We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst Hotel Ever”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Villa Oasis Residence
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We showed up to reception on first day but there was no one there, so we waited until 3pm which is when the sign on the window said the office would re-open. No one showed and we had no phone so we had to borrow another tourists phone. After calling the hotel and a three hour wait, someone showed up and was VERY rude. There was no apology about the misleading sign and it was obvious that they were annoyed at us. Secondly, don't expect any sleep unless you're Snorlax because there's a train track about five meters behind the hotel which literally shakes the room. The veranda offered a better view of the car park then the sea.

This isn't the hotel's fault, but if you do make the mistake of staying here a heads up is that the bus running behind the hotel isn't very reliable. Finally, the street outside the hotel is full of seedy men sitting on the side of the road. I went with my girlfriend, in winter, and we ended up avoiding the street all together as it was impossible to walk down it without an old man calling out to us. Definitely the most seedy men I've ever seen.

The rooms were alright though, and one of the office ladies (Denise) was amazing and so so helpful. But all in all I would recommend staying in the actual town rather than here as it makes doing anything impossible.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Roflmao354
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (43)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 43 reviews

Reviewed 5 July 2013

On our arrival, the travel agency said the Villa Oasis was one of the best place to stay in Taormina . We only stay there so of course, we cannot compare but the residence is lovely.
Its important to know the Villa Oasis is not in Taormina but in mazzeo/letojanni, about 15 mns driving from Taormina. This was a bit our worry at first as we were without a car and not planning to rent any but it proves in the end not to be a problem at all. The bus stop is just behind the residence, about 50meters and buses to Taormina are coming twice every hour. We only had one bad experience where one of the bus was too full and refused to stop for us. Considering we went in June with less tourists than during the big summer holidays, I can imagine this could be a problem in July and August.
The appartment itself is amazing, lots of space, very well equiped (an electric coffee machine would have been nice though), TV, airco and a lovely and a big terrace with view of the sea. There is also the direct view to the parking between the appartment and the sea but this wasnt a problem, it was quite during the week. In the weekend however, many locals use the parking to go to beach (could also be more crowdy during big summer holidays). There is also a lovely little private beach with access to the sea,
The bed was confortable (except the pillows!)
The staff is nice and friendly. The only down side was the extra cost at the end which werent included in the price: for cleaning (only once a week) and the local tax. Nearly 50 euros for cleaning while we can do this ourself for such small appartment. If I want hotel service, then I go a hotel...
The area is nice, there is a little shop near by but it is very small, you have to walk a lot further in the center of Letojanni to find a bigger shop (still quite small). With a car, it is less of a problem of course. Tarmina, is a delight and there are many things to see and to do
Very good place overall

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ChrisyNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012

Villa Oasis is located in Taormina Mare, approx 10-15 mins drive from Taormina. While Taormina is town up in the mountain, Taormina Mare is down at the sea with a long and beautiful beach.

Villa Oasis is a small and well maintained apartment building. It is located at the end of the road, next to an parking lot, so there is not much traffic outside. There is a railway at the back of the hotel and it might disturb some guests, but we were never disturbed by it.

The apartments are beautiful with a lovely balcony facing the ocean. We stayed in a spacious studio, which we really liked. There is a kitchenette in the apartment but it is equipped with the most basic equipment. This was the only disappointment with Villa Oasis.

We really enjoyed our stay at Villa Oasis and would definitively recommend it.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GlobalSmurfs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2012

Our stay in villa oasis (May-June 2012)was wonderful again. This was our 3rd stay in villa oasis. We love the apartment. A beautiful location with a great view. So quiet and you get used on the trains. This year we stayed for 3 weeks. Unfortunately the cleaning was not good. They only once given clean bed sheets ands further they did not cleaned our room. The bathroom was never cleaned untill we asked for it. Luckily the manager Carmelo was great, he takes care of everything. He took care that the cleaning-ladies made our bed with new sheets en cleaned our bathroom. We really love Carmelo!! Without Carmelo our stay would not be so good as it was al the time. He is very customer friendly, helpfull and smart. We think we come back next year again of the year after.... :-)

PS a swimming pool is really nog necessary

Maikel en Linda de Potter

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank linda d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2012

Booked with Thomson and went in September 2011. On arrival we were given a hire car and map to find our accomodation. The rooms were advertised as being in Taormina Mara but were not even close. Checking in was a joke as we were given a manual to read that said many things but one that upset us the most was that if we wanted the room cleaning outside the normal days we would have to pay 30 Euro per hour. The place was dirty and took us most of our first days holiday cleaning which would have set us back 200 Euro if we would have paid the owner. To top the abnormal start to our holiday we first had to buy the cleaning materials. The beach holiday we booked in Taormina was infact in Lepojani and the two mile long beach was flooded with sewarage. Had a hire car but spent a bomb on parking fees. Must take extra cash for cleaning materials and parking if you plan on staying here.
Taormina was amazing and is definately worth a visit if you like shopping and site seeing. I hate shopping but still found when walking through Taormina I got wip lash trying to see every thing at once. Would go back to Taomina any time of the year but stongly recommend you dont stay as the Oasis Residence.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
7  Thank Jayne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2011

Ok, firstly I must point out this isnt a hotel. It is a small block of appartments typical of small sicilian coastal resorts. There are no hotel facilities, though the manager Carmelo operates a drop-in office in the morning to allow residents to use the internet, ask him for tourist advice, sort problems etc. We found him to be very freindly and helpful. There is a private car park but unless it is high season (july & august in sicily) then you can park in front of the hotel both easily and free of charge.

The appartments are very modern, with a very well equipped kitchen and pleasant living area, and good bed and bathroom. They were very clean. The ground floor appartments open into a private garden surrounded by hedges. We selected a sea view which meant we stayed on the second floor and had a large spacious balcony equipped with table and chairs, loungers and a light. We took out 18month old daughter, and the balcony was not a problem though she was always supervised.

The view from our appartment was breathtaking: beautiful coastline of unspoilt beaches and blue sea to the horizon, the italian mainland on the horizon, and taormina clinging to the cliffs down to the sea. It is worth pointing out between the appartments and the beach there is a small public car parking area, but to be honest it wasn't noticable and it did not present any noise or privacy issues.

To the rear of the appartments there is a railway and further back a motorway. The nature of the ionian coastline in this part of Sicily means hotels, railway and motorway compete for space between mountain and sea in most if not all resorts. It was'nt noticable except for the occaisional freight train at night, but it would not stop me staying there again. In fact I look forward to going again.

The final thing to comment on is the location - what i believe is the best attribute. Mazzeo (which to be honest is so small is absorbed into the large resort of Letojanni), is within a 5 minute car journey from the tourist magnet of Taormina, but unlike it's mor famous and glamorous neigbour is smaller, cheaper, quieter, and is directly situated on a pleasant pebble/sand beach on the sea. One could easily enjoy a stay in Letojanni and uses the excellent sicilian bus system to get around - certainly to nearby Taormina. However gievn it has parking I would reccomend hiring a car - within an easy drive you can visit mount etna, savoca etc.

Overall I was very happy with the appartments, the location and especially the price. The only negative was that the food in this and nearby resorts was not to the type or standard to be found in other parts of Siciliy that are less touristy. However I am commenting as someone who has visited other part of Sicily previously and particularly likes authentic sicilian cooking.

Room Tip: Be sure to upgrade to a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank resourcingxpert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Frank D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaOasis1, Proprietario at Villa Oasis Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taormina hotels
1.1 mi away
Panoramic Hotel
Panoramic Hotel
#11 of 87 in Taormina
1,001 reviews
1.6 mi away
Eurostars Monte Tauro
Eurostars Monte Tauro
#25 of 87 in Taormina
782 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Carlotta
Hotel Villa Carlotta
#2 of 87 in Taormina
1,720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Belvedere
Hotel Villa Belvedere
#6 of 87 in Taormina
1,895 reviews
1 mi away
Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea
0.6 mi away
B&B Villa Schiticchiu
B&B Villa Schiticchiu
#1 of 1 in Spisone
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Oasis Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Oasis Residence

Address: Piazza Salvo D'Acquisto s/n | Mazzeo-Taormina Mare, 98030, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 48 Speciality Lodging in Taormina
Price Range: £85 - £296 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Oasis Residence 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Villa Oasis Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Oasis Residence Hotel Taormina
Villa Oasis Residence Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing