We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful”
Review of Bel Soggiorno

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bel Soggiorno
Ranked #65 of 87 Hotels in Taormina
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Stayed in room 29. The views were simply breathtaking. The room was for three of us and consisted of a main bedroom ( large double and single bed) with a smaller sitting area, our daughter decided to sleep in the sitting area on the large sofa ( apparently we snore). Very clean, lovely fluffy white towels and room cleaned daily. Older in fashion than say Spain, it had an air of a bygone more gentile era... almost expected Poirot to walk in! But it was very charming and friendly, would go back tomorrow. Our 11 year old loved it too.... She is 'cultured', and doesn't need a kids club... found the WiFi very useful though. Breakfast was buffet/continental and the staff were always replenishing whatever was on offer. No lifts and plenty of steps so be careful if you have any walking difficulties, but we have absolutely nothing negative to say about this lovely place. We have stayed in the much more expensive Villa Paradiso before, but this is the one we would return to (provided we could have the same room).

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Anthony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (55)
There are newer reviews for Bel Soggiorno
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 55 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2013

We stayed in room 9, what a view! We see Mt Etna and the ocean from our window. Last night there were fireworks in the small town below us. It's a short 9 min walk to down town, and you ate not on these roads. Hosts are wonderful, breakfast terrace is stunning. Continential breakfast. Room is typically European, and clean. Highly recommended, an experience not to be missed.

Stayed: June 2013
2  Thank Nora D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights in July of 2012 to see a Sting concert at the Teatro (Great show!). It's a very nice classic old hotel in an interesting location that is not exactly in town but a ways down towards the beach, however not really close enough to it to be walkable, therefore you would need to walk up into the town and take the cable car down.
The walk into town is not too bad but there are definitely quite a few stairs involved and in the heat of July was a little tough (burns the calories from that great Sicilian food!).
I had a very small single room that was neat and clean but nothing more (no view or balcony) but I guess with the cheap rate that I paid that was to be expected. Most other rooms however seem to have either private balconies or communal terraces with spectacular views.
The breakfast area is mostly outdoors with great views and the food itself was varied and more than adequate in my opinion, though the heat was stifling even in the morning (not their fault I guess!).
I believe they only serve food one night a week but there are no lack of places to eat great food in the area.
There was free parking which is great, but seems limited and don't know if they sometimes fill up.
I believe WIFI was free in public areas but can't exactly recall.
The staff were nice and helpful.
Great stay overall but just be aware that it is somewhat away from the town and amenities (which may be a plus for some).

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brian6d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2013

I stayed at this hotel when I was a child, 30 years ago, my family went back in 1997 and our last visit has been over the past weekend, with my husband, children, parents and cousins. Its charming atmosphere and fantastic views have remained suspended in time. Beautiful. We would have loved to stay on for months if only we could.
The rooms are clean and aristocratically elegant. We spent enjoyable time on the terrace overlooking the bay and mount Etna, which offered us a spectacular eruption the night we arrived. The hotel owners and staff are extremely gentle and efficient.
The white walls, beautiful interiors and decors in the common areas, the mediterranean gardens all around and the perfume of sicilian jasmine make it the IDEAL stay when in Taormina. Quiet and in a very convenient location, we will definitely come back to this hotel.

Room Tip: The rooms with terraces overlooking the bay are great for spending a lazy afternoon in a charmingly...
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nayantara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2013

Our room was simply furnished but very comfortable and opened up onto a spacious terrace overlooking the sea with a million dollar view. We shared the large terrace with three other rooms, but a 'wall' of blossoming bushes made the space feel more private. The breakfast/lunch room also faces the sea with a similar view. We felt the 10 euro cost for breakfast was good value as there were many choices. The proprietor was very helpful and friendly. It was about a 10 minute uphill walk to the lively streets of town offering many restaurant and shops.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pat E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2012

Nice old fashioned villa with fantastic views of both the sea and Mount Etna from our terrace. Rooms basic but clean. Breakfast was good with friendly staff. The hotel is situated below the centre of Taormina which meant a 10-15 minute walk up a fairly steep hill to get to the shops, bars, restaurants and cable car. This helps to walk off the food but was hard work with the heatwave we had during our stay.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 686Nick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2011

A friendly, family run small hotel. Small balconies with lovely views, and Etna from the landing windows. Free use of internet on computer in lounge.
The family offered an evening meal on Weds, local specialities and wine, with songs and music by family members, superb value and a great occasion.
There's also a Little Yellow local bus, from the hotel to the town bus station, frequently in mornings, lunch and late afternoons. I'd injured my knee so the shortish steep walk into town was difficult, but the little bus saved my holiday. The Thomson rep didn't know about it, even Reception weren't sure.
Take the train round Etna, easy to organise on the sleek express, then the old train, and back on the modern one.
A great holiday, an area with plenty of variety, archaeology, a concert, sea and sun, a pleasant town as well as a nice hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank hazelbrownYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.1 mi away
Bel Soggiorno Hotel
Bel Soggiorno Hotel
#19 of 87 in Taormina
429 reviews
0.1 mi away
Taormina Park Hotel
Taormina Park Hotel
#63 of 87 in Taormina
281 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Diodoro
Hotel Villa Diodoro
#31 of 87 in Taormina
944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ariston
Hotel Ariston
#22 of 87 in Taormina
1,026 reviews
0.3 mi away
Meridiana Hotel Taormina
Meridiana Hotel Taormina
#72 of 87 in Taormina
75 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#13 of 87 in Taormina
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bel Soggiorno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bel Soggiorno

Address: Via Luigi Pirandello 60 | Quercianella, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 87 Hotels in Taormina
Price Range: £65 - £158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bel Soggiorno 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bel Soggiorno Hotel Restaurant, restored in 1998, is set in a charming position over the sea, in Quercianella. We offer you a garden with pine-wood, a solarium and a private beach area. All our bedrooms are ensuite with tv colour, telephone, balcony and a wonderful view of the sea. Our restaurant has a air-conditioned hall. We will offer you a typical menu of Mediterranean and Tuscan cooking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK) and Cancelon so you can book your Bel Soggiorno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bel Soggiorno Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing