We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home!”
Review of B&B Itaca

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
B&B Itaca
Ranked #96 of 226 Syracuse B&B and Inns
California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Home away from home!”
Reviewed 23 January 2013

Was staying at this B&B like staying in a five star hotel with all the amenities, where everything was perfect? No! But, that's not what we wanted. We wanted a reasonable place to spend our time in Ortygia, but we had no idea we would have such an amazing stay here. Staying here was like staying at home, where Giuseppe and his assistant tried so hard to make our stay comfortable. They helped us with planning our trip, they even helped us with getting our phone to work with the Italian SIM card. In short, the location is perfect, you wake up to one of the most beautiful fontanas in Ortygia, the rooms are modern and comfortable, but the best part of the stay is the hosts here, they take such good care of you!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank S S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    41
    5
    1
    2
See reviews for
19
77
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 October 2012

Everything about this place is nice. The room is nice, staff is extremely helpful and the location is excellent. The breakfast in the cafe across the square was one of the best we had during our travels in Sicily.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GuyK_nld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2012 via mobile

We stayed at Itaca for two nights in late June 2012 after a mix-up with our reservation at a different B&B. The rooms are spacious and impeccably clean and the management very helpful and welcoming. The central location is excellent and means that the lack of breakfast at Itaca itself is not so much of an issue. It's possible to park outside to load and unload but otherwise parking is a 10/15 minute walk away (worth it to be able to stay in the centre of Ortigia).

Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank SW7Boy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2011

We didn't book, simply turned up. No problems - the owner was friendly and welcoming, advising us on good places to eat. The room was spacious, well equipped, quiet and stylish. Really liked the single piece of marble used for the shower tray. Very comfortable bed. Totally relaxing,

Room Tip: Our room was not on the streetside so quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2011

We've absolutely enjoyed our stay at B&B Itaca. Great location in the middle of Ortigia, park your car for free on the "mainland" and make the 5-10 minute walk into the city center. Giuseppe is a very kind host who will try to help you find the places of interest and really nice restaurants, although his english is limited :) beautiful interior of the bedroom and bathroom which gives the feeling of luxury for b&b prices. Would recommend this b&b to friends and anybody else!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tliebregts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2011

We stayed here for 3 days in July 2011. We found it to be utterly charming, grande, and more than we expected (we were coming from Paris, where we'd spent the same Euros for a one-room hovel.) No surprise. The host doesn't speak English, but he does his best to insure that guests have what they need. Our laptop converters were blowing out fuses, and on our final day, we took our fuses to him, along with our converters, and explained that we just needed to find an electrical shop. He dialed up someone to speak English with us, and she sent us on a short 5 minute walk, and voila....we had enough fuses to get us around Sicily. This B&B is superb. It was our favorite place, and I scoured Touristadvisor.com for months before leaving. We didn't like the breakfasts either, coffee and sweet roll; major disappointment. But I can get over it already. First meal of the day....this B&B is close to several (within a block or two) of meat and bread shops where you can carry away a picnic you'll always remember.

Room Tip: ask for a balconey room overlooking the Square, unless you HATE night noise. No issue with A/C on a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sara722003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgia
Level Contributor
311 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2011

We spent quite a bit of time researching to find a reasonably-priced hotel in Ortigia. We were lucky to find B&B Itaca as the price was right and the room was one of the most comfortable of our 17-day trip to Sicily. It even had a small kitchen in addition to the king-sized bed and lots of storage space. When we arrived, the owner gave us a map of the city and made excellent suggestions for places to visit and also restaurants. His restaurant recommendations were excellent. As mentioned, breakfast was served in the bar below the hotel. It was o.k.--a pastry and coffee.

We parked at the Talete parking lot for 1 Euro per night. It was a 5-minute walk to the hotel (uphill.) Our room overlooked the fountain in Piazza Archimede so at times, it was noisy at night but quieted down after mid-night. Not a problem for us but might be for some. Not sure but there may be a quieter room available but if noise is an issue you could check with the owner

The location, reasonable cost, and kindness of the owner would be hard to beat.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marsle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Syracuse hotels
0.2 mi away
Residence Hotel Alla Giudecca
0.4 mi away
Hotel Cavalieri
Hotel Cavalieri
#17 of 75 in Syracuse
568 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bed & Breakfast Diana
Bed & Breakfast Diana
#74 of 226 in Syracuse
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
I Santi Coronati B&B Ortigia Suite
0.0 mi away
B&B Five Rooms
B&B Five Rooms
#39 of 226 in Syracuse
41 reviews
0.2 mi away
B&B Del Centro Storico
B&B Del Centro Storico
#150 of 226 in Syracuse
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B Itaca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Itaca

Property: B&B Itaca
Address: Piazza Archimede 2, 96100, Syracuse, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Syracuse > Syracuse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #96 of 226 B&Bs / Inns in Syracuse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — B&B Itaca 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your B&B Itaca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
B&B Itaca Sicily/Syracuse, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing