We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”
Review of La Grotta Azzurra

La Grotta Azzurra
Ranked #110 of 263 Restaurants in Taormina
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

We visited this restaurant twice. On the first occasion it was good. No great but good. Staff were friendly and the food ok. My sea bass was a little overlooked but it was forgivable. On the second visit it was a disaster! Our table of nine were all served their meals at different times. A shambles. My scampi was burnt and In edible. I did ask for a replacement but alas it didn't really make the mark. I would pass this by as there are far better places to eat. Shame as it had potential but missed by a mile.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gillian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

546 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    180
    149
    68
    62
    87
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Great fish display, over-cooked on arrival”
Reviewed 2 May 2014

£39 for one fish. Expect that as a tourist. You don;t expect to have to pay extra for side dishes and the fish arrives so overcooked it was dry and tasteless. Shame. Was a nice fish!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank SDodgson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
59 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

You can choose your fish in a refrigerated display case in the odor of the restaurant
Everithing is extremely fresh as the owner is a fisherman
Excellent cost benefit
Well Located And godo honest food

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Regina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very Bizarre place indeed. Cheer for the family, beware the food.”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We couldn't have enjoyed the family and atmosphere any more.
Both were spectacular and everything you would hope for from a romantic Sicilian experience.

However, that said. The food was HORRIBLE.

Very bizarre to read others problems from their experience or their enjoyment.

We had no issues or problems with the bill and the price. The cost of our meal was exactly what we expected based on what we ordered. We did not receive any food pressure either to order expensive things. We even went so far as to accept a wine recommendation without knowing the cost and ended up only being charged 30 Euro for a very nice bottle of wine.

We loved Carmello and his personality.

One thing we did notice though is that interest in us died when we only ordered one appetizer, two pastas and a plate of Scampi to share. It seemed liked we became 2nd class once they realized we were trying to keep our bill under 100 Euro.

We would say in our honest opinion that the worst part of our experience at La Grotto Azzura
would be the food, and maybe they should look into getting a new chef. Because other than the food, everything else was amazing.

About the food. With all the hype about fresh fish, we were very disappointed in
the plate of marinated fish we received.

First 3/4 of it smelled and tasted fishy, the cuts were horrible and seemed like they came from a meat slicer vice a chef with a sharp blade that knows fish.

Second the selection we were given for marinated fish left a lot to be desired. It was the cheapest fish you could possibly serve raw.

Raw shrimp is fine if it's absolutely fresh and from the local area. Serving what seemed like 1 or 2 day old shrimp is not Okay and clearly running the risk of food poisoning.

Third, the pastas were horrible. The Risotto was under cooked and came in a sauce with the consistency of water. Seriously, a Sicilian should be sincerely ashamed they served such a horrible Risotto.

Lastly and the one saving grace for our food experience was the Scampi.
But, let's be honest. Anyone can boil a shell fish and serve it in a butter sauce.

One piece of advice to raise La Grotto Azzura to a level where these complaints stop.
Hire a new chef. If you can't make Risotto or slice fresh fish you don't belong in a Sicilian restaurant.

Ambiance, Atmosphere, Production and authentic Sicilian feel A+++.
Food D-

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pennie_78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great seafood”
Reviewed 7 January 2014

This is a seafood restaurant with a chilled cabinet outside with the catch of the day on display. Inside, a couple of small rooms were provided with tables, and ours overlooked the kitchen so we could watch our food being prepared.

We ordered from the menu - both starting with mixed shellfish in garlic, tomatoes and wine, followed by mixed grilled fresh fish. The waiter tried to persuade us to change our main course selections to the fish of the day, but we stuck to our choices. We had fries and salad to accompany it. The food was exceptional, really lovely.

There was a wine list at the back of the menu, but it gave no idea about the character of the wines involved so we asked for a recommendation - you don't go to Sicily to drink the wine, but it was acceptable. We finished off with a glass of Grappa each, which was very good.

In all, a good experience. I would have preferred not to have been asked to argue against an alternative to the main course I had chosen, but the food was excellent and the service speedy and amiable. It was a good visit.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Andie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Grotta Azzurra also viewed

Taormina, Province of Messina
Taormina, Province of Messina
 
Taormina, Province of Messina
Taormina, Province of Messina
 
Taormina, Province of Messina
Taormina, Province of Messina
 

Been to La Grotta Azzurra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing