We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice small hotel at the beach. Great view!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mendolia Beach Hotel
Ranked #46 of 87 Hotels in Taormina
Reviewed 27 May 2013

Taormina is a pretty little town on the eastern sicilian coast. The historical town with restaurants, shops, gardens and a Greek amphitheater are up the hill, 5 min cable car ride, 6€ p.p. RT.The beach is rocky and the water cold in May but there is a small connected beautiful island and that's your direct view from Mendolia Beach Hotel. The room was clean and well equipped. The front desk was reasonably friendly, but the highlight was Mario, the breakfast manager. He is funny and interesting, and tells you great stories. The breakfast was abundant and delicious. The price is right compared to the very expensive hotels up the hill. The only minus is that parking is tricky, the staff tells you to park on the street if you can find a spot, or pay 12€. We found a place, but not easily.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (223)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

55 - 61 of 223 reviews

Reviewed 8 May 2013

We stayed at Mendolia Beach Hotel for eight nights during our honeymoon end of April/beginning of May 2013 and we were not disappointed. The view of Isola Bella and the beach from our balcony was absolutely breath taking and the room was very clean. A real highlight and surprise was the generous breakfast buffet included, served on the terrace with a view of Isola Bella by the lovely Mario. The style of breakfast is continental with plenty of pastries and homemade cakes added. All the staff were very helpful and polite and we got help with booking an Etna excursion, taxis as well as getting directions. The location is great and the walk to the cable car, taking us to Taormina town, was less than five minutes. The hotel doesn't have a pool but the Mendolia Beach Club is included which we used almost every day. The bed could be a bit more comfortable but as a whole, the hotel is a proper little gem that we would recommend to anyone going to Sicily and wanting to be close to both the beach and Taormina town. We would also like to add that you don't have to go to Taormina town for a good meal, the restaurant just across the road from Mendolia (by the stairs down to the beach) served the best seafood spaghetti we have ever eaten. With added views of the sea. Just lovely for a couple of hungry honeymooners.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Camilla27413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2013

Amazing view, super-breakfast with lots of home-made cakes, very friendly personnel. Really nice the top/roof rooms with their terraces. Rooms are slightly small: fine for the 2-days I stayed, but would be a bit too small for a longer stay.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RaffC-007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2013

very hospitable, friendly and clean. We had 2 rooms booked and when I objected that they were not on the same floor, we were given a junior suite, with no extra charge. We had a balcony all to ourselves. Free beach amenities. Breakfast was great and Mario was fantastic. In fact all the staff were great.

Cons: Difficult to park, to unload baggages. Could not communicate with WIFI from Suite (Rm 131).

Room Tip: If a family, choose a junior suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sukie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2013

Great little hotel overlooking Isola Bella. Excellent breakfast served on the balcony. The hotel is a short distance from the cable car into the centre of town, and a very short distance to the beach. Friendly helpful staff.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ifor W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2012

There are some great things about this hotel: (1) its location overlooking Isola Bella, (2) its proximity to the "funivia" that connects the beachfront to Taormina itself, and (3) the excellent breakfast offerings. There are a few things that aren't so good: (1) the small size of the rooms and (2) the somewhat down-at-the-heels furnishings. You pay your money; you take your choice.

We also had an issue with management regarding the duration of our stay. When we wanted to cut it short by a day, with four days notice, rather than obligatory five, we were advised that we'd have to pay a penalty that exceeded the nightly rate for the room! A more client-friendly owner/manager would have been more accommodating; guests aren't likely to have a very good time when they perceive that management is more focused on revenue that hospitality. Under these circumstances, we bit the bullet and stayed the additional day.

Absent these negative factors, this could be a much better place. Just beware of them and plan accordingly. Also note that there's plenty of on-street parking--at least there was when we were there in October. You should be able to avoid the hotel's hefty additional charges for parking.

Room Tip: There's some traffic noise on Via Nazionale, though it trails off at night. The higher you are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank aBoater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2012

We really enjoyed our holiday in this hotel. The location is very close to Taormina centre by cable-car. The view of the beach from our room was breathtaking especially during sunrise. The staff was very polite and extremely nice especially Dario. He was very kind and helpful and was always ready to answer all our queries. Mario is really friendly and prepared very good breakfast. On one occasion we had to leave very early in the morning because we had to take the excursion to Etna. He managed to fix us a very quick and good breakfast before 7.30am! I can never forget the freshly baked cookies and cakes. The room is very clean and we had a wonderful terrace overlooking the picturesque beach. We were there during the month of October, which, in my opinion, was the best time of year as it was very peaceful. Our only regret is that we didn't manage to go on Isola Bella because the sea was a bit rough and it was impossible to walk on the other side. Otherwise I would definitely go again and I highly recommend it to anyone who wishes to spend a romantic holiday.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christine V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taormina hotels
1.4 mi away
Hotel Calipso
Hotel Calipso
#1 of 1 in Mazzeo
58 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Baia delle Sirene
Hotel Baia delle Sirene
#41 of 87 in Taormina
259 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Baia Azzurra
Hotel Baia Azzurra
#2 of 4 in Mazzaro
421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Isola Bella
Hotel Isola Bella
#50 of 87 in Taormina
358 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel La Pensione Svizzera
Hotel La Pensione Svizzera
#14 of 87 in Taormina
851 reviews
2 mi away
Hotel Sylesia
Hotel Sylesia
#35 of 87 in Taormina
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mendolia Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mendolia Beach Hotel

Address: Via Nazionale 198, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Taormina
Price Range: £58 - £157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mendolia Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mendolia Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mendolia Beach Hotel Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing