the car, good breakfast and a graceful roof to relax and get tanned.
A special thanks to Tony for the good advice he gave me to spend a good holiday and a special kiss to Simona, what a beautiful woman :). I hope to see you soon guys

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 82Danny82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (101)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 101 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2013

Good price, for rooms with included breakfest. Very kind and helpful receptionist with english capabilities which is not always the case in sicily:)
Its located 20 min walk from the old city center which is okay... it also have wifi ind the reception

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nikolajla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2012

This hotel was such a find. Small, simple, family run. I went to Siracusa to visit the race track my father went to as a young sailor in the 50's. The city is gorgeous and the small, simple hotel was perfect. The owner (father of the manager) was on hand to ferry me across town on my last morning, which was much appreciated.

I will probably return to Siracusa and to this hotel. Thank you for your hospitality.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Crystal-Globe-com
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2012

The room is clean and cosy. We stayed at this place for 3 nights, excellent hosts, throughout our stay they were very polite and friendly and made us feel welcome. Overall great experience: a very pleasant place to stay for visiting Sirscusa.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sebaxl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2012

As we were backpacking around Sicily we were looking for affordable accommodation. This fitted the bill perfectly.

The location was excellent. It is just a few minutes walk from Ortygia (which is beautiful and peaceful) and about 15 minutes walk from the catacombs and Archaeological Zone.

The hotel is clean, the staff are extremely friendly and the breakfast was the best we had in our two weeks in Sicily.

We had to leave early the last day to catch a bus and we received an email from the hotel to apologise that we didn't get breakfast. How nice is that?

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Garreth_Cur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2012

This summer me and my girlfriend wanted to visit Sicily. We found the Populus Hotel through internet. We booked and we arrived. We do not speak Italian but fortunately the people in the reception they were speaking english fluently ! (This is rare in the south of Italy, and specially to Sicily!). The hotel is well situated, near the center of the town in a friendly neighbourhood.It is easy to access the local museums and also the very famous Greek amphitheater ! There is a bus station just by the road of the hotel. Near the hotel can be found small traditional Italian restaurants that their prices are very reasonable.Finally the breakfast was awesome, with plenty of food and of course the best Italian coffee ! They provide free internet access with good bandwidth. I will certainly visit again Sicily and i will stay in the same hotel for sure. I highly suggest this hotel for everyone that want to visit Sicily !

Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Nicola G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2012

There was so much noise coming from across the street from an old lady that kept screaming all day long, from the traffic on the street below and from the AC unit that I hardly got any sleep... And this was a quiet room.

On the plus side - location is OK, staff is as friendly as they can be with little foreign language skills. That's it.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeogradIgor_S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Syracuse hotels
0.6 mi away
Algila Ortigia Charme Hotel
3.3 mi away
Hotel Principe di Fitalia Wellness & SPA
4.3 mi away
Hotel Casale Milocca
Hotel Casale Milocca
#1 of 1 in Arenella
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Ortigia
Grand Hotel Ortigia
#14 of 75 in Syracuse
689 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grande  Albergo Alfeo
Grande Albergo Alfeo
#11 of 75 in Syracuse
712 reviews
2 mi away
Grand Hotel Minareto
Grand Hotel Minareto
#9 of 75 in Syracuse
1,312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Populus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Populus

Address: Via Pasubio 23/25 | (angolo via Degli Orti S. Giorgio), 96100, Syracuse, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Syracuse > Syracuse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #157 of 235 B&Bs / Inns in Syracuse
Price Range: £25 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Populus 1*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Populus is one structure recently restructured, situated to little meters from the Sanctuary of the Madonna delle Lacrime, to its strategic position the tourist might easy to catch up on foot the main tourist goals: the archaeological museum Paolo Orsi, the only museum to the world of the papyrus, the Catacombe of S, Giovanni. and the archaeological park of the Neapolis where monuments of world-wide importance recognized from the UNESCO than :The Greek Theatre, the ear of Dionisio, the cove of the Cordari, the Roman Amphitheater, the Latomie of the Paradise are found etc. From the Populus the island of Ortigia ”historical part” is easiest to catch up pure ,e to visit therefore the ruins of the temple of Apollo and all the one which of most beautiful the characterize .in the outskirtses is signaled, along the way Elorina, the Roman Gymnasium, the Ciane (were river grows the papyrus) and the rests of the temple of Zeus. In order to satisfy the requirements of the lovers of the sea to ten kilometers the most beautiful beaches with adapted structures to every requirement can be found. The comfortable rooms and fine furnished are all equipped of: private bathroom, air-conditioning, tv.color and fridge-bar. Our guests have also the possibility to use a solarium to the inside of the structure, the car park and breakfast all included in the price. Conventions with restaurants, center well-being and hairdressing salons .Upon request tourist guide and excursions in boat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK) and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Populus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Populus Sicily/Syracuse, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing