We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent 3* Hotel in Taormina. Book Early!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mendolia Beach Hotel
Ranked #46 of 87 Hotels in Taormina
Reviewed 29 June 2013

We recently stayed here on our Honeymoon in wonderful Taormina. We weren't disappointed by our choice of hotel. With a view overlooking the L'Isola Bella, with private access to the beach included in the room rate, this is a great place for a couple.

Dario - the hotel manager - was wonderfully helpful and welcoming too!

(+) Breakfast - fresh, good choice of cakes, croissants, breads, fruit and excellent coffee served on balcony over looking the sea.
(+) Staff are very friendly and rooms are cleaned promptly every day
(+) Good location
(+) Amazing view from rooms!
(+) Great restaurant across the street - "Da Giovanni"
(-) Shower floods bathroom
(-) Not the most comfortable bed ever
(-) Everyday have to spend minimum 6 euro per person taking the cable car up to the old city of Taormina
(-) Need to take taxi to get there from bus or railway station

Room Tip: Junior suite on top floor - excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ravenna2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (223)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

51 - 57 of 223 reviews

Reviewed 14 June 2013

A wonderful Hotel, ideally located within easy access of the beach. Visited June 2013. Have stayed in 4* + hotels and not been as impressed. Great location, spotless, small and boutique with excellent service including free access to the private beach. Rooms are tastefully decorated, slightly smaller than normal however the large terrace more than makes up for it. Excellent breakfast (continental) with an impressive array of cakes. Service - excellent.
If you want to get away from larger, impersonal hotels then this is the place to go!! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank em7001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2013

Although we did not stay at the Mendolia Beach Hotel, we did eat at the Beach Club restaurant one day whilst visiting Isola Bella.

The environment looked clean and friendly and well maintained. It took a while for us to be served but once we had placed our lunch order it arrived very quicky. My husband and I both had paninis, which were served hot and crunchy, which was very nice. We had a Coca Cola Light and a coffee which came to €21.50 The food was delicious and it was quite a large panini which took some eating!

Watch the cover charge though, as in many restaurants in Taormina.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Samantha L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2013

Before you is a tropical-looking isle you can walk to from the beach at high or low tide. fFee chairs and towels at the beach and safe entry into the water. Comfortable room. Good breakfasts expecially the 6-10 pies that are put out - I kid you not. front desk very helpful with restaurant recommendations for good restaurants

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HalPoway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

Taormina is a pretty little town on the eastern sicilian coast. The historical town with restaurants, shops, gardens and a Greek amphitheater are up the hill, 5 min cable car ride, 6€ p.p. RT.The beach is rocky and the water cold in May but there is a small connected beautiful island and that's your direct view from Mendolia Beach Hotel. The room was clean and well equipped. The front desk was reasonably friendly, but the highlight was Mario, the breakfast manager. He is funny and interesting, and tells you great stories. The breakfast was abundant and delicious. The price is right compared to the very expensive hotels up the hill. The only minus is that parking is tricky, the staff tells you to park on the street if you can find a spot, or pay 12€. We found a place, but not easily.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2013

We stayed at Mendolia Beach Hotel for eight nights during our honeymoon end of April/beginning of May 2013 and we were not disappointed. The view of Isola Bella and the beach from our balcony was absolutely breath taking and the room was very clean. A real highlight and surprise was the generous breakfast buffet included, served on the terrace with a view of Isola Bella by the lovely Mario. The style of breakfast is continental with plenty of pastries and homemade cakes added. All the staff were very helpful and polite and we got help with booking an Etna excursion, taxis as well as getting directions. The location is great and the walk to the cable car, taking us to Taormina town, was less than five minutes. The hotel doesn't have a pool but the Mendolia Beach Club is included which we used almost every day. The bed could be a bit more comfortable but as a whole, the hotel is a proper little gem that we would recommend to anyone going to Sicily and wanting to be close to both the beach and Taormina town. We would also like to add that you don't have to go to Taormina town for a good meal, the restaurant just across the road from Mendolia (by the stairs down to the beach) served the best seafood spaghetti we have ever eaten. With added views of the sea. Just lovely for a couple of hungry honeymooners.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Camilla27413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2013

Amazing view, super-breakfast with lots of home-made cakes, very friendly personnel. Really nice the top/roof rooms with their terraces. Rooms are slightly small: fine for the 2-days I stayed, but would be a bit too small for a longer stay.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RaffC-007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taormina hotels
1.4 mi away
Hotel Calipso
Hotel Calipso
#1 of 1 in Mazzeo
58 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Baia delle Sirene
Hotel Baia delle Sirene
#41 of 87 in Taormina
259 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Isola Bella
Hotel Isola Bella
#50 of 87 in Taormina
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Baia Azzurra
Hotel Baia Azzurra
#2 of 4 in Mazzaro
421 reviews
2 mi away
Hotel Sylesia
Hotel Sylesia
#35 of 87 in Taormina
155 reviews
1 mi away
Caparena Hotel
Caparena Hotel
#56 of 87 in Taormina
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mendolia Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mendolia Beach Hotel

Address: Via Nazionale 198, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Taormina
Price Range: £58 - £158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mendolia Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mendolia Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mendolia Beach Hotel Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing