We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A landmark hotel with high standards and excellent service”
Review of El Jebel Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
El Jebel Hotel
Ranked #21 of 87 Hotels in Taormina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 June 2010

Stayed for five nights at the end of May. Reception enthusiasticaly efficient on arrival and throughout the holiday - use of the laptop with internet access particularly helpful. Service first rate throughout with the minor caveat that dinners in the Ciampoli Restaurant were leisurely, perhaps in keeping with the generally relaxed pace of life hereabouts. Room first rate other than a slight problem with the bath fixed by the second day. Brilliant views both from our suite and from the rooftop balcony where we dined one evening. No sign of the much mentioned spa reaching completion and no private pool at the beach either until June when the season formally opens.

A very relaxing place indeed to stay; right in the heart of Taormina yet separate from it with a quiet modern elegance all of its own. Every contemorary convenience combined with traditional standards in a spectacular setting. Worth the money. Food at the restaurant offered an authentic take on traditional sicilian cusine as well as more international fare - excellent quality materials and very good standards of preparation for both. Breakfasts were outstanding.

In summary one of the best !

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ExperiencedInsight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (515)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

268 - 274 of 515 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2010

This was an excellent hotel - the pictures are a true reflection of how lovely it is. The staff (reception, bar and restaurant and domestic staff) were all very friendly and helpful.
The room was lovely and well appointed.
We booked well ahead of our visit and so were not hit by the even worse exchange rates and got excellent value for money..
People have commented that there were a lot of steps to the hotel but this is true for a lot of Taormina. The staff will do their best to help where they can

The only down sides for us was that the well being centre had yet to open and that breakfast could only be served on the terrace with advance warning which seemed a shame as the terrace is very lovely with views of Mount Etna (what else?!). The bar staff were more than happy to serve drinks on the terrace.

  • Stayed: May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonDogwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2010

We had a wonderful time at the El Jebel. It is located very close to the dome in Taormina in a very old palazzo. We had a wonderful view on Mount Aetna and the dome from our room. The service was extremely friendly and helpful (which wasn’t always the case in other Hotels we staid, especially in Syracusa…).

What we really liked was the breakfast service: it's not the usual help yourself buffet breakfast, but it’s served by the waiters (who are also very committed). In particular the pastry and the omelettes can be recommended. One evening we also staid in the hotel for dinner. It was a 5-course fish menu which was very good. It’s rather a nouvelle cuisine approach then the average trattoria (so you won’t find any pizza or pasta there), but the prices were also quite reasonable.

The rooms seem to be designed in a different manner. We had one of the Baroque junior suites with a really huge bathroom. The furniture gave us the feeling of being in another century (except for the LCD-TV). I can say that it was by far the nicest interior of all the hotels we staid in Italy and some of them (SLH) were much more expansive.

El Jebel’s staff is also very nice. The pick up service from Catania Airport was well organised. The concierge also helped us with booking a last minute trip to the Aetna and even the ladies from the room service re-arranged our shoes and stuff and surprised us with some flowers in the bathroom etc.

It should be mentioned that the hotel is not located directly at the sea. It’s in the middle of the old town. Since Taormina is on top of a hill or rather a mountain, we took the cable car to reach the delfino lido (which I can also recommend, the El Jebel seems to have an arrangement with another beach club, but that hadn’t opened by early May when we went there).

My conclusion is that the hotel is really great. We felt a bit like being on a second honeymoon.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LilsaWeber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2010

First you see very clean and elegant reception. And then You here very friendly voice behind the counter, that`s Mr Antonio, person that makes everyhting possible, You only need to ask =) . Uuuh and the rooms are so heavenly. Thank You so so mutch Mr. Antonio and all the other workers .

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NinaTampere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2010

we passed a couple of days in May 2010 and were the lucky ones who could escape from the vulcano ash in Europe. Although etna is still nervous and erruptions can be seen from the magnificent terrace of the el jebel, the vulcano in Sicily is not dangerous at the moment as it is caused from Island's vulcano Eyjafjälla. We had a very lovely stay in Taormina and especially in this 5star hotel where atmosphere is elegant and staff is excellent.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shambala42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2010

My wife and I stayed here in April having read the reviews on Trip Advisor, taking advantage of the attractive rates that were on offer at this time of year.

Although we were originally only scheduled to stay for 5 nights, due to the volcanic ash cloud delaying our trip home we actually had 11 nights here.

Initially we had the Sultan Suite, which is on the top floor of the hotel and which has amazing views across Taormina and along the coast to Firadini Naxos. For the second part of our stay we were in a smaller room on the first floor, but still a lovely room with good facilities.

As our stay occured early in the season, the spa and shared use of another hotel's pool were not available but this didn't really bother us as we had intended to spend most of our time sightseeing etc. For relaxing, there is a wonderful terrace at the top of the hotel which has 360 degree views of Taormina.

The highlight of the stay were the breakfasts - incredible varity and quantity of food, all of excellend quality and with waiting staff who couldn't have been more helpful. We had one evening meal in the restaurant which was excellent but not cheap, so the majority of our evening meals were taken in the many restaurants within Taormina.

We only had one issue during our stay at Hotel El Jebel and this was really a simple misunderstanding which the hotel did everything they could to resolve efficiently and speedily to our satisfaction.

As mentioned above, we were forced to stay an extra 6 nights due to the volcanic ash cloud delaying our flights home. This was a fairly stressful time for us, but the hotel were magnificent, sympathetic to our problems, and offering a different room in the hotel at reduced rates. They also waived internet charges to allow us to keep track of developments with flights back home etc which was much appreciated.

The manager and front desk did everything they possible could to help make our stay an enjoyable one and we are very grateful to them.

We would highly recommend Hotel El Jebel to other travellers.

Sidicks

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sidicks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2010

From being met at the car park and our bags carried to the hotel, everything was great. The reception staff were very friendly, helpful & efficient. The room (junior suite in the "Classic" style) was very comfortable with first class furnishings and accessories. A welcome bowl of fresh fruit was a nice touch. It also had the largest wide screen TV I've ever seen; at least 50" if not more. Not that we watched much TV since the Taormina attractions (Greek theatre, wonderfully relaxing public gardens, cable car to beaches and......of course, people watching!) took up most of our 4 nights there. Breakfast was a veritable onslaught of dish after dish of prepared delicacies plus whatever cooked options you wanted. All the staff we met were extremely good; polite, efficient & friendly. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Corporate_Gypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Villa Belvedere
Hotel Villa Belvedere
#6 of 87 in Taormina
1,891 reviews
0.1 mi away
San Domenico Palace Hotel
1.0 mi away
VOI Grand Hotel Mazzaro Sea Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Ashbee Hotel
The Ashbee Hotel
#23 of 87 in Taormina
420 reviews
0.4 mi away
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
#3 of 87 in Taormina
918 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Ducale
Hotel Villa Ducale
#1 of 87 in Taormina
2,101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Jebel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Jebel Hotel

Address: Salita Ciampoli 9, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Taormina
#15 Luxury Hotel in Taormina
Price Range: £222 - £495 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — El Jebel Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Taormina, "the Pearl of the Jonian sea" and welcome to El Jebel, an exclusive five stars deluxe hotel in the heart of the historical center, next to Palazzo Ciampoli (XV century medieval building) and close to the Cathedral Square and the main street Corso Umberto, famous for shopping, where our guests can enjoy the fragrances, the colours and the atmosphere of this magic land, one of the most fascinating in the Mediterranean Sea. From the arrival to the hotel with private transfer, everything has been arranged to welcome our guests in our exclusive and intimate Suites and Junior Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your El Jebel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Jebel Hotel Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing