We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a gem in Piazza San Domenico”

Osteria Nero D'avola
Ranked #29 of 274 Restaurants in Taormina
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Ingatestone, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“a gem in Piazza San Domenico”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We discovered this restaurant from the Eyewitness Travel guide. It is situated in the peaceful and lovely Piazza San Domenico just opposite the exclusive hotel. We ate upstairs outside on a beautiful evening. . Service was friendly and efficient and all the dishes were explained well. They were certainly different. Our starter was slices/slithers of artichoke ,lemon and cheese all served beautifully in a long rectangular strip. Very different,very filling and very good ! We both avoided the tray of fresh fish shown to us but did select fish dishes from the menu ,again different and excellent. We were recommended a fresh Sicilian white. We could only manage one sweet between us which we were told had been made by Christine,,a staff member. Not a cheap meal but prices were fair . The outsides tables were all full which says it all. A great find !

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ALANJL55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

663 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    376
    164
    67
    33
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Neptune, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
“Well prepared, fresh food”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

My husband had already made this reservation before I arrived in Sicily - we had heard about this place from folks online and thought we definitely need to try it!

As it was my first dinner in Sicily, I was eager to try everything! We decided on two antipasti. A shaved artichoke salad and an orange and avocado salad. Both were incredible fresh and delicious!

We skipped the pastas and went straight for the fresh caught bream. My husband and I shared a whole fish, grilled perfectly with a side of grilled vegetables. All drizzled with amazing olive oil! Again, very fresh, very tasty!

We didnt do dessert here only because my husband had his heart set on a cannoli and unfortuantely they did not have them that evening.

Didnt think the prices were high at all - particularly for a touristy town like Taormina.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Clare C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“One of the best meals we have ever had!”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We were actually looking for another restaurant that had been recommended to us when we stumbled across Osteria Nero D'avola. Having had an average meal the night before, we cautiously looked at the menu when Turi, the owner, came out and showed us the mushrooms that had been picked that day, the last of the asparagus for that season and the tray of fresh fish and we were hooked. If you want fresh, seasonal produce cooked with love, you cannot get any better. Before we had even ordered, we were served bruschetta, anchovies (which were incredible) and small clams (what we call pippies in Australia) all on the house. The food was nothing short of amazing - after tasting each dish we didn't think it could get better but it did. We had mussels, octopus and lemon and tuna cannolo for entree and swordfish and zuchinni and tuna pasta for mains. Having finished our main, we didn't think we could make dessert however we didn't want to miss out on more incredible dishes - we are so glad we ordered it! The tiramisu and poached pear were melt in the mouth amazing. The staff were attentive, extremely knowledgable and great fun. You cannot visit Taormina without eating at this restaurant! Thank you to Turi and your staff for making a truly memorable evening for is - we had got engaged the day before and your restaurant made the perfect celebration dinner for us!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nadia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
st louis,mo
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Dopped in for dinner. Should have kept walking”
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We were looking for a dinner restaurant and this place looked decent.. The owner was very nice but the food and the prices wrier definitely not worth it.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank jklein50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turi S, Proprietario at Osteria Nero D'avola, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Thanks for writing a review for our restaurant. Thanks for the compliment too.
About your review I can only answer that we are not commercial restaurant, and all our dishes we prepare in case, using fresh and organic ingredients only: the best of availability on sale. This is the reason of our proportioned prices.
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flower Mound, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Best meal of the trip!”
Reviewed 24 May 2014

This restaurant came highly recommended by a dear friend! We were in Taormina on a cruise stop and had lunch at Osteria Nero D'avola. The owner, Turi, came out and welcomed us with a special treat of flower of the zucchini stuffed with cheese. Wow, what a start to a delicious meal! They offer different olive oils to try with bread, a great wine list, local fish and vegetables. We splurged and tried the Sarago whole fish which was grilled and then deboned table side. Perfect! I can't say enough good things about this restaurant!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Debby44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Osteria Nero D'avola also viewed

Taormina, Province of Messina
Taormina, Province of Messina
 
Taormina, Province of Messina
Taormina, Province of Messina
 
Taormina, Province of Messina
Taormina, Province of Messina
 

Been to Osteria Nero D'avola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing