We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing view of Isola Bella”
Review of Panoramic Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Panoramic Hotel
Ranked #10 of 87 Hotels in Taormina
Certificate of Excellence
Cheshire
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Amazing view of Isola Bella”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

The views from the rooms and the bar/breakfast terrace and pool are amazing and worth choosing this hotel for alone. Other good points: very clean throughout, friendly attentive staff, very convenient garage if you have a hire care as parking not easy in the area, close to the cable car for trips up to Taormina town, great breakfast with loads of delicious choices, comfy beds. Downsides: can be noisy so avoid if you are a light sleeper, otherwise take ear plugs. Its on a busy road, railway line close and tiled floors mean noise from upstairs if you have inconsiderate neighbours in stilettos! We thought we'd have an "enormous" bathroom after reading some of the reviews but 206 was tiny, and management didn't follow up our request to move (which was to be fair also based also on other niggles which were fixed). There is no nice bar area which is a shame as we'd have spent more time on the terrace enjoying the view if there had been. We were also disappointed with the choice of restaurants in Isola Bella so spent each evening going up and down to the town on the cable car which was a €6 round trip each. All in all a very pleasant hotel which is good value given the location/ view.

Room Tip: Room 206 has a small bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jettyCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

969 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    728
    202
    28
    7
    4
See reviews for
240
544
20
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Midlands
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We came back on Friday after 6 nights at the Panoramic hotel. The room was a good size, was decorated with modern clean lines, was light and the chambermaid did an excellent job. We didn't notice any noise when the balcony door was shut - and it was only sounds of everyday life when we sat outside. The feel of the hotel was relaxed, the food was lovely (both at breakfast and the bar snacks. The pool and the terrace were stylishly simple places to spend time whilst enjoying the beautiful view of the isola bella.
However, it was the staff that really made the place...from the welcoming and helpful reception staff to the attentive and friendly staff at breakfast/in the bar - we couldn't have wished for a higher level of service. Special mention for Gabriele - who as well as being patient with my attempts at Italian, looked after us really well.
As for location - really easy to walk round the corner to the cable car - which is also a pick up point for excursions to Aetna, Siracusa etc.(hotel will make up a breakfast box for early trips which had enough for lunch as well!) Try Da Giovanni's opposite the hotel - we ended up going a few times.

Room Tip: I think all the rooms face the front - can imagine all are fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank McpMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitehaven, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

We stayed at the Panoramic hotel for a week at the end of April (23rd-30th) and we were not disappointed! We stayed on the third floor with a fantastic view of Isola Bella. The room we stayed in was a good size and very clean. There is only 23 rooms, so the hotel is quite quiet apart from the noise from the street (as soon as you close the balcony doors, we couldn't hear a thing). The breakfast was wonderful...there was a lot of different choices. The hotel is in a great location; it is a couple of minutes walk from the cable car. It is 3 Euros each way; if you're staying for a week then I'd advise to get the week pass for 30 Euros. We were there for a week and used it 20 times! The staff were incredibly helpful and friendly. The swimming pool was quite cold, but once you got used to it it was lovely. I can imagine in the summer months, it would be the right temperature. The bottle of prosecco we got when booking our room was a great extra, especially when we enjoyed it by the pool.
If you're looking for a hotel to stay in Taormina, I would definitely book the Panoramic Hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katykt77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Thank you to the staff at panoramic hotel. The service was truly top notch! They were always very attentive. We just came from the Four Seasons in Milan, and the service that we got at PH was just as good. Of course PH didn't have as many staff members, but they always found a way to make us feel warm and welcomed.

The rooms have a fantastic view of Isola Bella. It was so beautiful. We enjoyed staying near isola Bella much more than in the city of Taormina. Taormina is much too crowded. It felt like a tourist trap. The rooms are not big, but very comfortable. They have a fantastic morning breakfast with complimentary cappuccinos. I'm a bed snob, and the beds at PH are comfortable. You will not regret booking a room at the Panoramic Hotel.

Room Tip: Get a room as high up as possible. There is a lot of street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank B T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We were 4 families, we received excellent treatment at the reception. Tolerant, friendly, speak English. Rooms are good. Superb location.Rooftop pool with a beautiful view of the most beautiful beach in Taormina. Good value

Room Tip: High Floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arad_g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Rooms are clean and have an unbeatable, no pun intended, panoramic view. The pool area is fantastic, also with amazing views. The food service at breakfast and while at the pool were made more enjoyable by the man who made it a point to remember us and what we liked to order. It really seems like it can't get better than the amazing views and service, until you step outside. The beach is across the street, the funicular to get to the town in Taormina is a very short walk away, the best pasta I have ever eaten in my life is a 10 minute walk away down by the beach and to top it all off, if you start dancing in the gelato store a few buildings down, the employees there will start dancing too. We had a whole group of us ranging in age from their 20s to their 70s and this was the number one hotel for all of us on a trip that included a lot of different hotel stays. I can not recommend this hotel enough!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TrinityNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S.E. PA
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014

Planning our trip to Italy, we decided to make Sicily our last and most relaxing stop. We were not disappointed. It is clean, quiet and has the best location for daydreaming while gazing onto the Isola Bella. The country is far more beautiful than we could have imagined. The hotel was able to arrange airport transfers and suggest great restaurants. There are pleanty of great restaurants within walking distance. It is true that there are 120 steps down to the beach which means 120 steps back up! Remember the beach shoes as the beach is very rocky. The town of Taormina is incredible and if you don't like the cable car then opt for a taxi. The breakfast buffet is very large with a wonderful assortment which will satisfy anyone plus the terrace is the perfect spot to dine among the potted olive trees. As Americans, we are always looking for large baths with large showers. This hotel has great bathrooms. Honestly, we do not have a bad thing to say about this hotel and one day hope to return.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank promola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.6 mi away
Atahotel Capotaormina
Atahotel Capotaormina
#13 of 87 in Taormina
1,144 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Villa Belvedere
Hotel Villa Belvedere
#5 of 87 in Taormina
1,806 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Villa Ducale
Hotel Villa Ducale
#1 of 87 in Taormina
2,031 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Eurostars Monte Tauro
Eurostars Monte Tauro
#21 of 87 in Taormina
738 reviews
1.0 mi away
Excelsior Palace Hotel
Excelsior Palace Hotel
#24 of 87 in Taormina
643 reviews
0.1 mi away
Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Panoramic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Panoramic Hotel

Property: Panoramic Hotel
Address: Via Nazionale 196/B | Loc Isola Bella, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Taormina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Panoramic Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Panoramic Hotel in Taormina in Sicily certainly lives up to its promising name. The breakfast out on the balcony with the breathtaking view alone is worth the trip to Sicily.The rooftop terrace with the swimming pool at the romantic beach hotel in Taormina offers guests an even broader view of the truly dreamlike surroundings! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Panoramic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Panoramic Hotel Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing