We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect spot” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mendolia Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mendolia Beach Hotel
Ranked #45 of 88 Hotels in Taormina
Certificate of Excellence
Leiden
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Perfect spot”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

The view from the hotel is exactly what is presented in the photo's. We spend many hours on our balcony, looking at the beach, teh sea and the island. Restaurants are accros the street and very good. Room is a bit small, but bathroom is great, clean with a superb shower, bed is comfortable. The choice at breakfast was enormous And good cappuchino. Beach beds are free if you want to swim. And a short walk to the cable car to bring you to the ancient greek theatre. The staf is very friendly, only downsiteis the streetnoice. But close your window and put on the airco, and you sleep well.

Room Tip: All rooms are teh same
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LizzyLeiden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    97
    67
    19
    7
    4
See reviews for
57
86
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buncrana
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

I recently stayed at the Mendolia beach during a four day trip to Sicily with my partener. We booked for one night but stayed 2( the hotel was fully booked on the Friday night or we would have stayed 3 nights. the rooms have the most fantastic view and the staff were each extremely pleasent and helpful. Breakfast couldn't be faulted with plenty of variety on offer. The beach is but a stone's throw accross the road and down some steps.
It is a swimmers paradise for all levels. We would love to return to this hotel

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gleec0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S F Bay Area
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

We really enjoyed the Mendolia Beach Hotel, which is located right across the marvelous Isola Bella Bay, especially because we were driving. Instead of dealing with the difficult driving up in Taormina, staying here we were able to find the hotel easily by coming in the coastal road, which is two-way. If you reserve, for about 12€ a day you can park in a covered garage only a short walk away. Good value! Also, where the garage is you’ll also find the funivia to take you up to Taormina proper. (Off season, take into account that the cable car stops working earlier in the evening.) The Mendolia is located right on the beach road, and you can take the steps down to the beach, which is beautiful. Entrance to the Beach Club (food, drinks, loungers) is included with the room, or you can sit in the free sections of the beach. You can swim there, too. We got a room facing the ocean, and the views were amazing. The breakfast room also faces the ocean – if you have a sweet tooth, the assortment of cakes is wonderful; if you don’t, you’ll still be OK. The man in charge of the breakfast was a delight. The bedroom itself is standard and beachy, but with all the amenities. The bedroom's balcony is really big and usable. There are several restaurants either just across the street or in easy walking distance. Stayed there 2 nights; wish our trip had been long enough to stay one or two more.

Room Tip: Definitely, get an ocean view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnnieSFBayArea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McKinney, Texas
Level Contributor
162 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2013

We stayed three nights at this hotel that is a short cable car ride away from Taormina. It was a terrific stay. The hotel is a short walk across the street and down the stairs to a lovely beach. The hotel has a restaurant and beach club right on the beach, where hotel guests get umbrellas, towels, and lounge chairs for free. So enjoyable ! Our suite was really huge. We had two bedrooms, the first had two twin beds, a master bedroom with comfortable double bed and a large terrace off the bedroom. The bathroom was small but adequate. We also had this second, GIANT upstairs terrace, we could have thrown a party for 30 up on our terrace that overlooked the sea. The daily breakfast served up the best we had experienced during our two week stay in Italy and Sicily. The ricotta pie is to die for, seriously. This is a great hotel choice and provides a wonderful beach location to those with cars, those who wish to take day trips to neighboring areas like the amazing Armerina, or those who can only tolerate the crowds of Taormina for short periods of time! Taormina is certainly beautiful, but we visited during the International Film Festival (and of course, we had no clue this was happening until we arrived in town). We would definitely stay at the Mendolia Beach Hotel again!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank drdmromeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
120 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2013

We recently stayed here on our Honeymoon in wonderful Taormina. We weren't disappointed by our choice of hotel. With a view overlooking the L'Isola Bella, with private access to the beach included in the room rate, this is a great place for a couple.

Dario - the hotel manager - was wonderfully helpful and welcoming too!

(+) Breakfast - fresh, good choice of cakes, croissants, breads, fruit and excellent coffee served on balcony over looking the sea.
(+) Staff are very friendly and rooms are cleaned promptly every day
(+) Good location
(+) Amazing view from rooms!
(+) Great restaurant across the street - "Da Giovanni"
(-) Shower floods bathroom
(-) Not the most comfortable bed ever
(-) Everyday have to spend minimum 6 euro per person taking the cable car up to the old city of Taormina
(-) Need to take taxi to get there from bus or railway station

Room Tip: Junior suite on top floor - excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ravenna2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2013

A wonderful Hotel, ideally located within easy access of the beach. Visited June 2013. Have stayed in 4* + hotels and not been as impressed. Great location, spotless, small and boutique with excellent service including free access to the private beach. Rooms are tastefully decorated, slightly smaller than normal however the large terrace more than makes up for it. Excellent breakfast (continental) with an impressive array of cakes. Service - excellent.
If you want to get away from larger, impersonal hotels then this is the place to go!! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank em7001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2013 via mobile

Although we did not stay at the Mendolia Beach Hotel, we did eat at the Beach Club restaurant one day whilst visiting Isola Bella.

The environment looked clean and friendly and well maintained. It took a while for us to be served but once we had placed our lunch order it arrived very quicky. My husband and I both had paninis, which were served hot and crunchy, which was very nice. We had a Coca Cola Light and a coffee which came to €21.50 The food was delicious and it was quite a large panini which took some eating!

Watch the cover charge though, as in many restaurants in Taormina.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Samantha L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Baia Azzurra
Hotel Baia Azzurra
#2 of 4 in Mazzaro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
0.0 mi away
Panoramic Hotel
Panoramic Hotel
#10 of 88 in Taormina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 910 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Condor
Hotel Condor
#23 of 88 in Taormina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Baia delle Sirene
Hotel Baia delle Sirene
#32 of 88 in Taormina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
0.6 mi away
Atahotel Capotaormina
Atahotel Capotaormina
#13 of 88 in Taormina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,048 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Plage Resort
La Plage Resort
#39 of 88 in Taormina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mendolia Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mendolia Beach Hotel

Property: Mendolia Beach Hotel
Address: Via Nazionale 198, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Taormina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mendolia Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, HRS, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Mendolia Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mendolia Beach Hotel Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing