We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, excellent staff”
Review of Hotel Continental

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Continental
Ranked #13 of 87 Hotels in Taormina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 March 2010

I stayed at the Continental Hotel in Taormina in June 2009 with my wife. We chose this hotel because there were so many good reviews on it. The hotel itself was originally built in the 1960’s, and this is apparent in the style of the building. It has a very dated look, despite a supposed renovation in recent years. The lounge has a very large picture window which looks directly toward Mt Etna. You can sit and watch the volcano from a choice of Austin Powers style chairs or high winged armchairs. The décor seems as though it is stuck in a 60’s time warp, and the floor received a coat of hardwearing paint over its vinyl tiles during the revamp!
Having said this, the staff were the most polite and accommodating people you could hope to meet. Whatever you needed to know, it was never too much trouble, and their knowledge of the local area, and the island in general was very helpful. The sun terrace was absolutely enormous, and had a unrivalled view of the bay, Mt Etna, and down into the town. The sun terrace was furnished with 3 large parasols, a plethora of cast chairs and a selection of tables tiled in local designs. The tiled floor was showing signs of age, but with a view like this, you didn’t need to look down!
The room was very comfortable, and more than adequate, with free air conditioning and plenty of storage space. There was a strange fridge in the room which had a safe deposit box in the top! Again, there was no charge for the safe deposit box. The balcony was adequate, but the old fashioned deckchairs could have been more comfortable. In saying this, we noticed that most balconies had more comfortable ‘ordinary’ chairs. Maybe we were unlucky in this, but we spent very little time on the balcony so it wasn’t a major problem.
The local bars and restaurants charge 5 euros for a small beer! This is apparently a normal price. We took to buying a few beers from the local supermarket, which were twice the size of the beers in the bars, and only cost 1 euro! A tenth of the price! The bar in the hotel quite willingly supplied glasses without question, and we took to having a couple of beers before hitting the main street for an evening meal.
Because Taormina is perched half way up a mountainside, beaches are in short supply. This is resolved by having a choice of cable car which you have to pay for, down to the beach area, where you then have to pay to get into a ‘lido’ (private beach areas usually owned by the hotels near the shore), or alternatively there is a regular minibus from the front of the Hotel Continental, including access to a lido. This has to be bought from the reception, but it is worthwhile. If you are arriving at the hotel in car, be warned, there is no car park, and parking in general all over the town is almost impossible. The reception staff has a unique way to arrange free use of the 4 parking spaces. However, if you intend to stay within Taormina, you will not need a car. This is quite an advantage, as the local one way system is totally confusing!
All in all, I would certainly stay at the Hotel Continental again, and would definitely recommend this hotel for travellers who want pleasant accommodation at a reasonable budget.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rayfontofall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (554)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Continental
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

209 - 215 of 554 reviews

Reviewed 30 September 2009

It is an old decor hotel but very comfortable and spacious. Rooms had a private balcony and the hotel had a back entrance, which gave you access to the main street, 'Corso Umberto'. The bathroom was pretty good but the shower was very uncomfortable.

Great service from the very friendly hotel staff.
The beach is approx 15min drive from the hotel but they have a bus available daily to get you to and from the beach straight from the hotel.

We would definately return to Hotel Continental because of the great location and convenience of nearby restaurants and nightlife.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank n87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2009

I just returned from my vacation in Taormina and Hotel Continental was a perfect choice. It is located in the heart of town, but not in the part where you get mad from all the noisy tourists, people walking their babies (I like babies, though), greeting each other and blocking the street at the same time. You are actually a minute walk from all these (Corso Umberto), but in just enough isolated spot from where you can really enjoy it all.
The Hotel has a beautiful large terrace with a stunning view of almost whole Taormina and “half” of the Mediterranean; to the left there are marvelous churches, beautiful private houses and nice hotels. To the right, there is a certain contrast with modest but very picturesque small apartment buildings where, I think, just locals live. This brought a special color and “real life” to my experience of quite luxurious (and very “Prada-Gucci”) Taormina. Further in the distance, one can admire Etna.
The Hotel itself is not a pretentious one, but it has all you actually need for a pleasant stay. If one is looking for a genuine atmosphere rather than “cold” luxury, this is a perfect place. My room had a balcony with the magnificent sea view. Not all the rooms have sea view, but they do have view on beautiful, mature and very well maintained garden.
Regarding beaches, the Hotel has arrangements with 2-3 Lido’s, so it is the most elegant way to get to the beach – you get picked up by a mini-bus in front of the Hotel, brought to the beach and transferred back in the afternoon. If one wants to explore other beaches by his/herself, there is a 10 minute walk to the bus terminal via Corso Umberto.
Finally, all compliments and gratitude to Hotel staff – I felt very much at home!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HelenaBelgrade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2009

After reading some previous reviews we were unsure at what to expect what we found was a clean,frienndly hotel in an excellant location. The owner was very friendly nothing was too much trouble, on our final day he allowed us to stay in the room as long as we liked and then set up the large shared area with air conditioning and bar facilities. We enjoyed sitting on our balcony and watching what was going on in the busy street below.
The room was also cleaned to a very high standard every day no matter what time we left the room.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lilycat63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2009

We stayed at the Continental for 2 weeks, it's a lovely hotel and the staff are really friendly. The hotel looked exactly like it did in the Thomas Cook brochure, and the room was clean and a good size. We didn't pay the £90 each supplement for a balcony which the travel agent asked for but we got one any way. The hotel is just off the Corsa Umberto so your right in the middle of things. The only downside , if i was being really picky, was that the hotel is by a really small road so there was sometimes a bit of scooter noise at night - but we took earplugs so it wasn't a problem. We hired a scooter ourselves for 3 days so we could see a bit more of Sicliy and Taormina is definitely the place to stay - really classy and lots of places to choose from for dinner. We were a bit worried about the distance to the beach but it wasn't a problem at all, the cable cars were really frequent and if you used the Lido la Pigna they would pick you up and drop you off in their minibus for 6 euros (which included your sunbed and umbrella). PS: if you go up Etna go to the south side not the north - there's not really much doing on the north side.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lizeranne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2009

I have been to Sicily many times and have stayed in many places every time in diferent hotel. I must say that hotel Continental is one of the best I have been to. We take holidays at least 4 times and we have been to some of the best hotels in the world and we know that this is not a 5* but 3* hotel but I can say that the service we got from the hotel staff was the best!!!. We have stayed in the corner room with a beutifull view of Taormina and Etna. The room was clean and very comfortable. The brakfast was very good and the hotel restaurant was very nice. We had realy good time there. The lication is fantactic and the view from the hotel tarace exeptional. I would definitly go back to this hotel and I would recomend it to everybody.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank iwonkaManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2009

I was not particularly encouraged by the other reviews here, but our stay in Continental was actually very pleasant. We travelled with a 8 month old son and stayed there for a week. We did not plan to spend a lot of time in the hotel, so we did not care about extra amenities. Nonetheless, this is a more than decent 3 star hotel - room was spacious, clean, towels were changed everyday, etc. The hotel employees were super polite and helpful to us in every situation, whether we needed hot water for warming baby food or were in trouble with parking the car which the car rental refused to pick up because of late hour. The breakfasts were OK, and when there were no other guests to attend to the waitress Maria played with our son so we could eat. We enjoyed our stay there:)

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kasia_CL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.4 mi away
Soleado
Soleado
#17 of 87 in Taormina
534 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Villa Belvedere
Hotel Villa Belvedere
#6 of 87 in Taormina
1,839 reviews
0.3 mi away
Eurostars Monte Tauro
Eurostars Monte Tauro
#26 of 87 in Taormina
758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Atahotel Capotaormina
Atahotel Capotaormina
#14 of 87 in Taormina
1,187 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Taodomus
Hotel Taodomus
#5 of 87 in Taormina
896 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel La Pensione Svizzera
Hotel La Pensione Svizzera
#15 of 87 in Taormina
836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Continental? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Continental

Address: Via Dionisio I nr. 2/A, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 87 Hotels in Taormina
Price Range: £65 - £785 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Continental 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hospitality, courtesy and willingness to satisfy our clients’ requests are the strong point of the hotel. Whoever chooses Hotel Continental chooses tradition, tranquillity and the certainty of receiving first-class individual treatment.This warm and welcoming hotel is situated in the heart of the town, just a few steps from the hotel you will find the main street Corso Umberto and the Duomo square. Those who love Taormina can easily reach their favourite shop, restaurant or pub by using the hotel’s practical garden gate exit.There is a splendid view to be enjoyed of the bay of Naxos and Etna from the solarium terrace which will leave you bewitched.Bedrooms have bath or shower, telephone, mini-fridge, electronic safe, centralised air-conditioning, TV with satellite channels, hairdryer. Most have private balconies or small terraces.Internet point in the lobby and WIFI connection free of charges in the lounge-bar and terrace.From May to September, there is a shuttle-bus (to pay on spot) service to the beach, which connects the hotel to the main bathing lidos on the seashore."Porta Catania Park" is a multi storey car park close to the hotel only 300 meters from the property.Extra charge fee requested to be paid on spot.We accept major credit cards, including the Japanese circuit JCB cards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, TravelUp, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Continental reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Continental Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing