We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“What a place, what a view”
other travellers have booked this property
Swimming pool
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Swimming pool
The Lemon Tree Simeto Dining Area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
195 reviews
Swimming pool
The Lemon Tree
Simeto Dining Area
Terrace Simeto
Terrace sea view.JPG
Grapes.JPG
Sunrise at The Lemon Tree
The Pool.
The Terrace.
Etnea terrace.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Taormina, Province of Messina, Sicily

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 195 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
Italian first
Any
English first
tmccallst...
Appleton, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a place, what a view”
Reviewed 29 April 2012 for a stay in April 2012

High up on a hill overlooking both Taormina and Mt Etna is this beautiful "retreat" run by two generous and attentive people: Karen and Diego. We had a wonderful week here. We had a medical problem during our stay and they both went with us to the hospital to translate! The accommodations were great and the drive up the hill is a fun challenge.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dinabea
Tahoe City, California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“charm, comfort, breathaking view”
Reviewed 22 April 2012 for a stay in April 2012
1
person found this review helpful

This trip pushed our comfort zones a little, we'd never been to Sicily, never driven in Italy and had our dog with us. The support and comfort we recieved while staying at the Lemon Tree, made the trip! Karen and Diego, the owners, were wonderful, answered all our questions about where to go and what to do--they even brought us artichokes when we mentioned that we were craving them!

The Lemon Tree is about a 10 minute drive to Taomina, on a crazy, steep, curvy road--driving up there in our little Fiat 500 was a blast! Once at the villas, the scent of lemon blossoms fill the air, birds flit in the olive trees outside the windows, and the only sound you hear are the bells on the sheep on the neighboring hill. Heaven. Planning a trip back right now.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view and super nice owners.
Liked least: That we couldn't stay longer.
Travelling group: Family with Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest
Reviewed 24 February 2012 for a stay in August 2011

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Barry G
Dublin
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
Reviewed 30 November 2011 for a stay in May 2010
2
people found this review helpful

Stayed in the Lemon Tree for a relaxing week in May 2010 - and could not have enjoyed it more, as there only 8 apartments the pool was never too busy and Karen and Diego were more than happy to help at all times to ensure you made the most of the trip and time there. The apartment itself was clean and spacious and perfect for what you want in a holiday apartment. I can not recommend this place highly enough. Most of that is down to the hosts

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Pool & The Hosts
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irishgirl...
Northern Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Perfect Apartments, couldn't ask for more”
Reviewed 23 November 2011 for a stay in October 2011
2
people found this review helpful

A group of us staying on one floor of the Lemon Tree Apartments and it was beautiful. The apartments were ample in size and had a home from home feel with everything you expect from a kettle and toaster to a dvd player.
Karen and Diego were fantastic, they told us where we could shop cheaply and good restaurants to go to, the taxi service that they ran ensured that we could all go out, enjoy a few drinks and get home safely. They couldn't have done more to help us! Thankyou so much! Hope to return soon!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The hilltop location gave stunning views
Liked least: The road to the apartment is in serious need of repair
Travelling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kurrajong...
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great place, great owners!”
Reviewed 18 October 2011 for a stay in September 2011
1
person found this review helpful

The lemon tree is just beautiful (spotless, comfortable, views to die for and well equipped) but Karen & Diego (owners) are the real attractions.
They were so helpful! From the meet and greet at the train station, which extended to
Diego showing us the supermarket to do some shopping while he waited for us to follow him up the mountain (we were early).
When a tour guide wasn't available to take us to Mt Etna Diego offered to take us. Karen
was only too happy to drop us off and pick us up locally for a small fee and offer sicilian driving advice (which got a whole lot easier on mainland Italy!).
I wouldn't hesitate to return and stay longer, Sicily is amazing.
Thanks for the detailed map to the airport Deigo!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views, the private terrace and the owners.
Liked least: Access road is at first a bit daunting but okay after that
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wufty
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Just perfect”
Reviewed 10 October 2011 for a stay in August 2011
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed here after a week on the other side of Sicilly. We had a great time at out first place so were a little nervous. We need not have worried. Karen and Diego were the best hosts. Our 13 year old daughter just loved the atmosphere around the pool and was sad when volley ball wasn't on!
Our apartment was well equipped, spotlessly clean and had great views. When the people next door left - Karen had the apartment next door cleaned and opened it up for us. This was unbelievably kind and we felt very spoilt.
The location is fantastic, the views are stunning but Taormina is very expensive - we preferred going to eat in Castelmola, or even staying in and enjoying the lemon tree (and Karen and Diego's delicious wine) There is also a great restaurant (not the best location as next to the motorway) but the food is excellent and the staff very friendly.
We ate once in Taormina - at Nino's on Diego's recommendation. It's the place to go for fish and although not cheap it was great food.
Don't miss out on Catania whilst you are here - it's well worth a day trip - Diego will give you tips on parking .
Karen and Diego deserve their fantastic reviews , they are the most helpful owners, they work so very hard to make your holiday as enjoyable as they can but without being intrusive. I wish them all the very best.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Karen and Diego, the Goat Man, Volley Ball, home made wine
Liked least: Trip to Mount Etna overly priced and very disappointing.
Travelling group: Family with Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing