We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly Placido”
Review of Villaggio Placido

Villaggio Placido
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Villaggio Placido
Reviewed 14 October 2013

This is a truly magical place. The 10 cottages are spread throughout the rustic landscaping. Each seems to have it’s own charm. The cottage I stayed in had a magnificent view of the tiny cove where the Villaggio is situated. The cottage is well equipped and very clean. The beds are comfortable with nice linens. The kitchen is quite modern and had everything one could want to prepare a wonderful meal. Lots of pots and pans, dishes, bowls, etc.

The cottage is full of interesting art and some gorgeous rustic antiques. The kind of furniture a worker and not a wealthy person would have owned hundreds of years ago. If you’re into luxury this is not the place for you. Everything here has a charm. I would liken it to going to a grandparent’s home- nicely appointed with interesting items that have been collected over the years but needing a little bit more upkeep than grandpa can manage.

The owners are very casual and gracious. They let me stay the full day my last day because the weather was poor and I had to catch a ferry that night. Very unusual in this day and age. The cottages are less than a minute walk down a couple of staircases to the beach but the beach isn’t much. Somewhat rocky and the sand is quite gritty. But the water is clean and warm so lots of swimming opportunities.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cmbtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (16)
There are newer reviews for Villaggio Placido
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 9 of 16 reviews

Reviewed 25 September 2012

A very nice and tranquil place to stay. We stayed with friends in cottages 1 and 3. Both were well equipped, with private terraces. Easy access to the beach. The gardens were just as the information said, beautiful, and quiet. There were good restaurants, and shops near by.
All in all a very nice and relaxed place to stay. We would certainly come back here again.

Room Tip: All the cottages in the gardens looked very good. Don't think any will disapoint
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank LynnPoly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2008

Villaggio Placido offers clean, comfortable, self contained accommodation at a reasonable price. A rare combination in Taormina! We stayed in no. villa 9 in mid September 2008 for 10 nights and quite enjoyed our stay. The host was pleasant and relatively helpful by Sicilian standards. She did however muddle her English when telling us the best place to by our groceries from. As a result, we were completely ripped off by the nearby mini-mart. She meant to say that the better supermarket with more reasonable prices is up in Taormina itself! A packet of pasta, tinned tomatoes, some eggs, some proscuitto, two peaches, a jar of Nutella and 70 EURO later, it was all too late!!

I've rated this accommodation above average because it really is good value for money for Taormina. However, for me, coming from Australia, where beautiful beaches and tranquility are things we take for granted, I thought I would impart the following -

There is direct access to the beach from VP. However, 'the beach' is not much of a beach. Most of it is private and therefore not accessible and the part that is accessible is the worst section. Pot holes, boats everywhere and hardly a patch to put your towel down.

The villas are set amongst gorgeous lemon, lime and olive trees however, what you can't get a feel for from the website is to the right of the property is a concrete jungle of a five star hotel. And if you stay in any of the villas on the right side of the property (6 and 9 are two on this side) you can expect the following gems -

The constant hum (24/7) from the hotel's massive air conditioning tower and the DAILY visit by garbage trucks to collect the hotel waste, that usually arrive between 6am and 7am and take about 15 minutes to complete.

The former we got used to, the latter just ruined the 'tranquility' of the place and it was infuriating after about day 2.

Another thing to note is that if you need to do any laundry, the host will insist that she take it and do it for you, despite the fact that the two washing machines she has, look fairly straight forward to operate. She will then add a laundry fee to the bill at the end of your stay. We did 3 loads whilst we were there and she asked for 30 Euro to cover it.

Besides this, if you are looking for value for money accommodation in the Taormina area, I would recommend VP. FYI - Letojanni is a better option for a beach.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Reneeski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2008

I am reviewing the Villagio Placido villas in Mazzaro Bay, Taormina, Sicily.
I didn't see another review except that it is listed as accomodation on tripadvisor. I stayed there recently with my partner for a week's holiday to beautiful Taormina in the south east of Sicily. Our Villa was 1 of 10 villa's in a very quiet area with beautiful gardens. We had lots of outside space with seating and a fantastic view over mazzaro bay. The villa itself was large and very clean with living room, bathroom, kitchen, and happened to have 2 bedrooms. The lady who greeted us was warm and friendly and even let us take refuge on her veranda when we were caught in a thunderstorm on the way to our villa. The beach was only 30 seconds walk away and we had a key to lock the gate to the beach for safety and security. The cable car up to Taormina town is only 2 minutes walk. My favourite thing about the villa was the view and the lemon, lime and olive trees outside our window. Would recommend villagio placido villas for couples or families. It's a piece of heaven away from home.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank happyholsplease
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank giulialreadytaken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
Thank elettra59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank marco S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.0 mi away
Ipanema Hotel
Ipanema Hotel
#53 of 87 in Taormina
209 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Gallodoro
Hotel Gallodoro
#71 of 87 in Taormina
37 reviews
0.0 mi away
Taormina Garden Hotel
Taormina Garden Hotel
#38 of 87 in Taormina
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Atlantis Bay
Grand Hotel Atlantis Bay
#32 of 87 in Taormina
153 reviews
0.9 mi away
Soleado
Soleado
#17 of 87 in Taormina
533 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jonic Hotel Mazzaro
Jonic Hotel Mazzaro
#3 of 4 in Mazzaro
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villaggio Placido? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villaggio Placido

Address: Via Nazionale 153 | Mazzaro, 98030, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 47 Speciality Lodging in Taormina
Price Range: £89 - £199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Villaggio Placido reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villaggio Placido Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing